Skip to main content

Social Work: Web Resources

Criminal Justice

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Federally sponsored information clearinghouse that produces "one of the largest criminal and juvenile justice libraries and databases in the world," the NCJRS Abstracts Database. It also provides 7,000 full-text publications, and online reference service.

World Criminal Justice Library Network
Collection of resources related to criminal justice worldwide.

Demographic Data

Pew Social & Demographic Trends
Presents studies on Americans' attitudes and behavior related a number of social issues and social trends.  Complete reports are downloadable as PDFs.

Economic Indicators
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.

Cultural/Social Research

Global Family Research Project
Global Family Research Project promotes more effective educational practices, programs, and policies for disadvantaged children and youth by generating, publishing, and disseminating research.

United Nations: Protect Human Rights
Provides access to U.S. agencies dedicated to human rights, reports, and news stories related to human rights issues worldwide.

Feeding America: Our Research
Provides a “comprehensive profile of the incidence and nature of hunger and food insecurity in the U.S.

National Council on Disability
The National Council on Disability is a small federal agency, which serves to advise the President, Congress, and other federal agencies and departments on issues and policies related to persons with disabilities. Links to news reports, blogs, reports, and other resources are provided on the site. The reports listed on this site are listed according to the publication date, and may also be accessed through Disablity.gov

U.S. DHHS Administration for Children & Families
The Administration for Children and Families (ACF) is a federal agency funding state, territory, local, and tribal organizations to provide family assistance (welfare), child support, child care, Head Start, child welfare, and other programs relating to children and families.

Help