Skip to main content

GCEP 580 - Play Therapy: Lifespan Applications: Find Articles

A guide to assist with your play therapy research needs - Includes links to books and articles on sandplay, sandtray and filial therapy.

Video - EBSCOhost Advanced Search 2min.11sec.

Video by EBSCOhost demonstrating how to search our EBSCO databases. Demo takes place in the Academic Search Premiere database. 

PsychINFO on EBSCOhost: Sample Search

The APA has produced a number of PsycINFO on EBSCOhost tutorials. See the full list on the APA PsycINFO YouTube channel.

Video - How to Search by Journal Title 1min.19sec.

A one minute video demonstration on how to search for George Fox Library journals.

Search Result Sets of Articles

Tip: First view the short videos on the left side of this page regarding searching the PsycINFO database.
 

  • Peer-reviewed articles on sandplay Or sand-play And therapy Or counseling Or psychotherapy between 2010-2015

Narrow results further by adding additional keyword terms and other limiters such as publication date and search again - Examples:

 

Journal Title Searches

Please view the 1min video below on how to search by journal title

International journal of play therapy  (1555-6824) - All articles from this peer-reviewed journal are available in full-text from 1992 to present (click the year then volume and issue number to browse articles or click "Search within this publication" link to add additional terms and search).

Examples: Search results to over 200 articles within International journal of play therapy on Subject: Play Therapy

Search results to over 20 articles within International journal of play therapy for PTSD or Trauma

FYI - Note: While searching PsycINFO you will find some articles indexed from the Journal of Sandplay Therapy. This journal is only available in print and the collection is located at the Newberg campus library. It is housed there so that when an article is needed from the journal you may click the "Check for full text" link from within the database and after signing in, click the Interlibrary loan (ILL) link and follow directions. Your articles will be scanned by Newberg ILL staff and sent to your email, usually within two business days.