Types of Information
Persuasive Speech
This is the "Home" page of the "COMM 100 - Introduction to Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

COMM 100 - Introduction to Communication   Tags: comm100, communication arts, public speaking  

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.georgefox.edu/comm100 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Links

Extensive information resources are available through your GFU Libraries, and a team of dedicated professionals are waiting to assist

 

Chat

 

Guide Purpose

The purpose of this course guide is to present you with some of the research tools that are available to you, as well as some general information regarding human communication, and the differences between the informative and persuasion speeches. Please feel free to contact me or another one of the George Fox University librarians for assistance with your research needs.

Communication Journal Databases

The following databases may be used to obtain journal articles for your research projects.

  • Academic OneFile (Gale)
    This database provides access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Includes extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
    The world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Contains indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. Over 3,600 journals are peer-reviewed.
  • Communication and Mass Media Collection (Gale)
    A specialized collection of more than 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)
    CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 400 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 600 titles. This database includes full text for 292 journals, a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and over 3,000 Author Profiles, with biographical data and bibliographic information.

Librarian profile

Profile Image
Merrill Johnson
Contact Info
503-554-2411
Send Email
 

User Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip