About
The library's juvenile literature collection is located in the lower level of the Murdock Library in Newberg (turn right at the bottom of the staircase). It includes easy-read and picture books, fiction and non-fiction, primarily in English, though there are some foreign-language titles.
The juvenile literature collection is curated to offer on-campus options for young readers with an increasing emphasis on harder-to-find stories that feature diverse characters and creators as well as works that support STEM education. It is meant to be used in conjunction with our book delivery services (Summit & ILL) as well as the much larger collection at the Newberg Public Library.
Scroll down to see more details about searching and browsing the Juvenile Collections.
Searching Primo
Books in our juvenile collection can be found through Primo (Library Search on our homepage). To look at materials exclusively in this collection, make sure to limit your initial search to books at GFU. You can also use the Location limiter (left side of the results screen) to only see "Juvenile Easy Fiction", "Juvenile Fiction", "Juvenile Easy Non-Fiction", or "Juvenile Non-Fiction".
Many items that are not in our collections at George Fox Library may be located by searching Primo and placing a Summit request.
Searching WorldCat
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
If a particular title is not available in our Juvenile Collections or via Summit Request, you may also request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. The easiest way to do so is to search Worldcat through George Fox (link above). Once you have found the title you want, use the yellow Request button in the upper right to open a pre-filled request form. Interlibrary Loan materials usually arrive within a week, but can take up to three weeks to arrive, so plan ahead for reading deadlines!
Call Numbers
There are four locations in the Juvenile Collection:
| Juvenile Fiction Juvenile Non-Fiction |
Juvenile Easy Fiction Juvenile Easy Non-Fiction |
The Juvenile Collection is arranged using the Dewey Decimal System. Below are the ten main Dewey classes that you'll see in non-fiction call numbers:
Fiction books technically have the same (or very similar) call numbers in the Dewey system, so like most public and school libraries, we have them separated from fiction and organized by a code that represents the author's last name. This means that they are mostly on the shelf in author order, but make sure to note the full call number before looking for a book, especially with the Juvenile Easy collections, as there are some discrepancies.
Below are examples from all juvenile collection areas:
|
All the Stars Denied,
|
Chasing Bats and Tracking Rats,
|
My City Speaks,
|
Solar System by the Numbers,
|
| Juvenile Fiction M122a |
Juvenile Non-Fiction 577.5 G986 2021 |
Juvenile Easy Fiction L442m 2021 |
Juvenile Easy Non-Fiction 523.2 J52 |
