Video - Choosing EBSCO Databases 1min.17 sec.
Demo on choosing more than one EBSCO article database to search simultaneously. Note: the link is no longer on the library homepage but you can find it here: Search ALL EBSCO Databases
Video - EBSCOhost Advanced Search 2 min.38 sec.
Video by EBSCOhost demonstrating how to search our EBSCO databases. Demo takes place in the Academic Search Premiere database and is applicable to other EBSCO databases.
Video - Using the EBSCOhost Result List 3 min.39 sec.
How to find journal articles at GFU library
Part 1 - Your Librarian Intro & PMHS 424 Research Methods Guide - 2 min.
The first short video below starts on the Home page of the PMHS 424 Research Methods & Statistics guide (this guide).
Part 2 - Starting Your Search for Research Articles - 7:26 min.
Part 2 - Navigate to databases from the Find Articles page of the PMHS 424 guide.
Part 3 - Article Result List & Finding Qualitative or Quantitative Research - 6 min.
Top Counseling, Psychology, Mental Health Databases
View the 1 minute "Choosing EBSCO Databases" video on the left to learn how to search our APA Psychology databases below simultaneously (after deselecting boxes, select the APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles databases). If your topic has an education focus, e.g., school shootings AND trauma, you may want to consider also adding Education Source and ERIC databases. - Note: Those seeking qualitative or quantitative research articles should use the two APA databases below which include a Methodology limiter.
Reminder: Click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box before starting your search. Find the box in the EBSCO interface under Search Options > Limit your results.
- APA PsycInfoThis APA resource provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations (with library links to full text). Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present. More than 2,500 journals are currently indexed in APA PsycInfo.
- APA PsycArticlesAPA PsycArticles provides full-text for journals published by APA and affiliated publishers.
- Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new windowPsychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
APA Methodology Video
Use with APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles databases.
Methodology
When looking for specific types of research studies, such as qualitative or quantitative research studies, first run your search simultaneously in the APA PsycInfo and PsycArticles databases. Next use the Methodology section on the left sidebar (click the small grey arrow to show the area). Click Show More to see all methodologies and to choose one or more.
Once you've selected your boxes click the Update button.
Below is an example that shows the Search terms used, the Limiters set for articles published in the last five years, and scholarly peer-reviewed articles. The search returned 2,228 article results. Once the Methodology was set to qualitative study, the search returned 144 articles. (Try clicking the 2,228 article results link above, then look for the Methodology section on the left sidebar and after clicking, click Show More scroll and limit to qualitative study to see if you also get 144 articles returned.)
