Skip to main content

Library Search - George Fox Primo: Primo FAQs

Library Search and Discovery System for George Fox University Libraries

Primo Frequently Asked Questions

What is the new system?
PRIMO is the new library search and discovery tool for finding materials in the George Fox Libraries, Summit libraries and libraries worldwide. You'll be able to search for books, articles and more in a single search box.

Will it look different?
Yes, PRIMO is a new product from a company called Ex Libris, and the interface will look different.

Why the new search?
This change is part of a major cooperative effort on behalf of the Orbis Cascade Alliance (Summit) to consolidate all 37 Alliance institutions’ holdings into one single, shared library system.  By sharing one system, we'll improve the research experience for our students and faculty, and better manage all of our resources. This project of the Orbis Cascade Alliance has been in the planning phase for over two years and George Fox is in the fourth and final group of institutions to migrate to the new system.

When does the switch take place?
The switch officially happened on December 18th.

Will I still have access to the same materials?
Yes, the same materials will be available to you, including books, articles, digital collections and more from the collections of George Fox libraries, Summit libraries and other libraries worldwide.

Will anything happen to Academic Search Premier or [insert your favorite library database]?
The library databases are unaffected by this change. This includes the EBSCO article databases, which are easily accessed via a link under the Primo Search box. All of the library databases will continue to be searchable in their full versions, just as they are now through our Databases A-Z page. In addition, a Primo search will display some articles from some of these databases alongside our available books and videos.

Which databases will be included?
As data is made available from our subscribed databases, they'll be discoverable in the new system.  You'll be able to seamlessly access full-text articles available from George Fox Library when you search.

How will I log in to my library account?
You'll log in using your MyGFU username and password, and be able to see all of your checked out items, due dates, holds and renewal options.

Will the new catalog work on my mobile device?
Yes. PRIMO’s mobile interface allows you to search the entire collection directly from your mobile device.

Will I still be able to request items from Summit and Interlibrary Loan?
Yes, both Summit borrowing and interlibrary loan requests will be available through the new system. However, during the transition (until late January), Summit requests will need to be placed via Interlibrary Loan.

Will I still be able to use WorldCat to find items?
Yes, WorldCat is included in our search results and you will be able to search WorldCat only from our Primo Advanced Search dropdown. (Change the Search Scope from Everything to WorldCat.)

Will the new system work with citation management tools?
Yes, you will be able to export results to various tools.