Skip to main content

Citation and Research Management Tools: EndNote

An information resource on citation and reference management tools

Getting help with EndNote

Contact EndNote through their web site, or call (800) 336-4474, ext. 4, 8 AM to 5 PM Pacific, Monday through Friday.

EndNote

EndNote logo

EndNote is a robust proprietary (approx $110-300) bibliographic citation management software developed by Thomson Reuters. EndNote is compatible with both Windows and Mac. Since EndNote is a desktop application, it is accessible offline, when you're not connected to the Internet. Using EndNote Web, you can access your saved citations and references online.

Using EndNote, you can:

  • organize and track your sources and references
  • create a searchable database of references
  • archive full text
  • easily cite references in your paper, dissertation, article, etc.

EndNote X7 Video Overview < 4 minutes

EndNote Online: Cite While You Write Overview

A 2:37 minute overview of EndNote Online's "Cite While You Write" feature for Microsoft Word. This video covers cite while you write using both Endnote X7 and the free EndNote Basic.

EndNote Benefits

EndNote is a robust citation manager that is often used by scholars to support large research projects such as theses and dissertations. EndNote makes a good citation management system because it allows users to save search strategies, which is helpful if you need to keep a research log. EndNote also offers the ability to extract metadata from your collection of PDFs as well as search full-text PDFs.