PSYC 391 - Research Methods: Locating Instruments/Measures

For the practicing neuropsychologist or researcher, keeping up with the sheer number of newly published or updated tests is a challenge, as is evaluating the utility and psychometric properties of neuropsychological tests in a clinical context. The goal of the third edition of A Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests, a well-established neuropsychology reference text, is twofold. First, the Compendium is intended to serve as a guidebook that provides a comprehensive overview of the essential aspects of neuropsychological assessment practice. Second, it is intended as a comprehensive sourcebook of critical reviews of major neuropsychological assessment tools for the use by practicing clinicians and researchers. Written in a comprehensive, easy-to-read reference format, and based on exhaustive review of research literature in neuropsychology, neurology, psychology, and related disciplines, the book covers topics such as basic aspects of neuropsychological assessment as well as the theoretical background, norms, and the utility, reliability, and validity of neuropsychological tests. For this third edition, all chapters have been extensively revised and updated. The text has been considerably expanded to provide a comprehensive yet practical overview of the state of the field. Two new chapters have been added: "Psychometrics in Neuropsychological Assessment" and "Norms in Psychological Assessment." The first two chapters present basic psychometric concepts and principles. Chapters three and four consider practical aspects of the history-taking interview and the assessment process itself. Chapter five provides guidelines on report-writing and chapters six through sixteen consist of detailed, critical reviews of neuropsychological tests, and address the topics of intelligence, achievement, executive function, attention, memory, language, visual perception, somatosensory olfactory function, mood/personality, and response bias. A unique feature is the inclusion of tables that summarize salient features of tests within each domain so that readers can easily compare measures. Additional tables within each test review summarize important features of each test, highlight aspects of each normative dataset, and provide an overview of psychometric properties. Of interest to neuropsychologists, neurologists, psychiatrists, and educational and clinical psychologists working with adults as well as pediatric populations, this volume will aid practitioners in selecting appropriate testing measures for their patients, and will provide them with the knowledge needed to make empirically supported interpretations of test results.

Dr. Hersen has gathered in this unprecedented 4-volume work the leading resaerchers and clinicians in psychological assessment. This groundbreaking reference presents essential information on the four major classes of psychological assessment instruments, including intelligence/neuropsychological, personality (both objective and projective), behavioral, and industrial/organizational. Each volume contains information on the history of the specific branch of testing, the range of tests, theoretical considerations, psychometric concerns, range of populations, cross-cultural factors, use with people with disabilities, legal/ethical considerations, computerization, and future development. Individual chapters consider these topics as they relate to specific instruments. As a result these volumes are indispensable for clincians practicing in these areas as well as library collections.

One of the key challenges of all types of practice and research is finding a way to measure the problem. This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provideguidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced. This first volume, focusing on measures for use with couples, families, and children, includes an introduction to the basic priniciples of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of the Rapid Assessment Inventories included herein. Volume I also contains descriptionsand reviews of each instrument, as well as information on how they were selected and how to administer and score them.This book is designed as the definitive reference volume on assessment measures for both practice and research in clinical mental health. This fifth edition of Corcoran and Fischer's Measures for Clinical Practice and Research is updated with a new preface, new scales, and updated information forexisting instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine.Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.

Neil J Salkind guides readers through the fundamentals of tests and measurement, using the conversational writing style and straightforward presentation that have made his book Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics a bestseller. This book introduces readers to more advanced issues and explains why those topics are important.