Dictionary of Media and Communications by M. Danesi; A. A. BergerAccessible to wide range of readers from student to lay people, this authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. The dictionary also includes terms related to psychology, linguistics, aesthetics, computer science, semiotics, culture theory, anthropology, and more that have relevance in media studies. Each entry includes a definition in simple, clear language; an illustration where applicable; and, historical commentary (who coined a term for example, why, who uses it, etc.).
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media and Communication by M. DanesiSemiotics, Media Studies, and Communication Studies are three closely interlinked fields. Semiotics, the science of signs, looks at how humans search for and construct meaning; Communication Studies is concerned with how meaning is conveyed; and Media Studies considers the ways in which messages are transmitted and received. This dictionary is designed to help students and general readers unlock the significance of the terminology and jargon commonly used in these fields. This dictionary also encompasses basic concepts from the fields of anthropology, archaeology, psychology, psychoanalysis, linguistics, philosophy, artificial intelligence, computer science, and biology. The commentary on personages consists of brief statements about their contribution and relevance.
Publication Date: 2000
A Dictionary of Media and Communication by D. Chandler; R. MundayThe Dictionary of Media and Communication is an authoritative and wide-ranging A-Z providing over 2,200 entries on terms used in media and communication, from concepts and theories to technical terms, across subject areas that include advertising, digital culture, journalism, new media, radiostudies, and telecommunications. It covers relevant terminology from related disciplines such as literary theory, semiotics, cultural studies, and philosophy.