Baker Encyclopedia of Christian Apologetics by Norman L. GeislerThis comprehensive A to Z reference covers key issues, persons, and concepts related to the defense of Christianity-giving you powerful responses to arguments against the faith. Topics include philosophical systems, contemporary issues, difficult Bible passages, classic apologetic arguments, and more!
Call Number: BT1102 .G42 1999
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Concise Encyclopedia of Church and Religious Organization Marketing by Robert E. Stevens; Bruce Wrenn; Henry Cole; David LoudonDiscover the marketing basics to draw new members--and more funds--to your church! Though more and more religious organizations increasingly attempt to use marketing techniques to improve response, little literature exists to explain crucial concepts, terms, and strategies. The Concise Encyclopedia of Church and Religious Organization Marketing fills this gap by providing novice marketers with basic theories and terms in easy-to-understand language. This A-to-Z reference presents the essential concepts and techniques, such as benefits to constituents, target markets, market research, and advertising, all with plain and concise explanations to apply to your situation, all aimed to effectively increase the numbers and resources of your faith-based organization. As people become increasingly inundated with advertising and given more choices, the need for a religious organization to cut through this informational clutter to present its own positive features to the right audience becomes vital. From social cause marketing to measuring attitudes of respondents and constituent analysis, the Concise Encyclopedia of Church and Religious Organization Marketing details the tools needed to measure and increase positive response to allow your organization to effectively compete in today's world. Numerous figures and tables clearly illustrate more complex concepts and terms to make comprehension fast and easy. An appendix has been included that provides a complete review of the early and contemporary literature applicable to marketing and religion as well as the origins of religious organizational marketing. The Concise Encyclopedia of Church and Religious Organization Marketing clarifies foundational marketing concepts and terms as they relate to church and religious organizations. Entries include: benefits brand equity cause-related marketing communication methods competition competitive advantage constituent analysis and behavior controlling marketing activities data collection and analysis demographics quantitative research directive marketing focus groups geodemographics marketing planning and research new program development performance evaluation and control publicity SWOT analysis--Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats of an organization target audience and so much more! The Concise Encyclopedia of Church and Religious Organization Marketing is the perfect source for marketing beginners looking for the basic knowledge needed to market their church or organization, as well as being a quick bookshelf reference for more experienced religious marketers.
Encyclopedia of Pentecostal and Charismatic Christianity by Stanley M. Burgess (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Pentecostal and CharismaticChristianityexamines all aspects of the Pentecostal and Charismatic Christianity movements. Focusing on their historical and worldwide development and using a socio-cultural, anthropological approach, this work explains the concepts, practices and sociology of both movements and analyzes their impact on regional cultures. The Encyclopedia also demonstrates how both movements, which differ from that of fundamentalism, a movement with strict doctrines that Pentecostalism and Charismatic Christianity are often confused with or mistaken for.
Encyclopedia of the Reformed Faith by Donald K. McKim (Editor)More than two hundred international scholars from a variety of denominations contribute to this outstanding, one-volume reference book. Comprehensive in scope, it stresses the importance of events, persons, and theological concepts that have been significant to the Reformed tradition.
Call Number: BX9406 .E56 1992
Publication Date: 1992-02-01
New Catholic Encyclopedia by Catholic University of America Staff (Contribution by)The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church.
Call Number: BX841 .N44 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-13
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity by John Anthony McGuckin (Editor)With a combination of essay-length and short entries written by a team of leading religious experts, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodoxy offers the most comprehensive guide to the cultural and intellectual world of Eastern Orthodox Christianity available in English today. An outstanding reference work providing the first English language multi-volume account of the key historical, liturgical, doctrinal features of Eastern Orthodoxy, including the Non-Chalcedonian churches Explores of the major traditions of Eastern Orthodoxy in detail, including the Armenian, Byzantine, Coptic, Ethiopic, Slavic, Romanian, Syriac churches Uniquely comprehensive, it is edited by one of the leading scholars in the field and provides authoritative but accessible articles by a range of top international academics and Orthodox figures Spans the period from Late Antiquity to the present, encompassing subjects including history, theology, liturgy, monasticism, sacramentology, canon law, philosophy, folk culture, architecture, archaeology, martyrology, hagiography, all alongside a large and generously detailed prosopography Structured alphabetically and topically cross-indexed, with entries ranging from 100 to 6,000 words