LibGuides: PSYD 513 Research Design: Find Articles

Search Techniques (EBSCO Databases)

A variety of search tools can be used to better define and refine your search strategy. The process of using boolean, proximity, truncation, and wildcard options are listed below.

Using Persistent Links in EBSCO

Primary Psychology Research Databases

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window This APA resource is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Covers politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Popular multidisciplinary database covering thousands of scholarly/peer-reviewed publications.
Atla Religion with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. (Note: Portland Seminary alumni have access -- contact researchhelp@georgefox.edu for details).
Cabells This link opens in a new window Designed to help academics and researchers evaluate journals as they look towards publication. Search, filter, and compare academic publications. Each entry displays contact information, manuscript and submission guidelines, and actionable metrics.
ERIC This link opens in a new window A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, from 1966 to the present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, theses, curricula, etc. Now contains full-text ERIC documents.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new window Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window From the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes MEDLINE and related databases. Over 18 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed may link to content we don't have online access to; please contact a librarian if you need assistance.

Sample Searches

The searches below are samples. They are to be used as a guide for search process, including filtering and AND/OR searching techniques. Each search will look different based on the person's topic and search strategy.

Cognitive Processing Speed and Manipulation
This search was created by cross-searching the following databases: Academic Search Premier, Education Research Complete, Education Full Text, ERIC, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, and Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection. The date filter was narrowed to include articles published between 2002 and 2013. The search results included 879 items - 723 articles, 100 dissertation, 42 book chapters, 11 reports, and 4 reviews. 639 of the items were retrieved from the PsycInfo database.
Trauma Fatigue and Effect on Systems
This search was created by searching in the following databases: Academic Search Premier, PsycARTICLES, PsycCRITIQUES, PsycINFO, and Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection. The date filter limited the search to include articles published between 2002 and 2013. 86 items were retrieved - 47 articles, 26 book chapters, 12 dissertations, and 10 reviews.
Body Image, College Women, & Eating Disorders
Children of Missionaries, Trauma, and Cultural Adjustment
A search in EBSCO's ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, PsycInfo, PsycArticles, and SocIndex with Full Text.