This is the "Home" page of the "SOCI 366 - Social Change and Social Movements" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SOCI 366 - Social Change and Social Movements   Tags: soci366, sociology  

This guide provides students with an overview of resources available to assist them in gathering information related to social change and social movements.
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.georgefox.edu/SOCI366 Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Hi! My name is Rodney Birch. I am the librarian liaison for the Sociology department. I can assist you with defining your topic, determining the appropriate sources to consult for your topic, and devising a research strategy that gets the results you need. I look forward to assisting you with your research needs!

 

Print/Ebooks through FoxTrax - Library Catalog

The Anti-Abortion Movement:      HQ767.5 .U5 B54 1996

The Gay and Lesbian Movement:  HQ76.5 .R53 1996

Social Change:  HM73 .S9 1971

Social Change: Sources, Patterns, and Consequences:  HM101 .E8 1964

Social Change, Resistance, and Social Practices 2010:  Ebook

Social Change in America, 2004:  Ebook

Social Change in America, 2006:  Ebook

Social Change in the Age of Globlization:  Ebook

The Women's Movement:  HQ1236.5 .U6 R93 1996

Newspaper Sources

The following resources provide access to newspaper articles covering a variety of topics.

  • Newspaper Source
    Provides selected full-text for 35 national and international newspapers. The database also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full-text for approximately 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
  • The New York Times
    Full text of the New York Times, from its beginning in 1851 up through 2006.
  • The Oregonian
    Full text of Portland's Oregonian, from 1988 to the present.
  • The Wall Street Journal
    Full text from 1984 to the present.

Sociology Databases and Journal Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Contains full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed publications, in nearly all academic areas of study.
  • SocIndex with Full Text
    Indexes 640 journals in the fields of sociology and social work, with full text for more than 250 of them.
  • Cambridge Journals Online
    More than 200 full-text journals from Cambridge University Press.
  • JSTOR
    Backfiles of hundreds of key journals in the arts and sciences.
  • Oxford Journals
    Over 200 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
  • Sage Publications: Premium Collection
    Over 500 full-text journals from Sage Publishers.
  • Taylor & Francis Social Sciences and Humanities
    Contains 1,000 journals, with full text access back to 1997.
  • Wiley InterScience
    Full text for most of Wiley's several hundred journals.

Print Reference Resources through FoxTrax - Library Catalog

Blackwell Companion to Social Movements: Ref. HM881 .B53 2004

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: Ref. HM425 .J64 2000

Citizen Action Encyclopedia: Ref. JS303.5 .H35 2002

Dictionary of Sociology: Ebook

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements: Ref. HN57 .E594 2004

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society: Ref. HQ1115 .E54 2009

Encyclopedia of Social History:  Ref. HN28 .E53 1994

Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media: Ebook

Encyclopedia of Social Theory: Ref. HM425 .E53 2006

Encyclopedia of Sociology: Ref. HM425 .E5 2000 & Ebook

Encyclopedia of Student and Youth Movements: Ref. LA186 .B87 1998

The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third Wave Feminism: Ref. HQ1115 .W644 2006

      

    The Occupy Movement

    The following resources provide information on the Occupy Movement.

    • Occupy Together
      This site captures information from Occupy group across the United States.
    • Understanding the Occupy Movement
      This collection of essays attempts to provide an understanding of the movement as seen through the social sciences.
    • The Occupy Movement Explained
      This news report by CNN's Christine Romans provides an explanation for the existence and popularity of the Occupy Movement.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip