The American Film Industry by A. Slide"This authoritative What's What' of the film companies, processes, and organizations that have enabled stars and directors to populate the Who's Who' books, belongs beside them in reference collections." Wilson Library Bulletin "Written by a film archivist and historian whose previous books have covered a wide range of topics, this historical dictionary will provide some much needed help for students trying to understand the business, legal, and technological aspects of the American film industry."
Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 S539 1986
Publication Date: 1986
The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry by A. SlideA unique reference work, a what's what of the history of filmmaking not only in Hollywood but throughout the United States. More than 750 entries document the history of studios, production companies and distributors, and provide complete information on technical innovations, genres, industry terms, and organizations.
Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 S539 2001
Publication Date: 1998
Cinema by R. RoudCollection of serious and entertaining articles by experts in the field. Entries link the film-makers, their works, and their lives in a way that no ordinary Who's who "can"
Dictionary of African Filmmakers by R. ArmesThe dictionary covers African feature filmmaking from the first locally produced films to today's thriving film industry, listing 5,415 films made by 1,253 filmmakers in 37 countries. Includes information on filmmakers and provides date and place of birth, training or film experience, other creative activities, and a list of feature films produced and presents a national chronology, filmography, and bibliography for each country producing feature films. With indexed film titles and provides translations into English or French where appropriate.
Publication Date: 2008
Dictionary of Media and Communications by M. Danesi; A. A. BergerAccessible to wide range of readers from student to lay people, this authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. Written by distinguished scholar and author Marcel Danesi, and with an Introduction by Arthur Asa Berger, a leading figure in the world of media and communications, the dictionary also includes terms related to psychology, linguistics, aesthetics, computer science, semiotics, culture theory, anthropology, and more that have relevance in media studies. Each entry includes a definition in simple, clear language; an illustration where applicable; and, historical commentary (who coined a term for example, why, who uses it, etc.). A bibliography, a directory of online resources, and a time-line of media genres add to the dictionary's usefulness and appeal.
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communication by M. DanesiSemiotics, Media Studies and Communication Studies are three closely interlinked fields. Briefly stated, Semiotics, the science of signs, looks at how humans search for and construct meaning; Communication Studies is concerned with how meaning is conveyed; and Media Studies considers the ways in which messages are transmitted and received. This dictionary is designed to help students and general readers unlock the significance of the terminology and jargon commonly used in these fields. Being interdisciplinary in nature, Semiotics, Media, and Communication Studies are cluttered with notions derived from other disciplines. Hence, this dictionary also encompasses basic concepts from the fields of anthropology, archaeology, psychology, psychoanalysis, linguistics, philosophy, artificial intelligence, computer science, and biology. Collected here are the terms, concepts, personages, schools of thought, and historical movements that appear frequently in the relevant literature. The basis of each entry is a simple definition, which often includes the term's origin. Illustrations are provided where necessary, along with historical sketches of movements or schools of thought. The commentary on personages consists of brief statements about their contribution and relevance. Thus, the dictionary not only defines what a term means, but often goes into its history, applications, and broad implications. Terms are cross-referenced and their etymology is given where possible. This is a compact, practical research manual that will relieve much tension for students in semiotics and related fields. Because of its interdisciplinary approach, it will also provide a range of scholars with a handy reference to disciplines distinct from but related to their own.
Publication Date: 2000
International Directory of Films and Filmmakers by T. Pendergast; S. PendergastThis comprehensive resource provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers through the spring of 2000. Entrants include legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies. This 4th edition includes more than 260 new entries and more than 200 updated entries. Includes more than 1,600 photographs.