It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publishes articles illuminating educational practices through empirical methodologies, which prioritise the experiences and perspectives of those involved.
Access to full text from 2006 to present with an 18 month delay. *Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Exploring Education Through Phenomenology by Gloria Dall'Alba (Editor)This book explores the resurgence of interest in phenomenology as aphilosophy and research movement among scholars in education, thehumanities and social sciences. Brings together a series of essays by an international team ofphilosophers and educationalists Juxtaposes diverse approaches to phenomenological inquiry andaddresses questions of significance for education today Demonstrates why phenomenology is a contemporary movement thatis both dynamic and varied Highlights ways in which phenomenology can inform a broad rangeof aspects of educational theorising and practice, includinglearning through the body, writing online, being an authenticteacher, ambiguities in becoming professionals, and schooltransition
Call Number: NOTE: Ebook is available to download, save or print in PDF format, will not expire
Publication Date: 2009-10-12
The Phenomenology of Learning and Becoming by Eugene M. DeRobertisIn this text, the history of phenomenological research on learning is synthesized and brought forward into the areas of existential learning, the development of enthusiasm about learning (from childhood through adulthood), and paradigmatic creative experience. Original research findings are derived using the Giorgi method of descriptive phenomenological analysis in psychology. The results, structural and eidetic in nature, are then integrated from a holistic developmental viewpoint: that of Existential-Humanistic Self-Development Theory (EHSDT). An evolving developmental partnership between learning and creativity emerges as the proper conceptual frame for considering optimal growth and the relative maturity of situated becoming oneself (i.e., the process of self-cultivation). The resulting perspective is supported by cutting edge trends in neuroscience and related to pedagogy and education.
Call Number: NOTE: Full ebook is available to download, save or print in PDF format, will not expire
Publication Date: 2017-06-27
Hermeneutic Phenomenology in Education by Norm Friesen (Volume Editor); Carina Hendriksson (Editor); Tone Saevi (Volume Editor)Hermeneutic phenomenology is a combination of theory, reflection and practice that interweaves vivid descriptions of lived experience (phenomenology) together with reflective interpretations of their meanings (hermeneutics). This method is popular among researchers in education, nursing and other caring and nurturing practices and professions. Practical and adaptable, it can be at the same time poetic and evocative. As this collection shows, hermeneutic phenomenology gives voice to everyday aspects of educational practice--particularly emotional, embodied and empathic moments--that may be all too easily overlooked in other research approaches. By explicating, illustrating and demonstrating hermeneutic phenomenology as a method for research in education specifically, this book offers an excellent resource for beginning as well as more advanced researchers.
Call Number: NOTE: Ebook is freely available to download, print, save, and will not expire.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Phenomenology of Practice by Max Van ManenMax van Manen offers an extensive exploration of phenomenological traditions and methods for the human sciences. It is his first comprehensive statement of phenomenological thought and research in over a decade. Phenomenology of practice refers to the meaning and practice of phenomenology in professional contexts such as psychology, education, and health care, as well as to the practice of phenomenological methods in contexts of everyday living. Van Manen presents a detailed description of key phenomenological ideas as they have evolved over the past century; he then thoughtfully works through the methodological issues of phenomenological reflection, empirical methods, and writing that a phenomenology of practice offers to the researcher. Van Manen¿s comprehensive work will be of great interest to all concerned with the interrelationship between being and acting in human sciences research and in everyday life. Max van Manen is the editor of the series Phenomenology of Practice, https://www.routledge.com/series/PPVM
Call Number: NOTE: Entire ebook is freely available to download, print, save, and keep in PDF format, it will not expire.
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
Case Study—Print & Ebooks
Rethinking Case Study Research by Lesley Bartlett; Frances VavrusComparative case studies are an effective qualitative tool for researching the impact of policy and practice in various fields of social research, including education. Developed in response to the inadequacy of traditional case study approaches, comparative case studies are highly effective because of their ability to synthesize information across time and space. In Rethinking Case Study Research: A Comparative Approach, the authors describe, explain, and illustrate the horizontal, vertical, and transversal axes of comparative case studies in order to help readers develop their own comparative case study research designs. In six concise chapters, two experts employ geographically distinct case studies¿from Tanzania to Guatemala to the U.S.¿to show how this innovative approach applies to the operation of policy and practice across multiple social fields. With examples and activities from anthropology, development studies, and policy studies, this volume is written for researchers, especially graduate students, in the fields of education and the interpretive social sciences.
Call Number: NOTE: Ebook is freely available to download in PDF format to print or save, and will not expire.
Publication Date: 2016-11-23
Case Study Research in Education by Sharan B. Merriam - PrintMerriam has provided a valuable contribution to researchers seeking depth, richness and relevance that the qualitative case study can provide. Her book is suitable for a beginning graduate research course or for anyone commencing study of qualitative research methods. --Educational Studies Merriam offers how-to advice for managing all phases of case study research -- from translating educational issues into specific research problems and collecting data to organizing the final case report. She provides strategies for analyzing information, suggestions for ensuring the validity of research findings, and more.
Call Number: NOTE: To request the print title, click title link, Sign in, and follow the prompts
Publication Date: 1988-09-21
The Art of Case Study Research by Robert E. Stake - PrintThis book presents a disciplined, qualitative exploration of case study methods by drawing from naturalistic, holistic, ethnographic, phenomenological and biographic research methods. Robert E. Stake uses and annotates an actual case study to answer such questions as: How is the case selected? How do you select the case which will maximize what can be learned? How can what is learned from one case be applied to another? How can what is learned from a case be interpreted? In addition, the book covers: the differences between quantitative and qualitative approaches; data-gathering including document review; coding, sorting and pattern analysis; the roles of the researcher; triangulation; and reporting.
Call Number: NOTE: To request print item, click book title, Sign in, and follow the prompts.
Publication Date: 1995-04-05
Case Study Research and Applications by Robert K. Yin - PrintRecognized as one of the most cited methodology books in the social sciences, the Sixth Edition of Robert K. Yin's bestselling text provides a complete portal to the world of case study research. With the integration of 11 applications in this edition, the book gives readers access to exemplary case studies drawn from a wide variety of academic and applied fields. Ultimately, Case Study Research and Applications will guide students in the successful use and application of the case study research method.
Call Number: NOTE: To request print title, click title link, Sign in and follow the prompts.
Publication Date: 2018
Library Resources Recommended by EDDL 793 Professor
Titles in both columns below include direct links to library ebooks that are immediately accessible, and links to print books that can be requested, recommended by your EDDL 793 professor. There is one box for materials from each pilot study method, and one of books for all methods.
Any questions at all, do not hesitate to contact me, Robin Ashford, your EdD librarian.
All titles allow for unlimited simultaneous user access
Some titles are freely available to download the entire book in PDF format to save or print, and will not expire.
Hover your mouse over the i icon to read book description information
Visit the Print & Ebooks page in this guide for short videos on requesting print books and on finding and accessing ebooks.
Published for the American Educational Research Association by Routledge. The Handbook of Complementary Methods in Education Research is a successor volume to AERA's earlier and highly acclaimed editions of Complementary Methods for Research in Education. More than any book to date (including its predecessors), this new volume brings together the wide range of research methods used to study education and makes the logic of inquiry for each method clear and accessible. Each method is described in detail, including its history, its research design, the questions that it addresses, ways of using the method, and ways of analyzing and reporting outcomes.
Qualitative Research in Education by Peter FreebodyThis outstanding new textbook provides a comprehensive overview of qualitative approaches to educational research. The text draws upon a broad range of real-life examples to describe and illustrate the methods through which educational data may be analyzed. Through a detailed yet concise explanation, the reader is then shown how these methods work and how their outcomes may be interpreted. Key features of this title include: - Links theory and practice by locating forms of analysis within a clear theoretical perspective. - Locates qualitative research in the social and cultural context in which it originates. - Contains a variety of 'real-life' examples and case studies. - Each chapter concludes with a set of exercises and questions for further discussion. Qualitative Research in Education presents a thorough explanation of the complexities of educational research and demonstrates the importance of placing this knowledge within cultural, linguistic and sociological contexts. It is an extremely informative text, which constitutes essential reading for those, engaged in the research and analysis of educational data.
Publication Date: 2003-07-29
Introduction to Qualitative Research Methods by Steven J. Taylor; Robert Bogdan; Marjorie DeVaultAn informative real-world guide to studying the "why" of human behavior Introduction to Qualitative Research Methods is a practical, comprehensive guide to the collection and presentation of qualitative data. Unique in the market, this book describes the entire research process -- from design through writing -- illustrated by examples of real, complete qualitative work that clearly demonstrates how methods are used in actual practice. This updated fourth edition includes all new case studies, with additional coverage of mixed methods, non-sociological settings, funding, and a sample interview guide. The studies profiled are accompanied by observation field notes, and the text includes additional readings for both students and instructors. More than just theory, this guide is designed to give you a real-world practitioner's view of how qualitative research is handled every step of the way. Many different disciplines rely on qualitative research as a method of inquiry, to gain an in-depth understanding of human behavior and the governing forces behind it. Qualitative research asks "why" and "how," and the data is frequently complex and difficult to measure. This book shows you how to effectively handle qualitative work, regardless of where it's being applied. Understand the strengths and limitations of qualitative data Learn how experts work around common methodological issues Compare actual field notes to the qualitative studies they generated Examine the full range of qualitative methods throughout the research process Whether you're studying sociology, psychology, marketing, or any number of other fields, especially in the social and behavioral sciences, human behavior is the central concern of your work. So what drives human behavior? That's what qualitative research helps to explain. Introduction to Qualitative Research Methods gives you the foundation you need to begin seeking answers.
Publication Date: 2015-10-19
Narrative—Print & Ebooks
Narrative Inquiry by D. Jean Clandinin; F. Michael Connelly - Print"The literature on narrative inquiry has been, until now, widely scattered and theoretically incomplete. Clandinin and Connelly have created a major tour de force. This book is lucid, fluid, beautifully argued, and rich in examples. Students will find a wealth of arguments to support their research, and teaching faculty will find everything they need to teach narrative inquiry theory and methods."--Yvonna S. Lincoln, professor, Department of Educational Administration, Texas A&M University Understanding experience as lived and told stories--also known as narrative inquiry--has gained popularity and credence in qualitative research. Unlike more traditional methods, narrative inquiry successfully captures personal and human dimensions that cannot be quantified into dry facts and numerical data. In this definitive guide, Jean Clandinin and Michael Connelly draw from more than twenty years of field experience to show how narrative inquiry can be used in educational and social science research. Tracing the origins of narrative inquiry in the social sciences, they offer new and practical ideas for conducting fieldwork, composing field notes, and conveying research results. Throughout the book, stories and examples reveal a wide range of narrative methods. Engaging and easy to read, Narrative Inquiry is a practical resource from experts who have long pioneered the use of narrative in qualitative research.
Call Number: NOTE: Click title link and Sign in to request the item - Print resources will be sent priority mail to those who don't live locally. Students are responsible for returning print items.
Publication Date: 2004-08-13
Narrative Research in Practice by Rachael Dwyer (Editor); Ian Davis (Editor); elke emerald (Editor)This book directly addresses the multiplicity and complexity of narrative research by illustrating a variety of avenues to pursuing and publishing research that falls under the umbrella of narrative work. The chapters are drawn from a wide range of disciplines including education, literary studies, cultural studies, music and clinical studies. Each chapter considers a particular methodological issue or approach, illustrating how it was addressed in the course of the research. Each of the chapters concludes with a set of discussion exercises and a further reading list. The book offers a valuable resource for established researchers seeking to expand their methodological and theoretical repertoire, and for graduate students and researchers new to narrative methods.
Call Number: NOTE: Freely available ebook can be downloaded in PDF format to print, save, and will not expire.
Publication Date: 2016-09-21
Narrative Constellations by Susanne GarvisNarrative research in contemporary times can free social scientists from the rhetorical forms (Emihovich, 1995) that alienate children and families from their own traditions. Through the use of narrative we are able to recognise the power of subjectivity in allowing open dialogue and co-construction of meaning. Becoming comfortable with narrative research also means accepting ideas that the world has no fixed rules for assigning behaviour (Emihovich, 1995). This means that open dialogue is required to build consensus around shared meaning and to ensure the inclusion of multiple voices. The book begins with a theoretical overview of narrative genre before focusing on narrative constellations. Three constellations are then shared with the reader. The final chapter provides ideas about the future of narrative constellation in research and the impact constellations can have for future policy and practice. It is hoped that the reader develops a better understanding of narrative ways and begins to see the potential of narrative constellations in the research genre.
Call Number: NOTE: Ebook is freely available to download in PDF format to print or save, and will not expire.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Developing Narrative Theory by Ivor F. Goodson - EbookWe live in an age of narrative: life stories are a crucial ingredient in what makes us human and, in turn, what kind of human they make us. In recent years, narrative analysis has grown and is used across many areas of research. Interest in this rapidly developing approach now requires the firm theoretical underpinning that would allow researchers to both approach such research in a reliably structured way, and to interpret the results more effectively. Developing Narrative Theory looks at the contemporary need to study life narratives, considers the emergence and salience of life narratives in contemporary culture, and discusses different forms of narrativity. It shows in detail how life story interviews are conducted, and demonstrates how the process often begins with relatively unstructured life story collection but moves to a more collaborative exchange, where sociological themes and historical patterns are scrutinised and mutually explored. At the core of this book, the author shows that, far from there being a singular form of narrative or an infinite range of unique and idiosyncratic narratives, there are in fact clusters of narrativity and particular types of narrative style. These can be grouped into four main areas: Focussed Elaborators; Scripted Describers; Armchair Elaborators; and Focussed Describers. Drawing on data from several large-scale studies from countries across the world, Professor Goodson details how theories of narrativity and life story analysis can combine to inform learning potential. Timely and innovative, this book will be of use to all of those employing narrative and life history methods in their research. It will also be of interest to those working in lifelong learning and with professional and self development practices.
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Ethnography for Education by PoleExplores what ethnology can achieve in educational research. This book features: discussion of definitions of ethnography and its potential for use within educational research; introductions to the principal approaches to ethnography; discussions of data analysis and representation and of the challenges facing ethnography; and more.
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Journey to Ethnographic Research by Leah ShagrirThis book describes a researcher's journey to carry out an ethnographic study. It serves as a tool to spread the use of ethnographic research, and to clarify the difficulties, challenges, solutions, and advantages ethnographic researchers encounter. The book describes how the various stops along the way allowed investigation of the research area from a variety of viewpoints, in order to fulfil diverse roles, and to present the research findings in a range of voices: the voice of the teacher educator, the voice of the faculty member, the voice of the ethnographic researcher, and the voice of the student. These viewpoints allowed for natural movement between the data that were gathered and the research information that was furnished. Using the voice of each role to present the issue allows one to examine it from a unique perspective and to get a broad and deep picture of the research population, process and results. Such a multi-dimensional perspective enables the presentation of a whole; emphasizing experiences, perceptions, values, world views, rules and regulations, culture and life style, interpersonal and intrapersonal relations.
Call Number: NOTE: Ebook is freely available to download in PDF format to print or save and will not expire.
Publication Date: 2016-11-02
Doing Research about Education by Geoffrey Walford (Editor)This book brings together semi-autobiographical accounts from major educationalists about their influential research, focusing on the practical and personal aspects of the research process. The collection reflects the great changes that have occured within educational research since the 1980s and deals with the issues and situations of the late 1990s. It includes accounts that cover the various stages of the research process, a sampling of topics, the diversity of methodologies used in educational research and a range of theoretical perspectives. There is coverage of qualitative and quantitative methodologies and of large and smaller scale research. Also discussed are: ESRC programme research, contract research and theoretical research.