LibGuides: PDPT 529 Evidence-Based Practice &amp; Clinical Decision-Making: Find Articles

PICO statements and PubMed Searching

PubMed Tutorials

PubMed Tutorial
An in-depth look at PubMed: its functionality and searchability.
Quick Tour Tutorials
The quick tour tutorials range in length from 1 to 4 minutes, and cover such topics as author searches, author/subject searches, searching for journals, searching the MeSH database, and advanced search builder (using AND and OR operators).

Not all of the articles indexed in PubMed have the full text freely available. If/When you encounter articles that are not freely available through PubMed, here is how you can access the articles:

If you use the PubMed through the George Fox University Library, there will be a button at the top right with a database name (Elsevier, OVID, etc.). If you click button, you will be routed to the full text of articles not freely available through PubMed.
If the article is not available through any of the journal sources provided by the George Fox University Library you will need to request the article through interlibrary loan. It can take 24-hours to 2-weeks to get the article from the lending library. The article will be delivered electronically, and you will receive e-mailed instructions on how to access the article.

Other PT-related Journals

This is not an exhaustive list of PT-related journals accessible through the various library-licensed databases. These titles are subscribed to by the GFU Library, and are in addition to the OVID/Lippincott PT journals.

Research Databases

Databases below contain full-text articles for your research papers, and for locating evidence-based practice literature.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Same clean interface as regular Google but will only return scholarly content.

Wiley Online Library/Wiley InterScience

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text is an authoritative index of nursing and allied health literature. Subject headings follow the structure of MeSH and provide additional specificity, making it a great choice for searching nursing and physical therapy literature.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
Reporting on randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials for human studies.
Cochrane Clinical Answers This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Clinical Answers is a clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. Answers contain a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to drill down to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews.
Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers the effects of healthcare, conduct of controlled trials, cost and the effects of drugs, treatments and procedures.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the literature of biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences. 1965 to the present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes MEDLINE and related databases. Over 18 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed may link to content we don't have online access to; please contact a librarian if you need assistance.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the physical sciences and life sciences
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology,coaching & education, and sports medicine.

Individual Journals

Evaluate the Literature

Critical Appraisal Worksheets: interactive forms for evaluating articles related to diagnosis, e-prognosis, harm, systematic reviews, and therapy (developed by the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine). Available in a variety of languages.