Reference Sources
Routledge Handbook of Ergonomics in Sport and Exercise by
Comprehensive and in-depth survey of cutting-edge scientific research into ergonomics in sport and exercise. Explores key topics such as: musculoskeletal adaptation to sports and exercise environmental factors of injury and fatigue load weight and performance ergonomics in adapted sports and exercise measurement in sports and exercise modelling and simulation in ergonomics design influence of playing surface, footwear and equipment design.
Call Number: QP303 .R68 2016Publication Date: 2015
Praeger Handbook of Sports Medicine and Athlete Health by
This comprehensive set covers every aspect of sports medicine, from how to play healthy to how to pursue a career in this varied field. * Includes a glossary of sports medicine terms and abbreviations.
Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of Health Behavior Change by
Comprehensive overview of behavior change as it relates to public health. Includes chapters on lifestyle change and prevention and chronic disease management, with an intensive focus on specific behaviors (i.e. diet and nutrition, tobacco use) and chronic illness (i.e diabetes, heart disease). Organized around the specific behaviors and chronic illnesses with the most significant public health impacts in terms of morbidity and mortality. Each chapter explains the significance of a particular problem and reviews the empirical evidence for the various intervention approaches.
Publication Date: 2014
Handbook of Neurological Sports Medicine by
Presents techniques for diagnosis and treatment of head-related injuries to enable medical professionals to provide the best care possible. Evidence-based reference offering expert guidelines for managing these serious injuries. Outlines how to recognize, assess, and treat concussions, preparing practitioners to calmly respond to athletes who are exhibiting signs of this dangerous condition. It also reviews the biomechanics and pathophysiology at the core of concussions to better understand their clinical presentations. Critical return-to-play guidelines and participation recommendations for patients with preexisting neurological conditions or structural lesions arm medical professionals with the principles needed for making appropriate decisions for athletes' safety. The text explains the roles of pharmacological management, natural treatment approaches, rehabilitation strategies, and education. In addition, chapters provide coverage of postconcussion syndrome, subconcussion, and second-impact syndrome. Handbook of Neurological Sports Medicine also takes a look at other traumatic injuries, including injuries to the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine, and the soft tissue and fascia within the spinal unit.
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Football Medicine, Vol. 2 by
Covers specific types of injuries that may occur, and the mechanisms of injury, with a wealth of information supported by scientific evidence.
Contents: Overview of Football Injuries -- Managing Injuries in Competitive Situations: The Laws of the Game -- Muscle Epidemiology and Injury Mechanisms -- Examination and Treatment of Muscle Injuries -- Groin Injuries -- Knee Injuries -- Ankle Injuries -- Overuse Injuries
Publication Date: 2017
Reference Articles
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowGood general reference database useful for gaining an overview of a topic.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch over 100 Oxford reference books from various topics and subjects simultaneously. Includes resources previously held in Oxford Biblical Studies Online.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowResearch tool providing access to quantitative data, statistics and related information. Tons of great graphs, charts and infographics. Popular database.