Databases for Literary Criticism
NOTE: When clicking the database links below from off-campus you will be prompted to login using your MyGeorgeFox username and password.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 4,400 journals and series worldwide. Coverage from 1926 to the present.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new windowIncludes content from the print sets of Nineteenth-Century, Twentieth-Century, and Contemporary Criticism from 1971-2011. This is an extensive collection of scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
How Do I Get My Article?
If there isn't a PDF of your article linked to the record, look for the "Check for Full Text" button
Clicking that button might bring up a record like this from PRIMO. If it does, you can access your full article by clicking one of the full text options.
If that doesn't work though, you can still get access to the article by requesting it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If you need help with this process, please ask a librarian.
Tips for Searching MLA International Bibliography
- When picking articles for your paper, choose any that have titles that seem relevant and interesting to you.
- When searching for an author, use this format: Last Name, First Name (ex: Austen, Jane).
- If you aren't sure what this database calls a certain topic or person, check the Thesaurus.
- If you aren't finding many relevant articles at first, try checking the search option "Also search within the full text of articles"
