Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDDL 796 Research Literacy: Annotated Bibliography

What is an Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations for various books, articles, and other sources on a topic. The annotated bibliography looks like a References page but includes an annotation after each source cited. An annotation is a short summary and/or critical evaluation of a source. Annotated bibliographies can be part of a larger research project, or can be a stand-alone report in itself.

Learn more at University Libraries, University of Nevada, Reno: https://guides.library.unr.edu/apacitation/annotatedbib

 

General Guidelines

General guidelines

  • Carefully read the course assignment instructions.
  • If you are still unclear, check with your professor on the type of annotated bibliography that is required for the assignment.
  • Main Types of Annotated Bibliographies:
    • Summary/descriptive – provides a concise overview of the main arguments, evidence presented, and conclusions
    • Critical/evaluative – in addition to providing an overview, analyzes the content; comments on the strengths and weaknesses of the arguments, evidence, and conclusions; explains the usefulness of the source for your research topic.
    • Combination - most annotated bibliography assignments require that you include both an overview and evaluative comments.
  • Most annotated bibliographies organize sources alphabetically by the first author's last name.
  • Consistently follow the rules of the APA style guide instructions; the style guide will detail what information to include for each type of source and how it should be formatted.
  • For more detailed guidelines on writing an annotated bibliography, please refer to the following: