GCEP 500 Intro to Systems Theory & Practice: Find Articles

Demo on choosing more than one EBSCO article database to search simultaneously. Note: the link is no longer on the library homepage but you can find it here: Search ALL EBSCO Databases 

Video by EBSCOhost demonstrating how to search our EBSCO databases. Demo takes place in the Academic Search Premiere database and is applicable to other EBSCO databases.

View the video and visit the EBSCO Help page on How to Use the My EBSCOHost Folder.

View the 1 minute "Choosing EBSCO Databases" video on the left to learn how to search our APA Psychology databases below simultaneously (after deselecting boxes, select the APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles databases). If your topic has an education focus, e.g., school shootings AND trauma, you may want to consider also adding Education Source and ERIC databases. - Note: Those seeking qualitative or quantitative research articles should use the two APA databases below which include a Methodology limiter.

Reminder: Click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box before starting your search. Find the box in the EBSCO interface under Search Options > Limit your results.

• Google Scholar 

  Use the link above to search your topic and have Google Scholar recognize you as a George Fox user, and link to our full text subscriptions. Google Scholar indexes a broad array of scholarly literature and can be useful for citation counts (article importance/impact) and is helpful in learning terminology.

An excellent option for using Google Scholar to connect to library databases is described below.

Link your Google account to the George Fox Library, so the “Find it at George Fox U” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from our Google Scholar link above.

To configure your settings manually, use the following steps:
    1.    Go to https://scholar.google.com/
    2.    Click the three lines in the top left corner.
    3.    Click "Settings".
    4.    Click "Library Links".
    5.    Search for George Fox University. Check the “George Fox University - Find it at George Fox U” box.
    6.    Save your settings.

You can now continue to search and should see the Find it at George Fox U links next to articles we have access to. You may also try clicking the article title directly and if we have access may be taken to the full text article on the publisher's site.

Note: If you are unable to access the full text of an article directly from Google Scholar, copy and paste the title into Primo, the main search box on our library home page. This applies to book titles shown in Google Scholar as well. Often the titles will be found in Primo and if not, the title record will allow you to sign in and request the article via Interlibrary loan. You should not have to pay for access to an article while at George Fox.