Find & Request Physical GFU Library Materials: 1 min. 22 sec.
Find Physical Items in GFU Libraries
Find Print Books and Other Physical Items in the GFU Libraries
To search for GFU print books, videos, and other physical items:
- Go to the Library home page
- Add your search terms and click the gold Search button to run the search
The initial Primo search returns physical items along with online materials.
To limit to physical items from GFU libraries, such as print books, DVDs and print journals, look at the left side of the search results under the Availability heading and click the link "Physical Items in GFU Libraries"
Next, narrow by Resource Type such as print books from the left sidebar by clicking the link to Print Books, DVD Videos, Journals, etc.
A Primo Advanced Search allows for more nuanced searching, and limiting by material type, language, and more. Circulation Period: GFU books circulate to students for a 12-week period, with up to two renewals. Most DVDs check out for one week.
Find & Access GFU Ebooks
E-books and other online materials in Primo are immediately available to GFU students and staff.
To find GFU e-books:
- Go to the Library home page
- Add your search terms and click the gold Search button to run the search
On the Primo search results page look to the left under the Resource Type heading
Choose the eBooks link to limit results to eBooks only (click "Show More" if eBooks are not showing)
Next:
- Click the Online access or title link for information about the book
- Click the link after "Full text available at:" to view the ebook
- Sign in if prompted
Another option is to search for GFU ebooks from the Primo Advanced Search page. Add your search terms, set Material Type: eBooks, Search Scope: GFU and click Search.
Sample Searches in GFU Primo
A sample search in GFU Primo, with Durheim in the subject, and limiting to items available through GFU libraries produced a list of eBooks, print books, and full text articles. To broaden the search, you could locate items available in Summit, but using the filter of GFU + Summit. Remember to log in to your account (MyGFU log in) to access full text content, or request items through Summit or interlibrary loan.
- Durkheim as SubjectGFU only
- Durkheim as AuthorGFU + Summit
E-Books
Below are eBooks from a variety of vendors and platforms that are available through George Fox University Library's Primo site. Visit the GFU Library E-Books page to learn more about the various vendors and platforms of eBooks available through GFU Primo.
Click the "View It" link. This will bring up the platform on which the eBook is located. Click the platform link to access the eBook. You must be signed in to your account (sign in using your MyGFU log in) to view the ebook.
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Publication Date: 2003
A Dictionary of Sociology by
Wideranging and authoritative, this bestselling sociology dictionary is the most informative of its kind. Compiled by a team of sociological experts, under the editorship of Gordon Marshall and John Scott, it is packed with over 2,500 entries. With terms taken from sociology and the relatedfields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science, it provides widespread coverage of all aspects of sociology, from adaptation to zero tolerance . It also contains biographies covering key figures, such as Gilles Deleuze and Erich Fromm. Jargon-free entries areelaborated with clear descriptions and in-depth analysis, many using real-life examples, making even the most complicated subjects easy to understand. This new edition has been revised to bring the dictionary completely up-to-date, while retaining the concise, clear quality of previous editions. Now boasting many entry-level web links, accessible via the Dictionary of Sociology companion website, this dictionary offers more relevant and usefulinformation than ever before.An invaluable introduction to sociology for beginners, and a key reference work for more advanced students, teachers, and professionals working with sociology and related fields.
Publication Date: 2009
Beyond the Enlightenment by
Important ideas that helped shape 20th-century thought--ideas which continue to hold great significance for anyone interested in the social world--are made accessible in this illuminating volume. Readers will be motivated to delve into the deeper pool of knowledge available on major social theorists and their groundbreaking ideas. A mixture of biographical and historical ideas, this book was written to introduce social theory to a broad audience. It looks at the intersection between the theorist as a social actor and as a reflection of his or her time. The volume's breadth makes it a useful tool for those interested in sociology and its many luminaries.
Publication Date: 2004
Max Weber Matters by
This volume clearly communicates that Weber#65533;s influence is of great significance to the history of social science, and to appreciating the theoretical work of other social scientists in the modern age. Its insightful and timely publication comprises topical and innovative work discussing Weber in a range of historical and contemporary questions including: the controversy surrounding the Da Vinci code; the charismatic role of martyrs; the nuclear weapons strategy in a post-cold-war age and the affinity between Hindu belief systems and disenchanted computer science. Max Weber Matters illustrates the multidisciplinary and continued relevance of Weber#65533;s work and will be of interest to scholars across a range of disciplines, including historians, sociologists, political scientists and social theorists.
Publication Date: 2016
Print Books
The following items may be found by searching GFU Primo. Some items are available at the Newberg campus library; others may available at the Portland Center Library. Items at the Portland Center may be requested to be sent to the Newberg campus library. Please allow 24- to 48-hours for the item to arrive at the Newberg campus.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology by
This new edition of Allan G. Johnson's one-volume sociology dictionary includes 75 new entries, as well as an expanded biographical section, extensive revisions and updates, and a more thorough cross-referencing. Written by a sociologist who is also an accomplished writer and teacher, it is aimed primarily at students, but will also be of use to professionals looking for an introduction to core concepts outside their area of expertise. Its combination of clear prose, engaging examples, a single author's voice, and its minimal assumptions about the average reader's prior knowledge of sociology and its related fields, makes this a unique and valuable reference work.
Call Number: HM425 .J64 2000Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Sociology by
Winner of the 1993 Dartmouth Medal, this classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
Call Number: HM425 .E5 2000Publication Date: 2000
Men, Masculinities and Social Theory by
This series aims to promote critical studies, by women and men, on men and masculinities. It deals in detail with the social and political construction of particular aspects of men and masculinities, including studies of their changing forms.
Call Number: BF692.5 .M4 1990Publication Date: 1990
Taboo Topics by
Why is it so hard to investigate taboo topics? A myriad of forces shape and fashion human action, reaction, thought, and feeling, and these are not always well understood. Norman L. Farberow argues that culture itself provides structure for its members, developing in a well-defined way the rules to which they will conform. Such rules find expression not only in written laws and regulations but include, and most often stem from, unwritten folkways, customs, and especially taboos, the subject of this book. The researchers reporting in this volume take no position on the nature of a taboo itself, but concentrate on the difficulty in investigating taboos. As members of society and human beings, they do make judgments and personal investments. Thus, when taboos continue or develop without useful society-enriching functions or facilitate self-destructive activities, they raise questions about why they persist. Such topics include many areas--some social, such as sex, death, and peace; others more academic, such as parapsychology, graphology, religion, and hypnosis. Peace and the public are included in the discussion because they are emotion-laden areas and powerful and important factors in a shrinking world and expanding universe. Peace, especially, has begun to be looked upon with suspicion--perhaps a real commentary on our times. This probing collection will be sure to interest sociologists, anthropologists, and all other social scientists.
Call Number: BF76.5 .F3 2014Publication Date: 2014
Religion and Economics by
Normative Social Theory James M. Dean and A. M. C. Waterman University of Manitoba 1. Economics and Religion Once Again This hook is a sequel to Economics and Religion: Are They Distinct? (Brennan and Waterman 1994). That volume was motivated by a frustration born of many disappointing encounters between economists and theologians in the 1980s. Can bishops, synods, and other voices of organized religion bring any interesting (and disinterested) contribution to the public policy debate? If so, what is the relation of their contribution to that of the purely "secular" knowledge economists believe they can supply? Can economists bring any interesting (and disinterested) contribution to the public policy debate? If so, what is the relation of their contribution to the fundamental values that inform social ethics and that are still guarded to a large extent by religious tradition? All too often the two sides talked at cross-purposes. Well-intentioned economists coexisted for a few hours or days with well#65533; intentioned theologians whose manner of conceiving social reality was radically incompatible with their own. There seemed to be no common ground. The first requisite of any genuine conversation is an agreed conceptual framework that is able to accommodate the peculiar social vision both of the economist and of theologian, and to display the logical relation between the two.
Call Number: HB72 .R45 1999Publication Date: 1998
Entries from E-Reference Sources
The following links represent a few of the articles found in e-Reference sources that are available through the George Fox University Libraries. You will need to log in with your MyGFU log in to access the articles.