Finding Articles
There are various ways to search for articles from the library. Using the Primo Advanced Search link below is an excellent starting place and may be all that you need. View the two short videos at the top of the right column for a demo by your librarian on using the Advanced Search in Primo for articles. Question? Don't hesitate to contact me, I'm very glad to help! rashford@georgefox.edu | Book a Research Appointment
Primo Advanced Search allows for more nuanced searching and limiting by material type, language, date range, and more. The two short videos in the right column below demonstrate running a search for articles, limiting to peer-reviewed journals, using boolean operators (library jargon for AND, OR, NOT) and other search tips as well as accessing and downloading articles from the search results.
Video - EBSCOhost Advanced Search 2 min.38 sec.
Video by EBSCOhost demonstrating how to search our EBSCO databases. Demo takes place in the Academic Search Premiere database and is applicable to other EBSCO databases.
Video - Using the EBSCOhost Result List 3 min.39 sec.
Video - Create Free EBSCO Acct & Personal EBSCO Folder 3 min.42 sec.
View the video and visit the EBSCO Help page on How to Use the My EBSCOHost Folder.
Video - Creating a Search Alert in EBSCO 1 min. 28 sec.
Find Journal Articles at George Fox Library
Searching Advanced Primo for Articles - Part 1 (3 min.)
Primo Articles - Part 2 - Tips and Results List (4 min.)
Google Scholar
- Google Scholar
Use the link above to search your topic and have Google Scholar recognize you as a George Fox user, and link to our full text subscriptions. Google Scholar indexes a broad array of scholarly literature and can be useful for citation counts (article importance/impact) and is helpful in learning terminology.
An excellent option for using Google Scholar to connect to library databases is described below.
Link your Google account to the George Fox Library, so the “Find it at George Fox U” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from our Google Scholar link above.
To configure your settings manually, use the following steps:
1. Go to https://scholar.google.com/
2. Click the three lines in the top left corner.
3. Click "Settings".
4. Click "Library Links".
5. Search for George Fox University. Check the “George Fox University - Find it at George Fox U” box.
6. Save your settings.
You can now continue to search and should see the Find it at George Fox U links next to articles we have access to. You may also try clicking the article title directly and if we have access may be taken to the full text article on the publisher's site.
Note: If you are unable to access the full text of an article directly from Google Scholar, copy and paste the title into Primo, the main search box on our library home page. This applies to book titles shown in Google Scholar as well. Often the titles will be found in Primo and if not, the title record will allow you to sign in and request the article via Interlibrary loan. You should not have to pay for access to an article while at George Fox.
Top EBSCO Education Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowCovers a variety of topics ranging from early childhood to higher education, including specialities such as multilingual education and testing. Provides access to research journal articles, trade and professional publications, monographs, conference papers, and more. Popular database.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowA guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, from 1966 to the present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, theses, curricula, etc. Now contains full-text ERIC documents.
Reminder: When searching EBSCO for scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box before starting your search. Find the box in the EBSCO interface under Search Options > Limit your results.
Articles by Journal Title
You may search journal titles directly from the EBSCO articles databases (when available) to be taken to the journal title where you can browse content by year, volume, etc.
Click the "Search within this publication" link to search for articles on a topic within the journal title.
The links below are examples of peer-reviewed journal titles available in our EBSCO databases.