Skip to main content

Education: Web Resources

Useful General Websites

American Educational Research Association
Established in 1916 and concerned with improving the educational process by encouraging scholarly inquiry related to education and evaluation and by promoting the dissemination and practical application of research results

Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
Provides links to Web resources related to ethnomusicology, folk music, and world music. Contents are arranged by type (organizations, bibliographies, etc.) and by geographic regions. Maintained by the University of WashingtonMusic Library.

Center for Teaching History with Technology
A resource created to help K-12 history and social studies teachers incorporate technology effectively into their courses.

Condition of Education
Brings together data from several NCES sources.

Digest of Education Statistics
Statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.

Education Commission of the States
Education Commission of the states – Portal for state level education information

Educators Reference Desk
Site maintained by the Information Institute of Syracuse, includes 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses

Regional Educational Labs
The Regional Educational Laboratory Program (REL) consists of a network of ten laboratories that serve the educational needs of a designated region by providing access to high quality scientifically valid education research through applied research and development projects, studies, and other related technical assistance activities

Librarians Index to the Internet: Education
A searchable, annotated subject directory.

Oregon Department of Education
This site provides reports, statistics, standards, access to the Oregon School Directory, and a variety of other resources related to Oregon education.

U.S. Dept. of Education Topics from A to Z
Provides a list of links to Dept. of Education and many other resources.

What Works Clearinghouse
Establishedin 2002 as a portal for educational best practices by Institute of Educational Sciences a division of the Department of Education

Children's Literature Websites

Author and Illustrator Pages
This site compiled by Kay E Vandergrift lists more than six hundred links to author/illustrator sites.

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Web Site
This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.

The Children's Literature Web Guide
Internet resources related to books for children and young adults.

The Cooperative Children's Book Center
The Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC) is a children's and young adult literature library located at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Great Websites for Kids
Links to many "great sites," including children's book awards (Caldecott, Newbery, and Coretta Scott King, etc.). Great Websites for Kids is compiled by the Children and Technology Committee of the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.

The Internet Public Library
The Internet Public Library is the first public library of the Internet... [and is]"committed ... to serve the public by finding, evaluating, selecting, organizing, describing, and creating quality information resources; and to develop and provide services for our community with an awareness of the different needs of young people."

School Collection of Children's Literature Resources
Illinois Library Gateway to "School Collection of Children's Literature Resources."

Help