Welcome to the GFU Libraries!
Welcome to the George Fox University Libraries, and to the course guide for MMSC 510: Introduction to Anatomy! This guide serves as a quick reference, connecting you to relevant library resources specific to your course. It represents a small portion of the available resources and services available to you as a GFU student. Please contact me if you need additional information or guidance in your research.
Everything Search
Relevant Databases
- Access Medicine (McGraw Hill) This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?You need to access assigned readings from Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, or from other key texts.What's Included?Access Medicine provides medical textbooks, cases, and study resources for medical education.
- DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?This is the full text of the DSM-V, which is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.What's Included?Full text of the DSM-V, the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-V Clinical Cases, and older versions of the DSM.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?You need evidence based reference information on a medication, or need to calculate drug dosage. A recommended point-of-care resource (along with UpToDate).What's Included?Current information on drugs and medication. Tools for comparing drugs and calculating dosage. Includes RED BOOK for drug pricing and manufacturer information.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Why Search Here? You are conducting research in the medical sciences, biology, engineering, or other STEM fields. Powerful searching available with the MeSH index of subject headings, which is available in its most browsable form via PubMed. What's Included? Abstracting and indexing database for articles relating to health science, the allied health fields, and the biological and physical sciences. PubMed is a version of the database MEDLINE that has been made freely available by the National Library of Medicine, and which includes some additional content. Full text links provide access to George Fox-owned content and/or help you to place an Interlibrary Loan request.
- PA Core Education This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?You need to consult a textbook for a course (all of which can also be found by searching in Primo)What's Included?A collection of e-books covering topics in medical science. Also offers videos about patient assessments, case documents relating to ebook content, and images.
eBooks for MMSC 510
Clinical Anatomy Cases by
Clinical Anatomy Cases integrates anatomy, physical examination, and medical imaging into a single, practical resource--an ideal presentation for today's students and residents. Carefully organized content presents normal, clinical, and radiologic anatomy, along with case examples, relevant physical examination information, and clinical pearls. Written and developed by students, residents, physicians, and instructors, Clinical Anatomy Cases is a valuable resource for coursework in medical, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, dental, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and other health programs as well as for board exam preparation and as an introduction to radiology during the transition to clinical rotations and practice. This first edition features: More than 80 clinical cases organized by region with corresponding systems overviews as well as typical lab tests, functional testing, and diagnostic imaging presenting full, integrated cases. A highly visual presentation with more than 320 illustrations, photographs, and images to lead students through normal anatomy and common clinical presentations and diseases. Specialty icons that identify case content for Family Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Surgery, and Internal Medicine. Lists of differential diagnoses and high-yield clinical pearls that help students think through clinical scenarios. Co-authors of the best-selling anatomy textbooks Clinically Oriented Anatomy and Essential Clinical Anatomy .
ISBN: 9781451193671Publication Date: 2016-06-30
Anatomy Atlases
DynaMed Database & Mobile App
- DynaMed appThe DynaMed app is free with the libraries' subscription to DynaMed, and is compatible with iOS and Android devices.
Top Medical Journals
- New England Journal of MedicineNEJM is a widely read and influential medical journal, whose mission is to connect readers to the best research at the interface of biomedical science and clinical practice, presented in an understandable and clinically useful format.
