LibGuides: THEO 202 &amp; 302: Theology I &amp; II: Find Overviews and Summaries

Online Reference Sources

The Baker Compact Dictionary of Theological Terms Quickly Find and Understand Key Theological Terms Christianity is a faith built upon the Word and understood through words, both written and spoken, handed down for centuries. But many of the terms used in both the Scriptures and theological writings are unfamiliar or misunderstood. For the Christian desiring a more clear and robust understanding of these terms, this book offers concise definitions of six hundred of the most significant words at the heart of the Christian faith, including terms related to: - doctrine (e.g., the atonement, the church) - biblical concepts (e.g., Messiah, Son of Man) - church practices (e.g., anointing of the sick, immersion) - philosophical concepts (e.g., "a priori," compatibilism) - people (e.g., Thomas Aquinas, John Wesley) - councils (e.g., Councils of Nicea I and II, Council of Trent) - movements (e.g., Protestantism, Pentecostalism) - documents (e.g., the Chalcedonian Creed, Chicago Statement on Biblical Inerrancy) - and more Students of the Bible, college and seminary students, and anyone who desires to deepen their understanding of the Christian faith will find this an indispensable resource.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
Consecrated Phrases Consecrated Phraseshas been a standard and valued reference work for theology students for many years. This new third edition is expanded by more than fifty percent from the previous edition. It includes many new entries, while entries from earlier editions have been expanded and extensively cross-referenced. The resulting volume functions better as a reliable guide to translation and a primer on the tradition out of which the consecrated phrases arose. The third edition contains many entries from canon and civil law, as well as terms from philosophy and theology. While Latin has often been called a dead language," Consecrated Phrasesdemonstrates convincingly that the tradition continues not just to live but to thrive. This book will aid generations of students yet to come in understanding, appropriating, and developing the best of that tradition.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity 2014 Midwest Publishing Association Award of Excellence (Scholarly/Reference)2014 Readers' Choice Awards Honorable MentionThe Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian church and comprises 3,220 entries by a team of 266 scholars from 26 countries representing a variety of Christian traditions. It draws upon such fields as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, cultural studies, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.This three-volume encyclopedia offers unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the people, places and ideas of ancient Christianity, including:cultural currentsevents and movementsphilosophyiconography and architecturearchaeologytexts and translationstheological termsdoctrinesliturgyspiritualitymonasticismChristian sectsheresiescontroversiescouncilsThe encyclopedia's A-to-Z coverage extends from "Aaron (iconography)" to "Zosimus, pope" and chronologically from Christianity's origins to Bede (d. 735) in the West and John of Damascus (d. ca. 749) in the Greek East, with detailed emphasis on the first four centuries of Christian history. Its geographical range reaches across:North AfricaMauretaniaNumidiaAfrica Proconsularis ByzacenaLibyaEgyptNubiaEthiopiaAsiaAdiabeneArmeniaBithynia & PontusGeorgiaCappadociaLycia and PamphyliaPhrygiaSyriaMesopotamiaArabiaPalestinePersiaChinaEuropeGaulSpain & PortugalItalyGermanyBritain and IrelandScotlandPannoniaDalmatiaMacedoniaMoesiaThraceCyprusCreteThis edition updates and expands on previous Italian and English-language editions with the addition of more than 500 new articles (added to the current Italian or English edition), including the following 30 articles exclusive to IVP's edition:apostolic seeCapuaCarmen de synodo TicinensiChinacosmopolitanismdeathdiakonia/diaconateDialogi de sancta Trinitate IV-Vdoorkeeper (porter)dynamis/energeiaeternityforgivenessfreedom/free willgoodHierotheusincubatioinfinity/infinitudelibelli miraculorumloveMara bar Serapion (letter of)oikeiosisold agepresanctifiedSerapeion (Serapeum)subdeaconTheosebiaTriumphus Christi heroicusTychonunityVirgo ParensExtensive cross-referencing provides ease in exploring related articles, and helpful bibliographies, including primary sources (texts, critical editions, translations) and key secondary sources (books and journal articles), give access to the very latest in-depth scholarship in countless disciplines of study.IVP's new Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity (2014) is translated from Nuovo dizionario patristico e di antichita cristiane (2006-2008), produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, the world's foremost center for partristic studies, under the direction of Professor Angelo Di Berardino, and it greatly updates and expands the 1992 Encyclopedia of the Early Church (Oxford University Press/James Clarke).
An a-Z of Feminist Theology This exciting volume brings together a wide range of perspectives on one of the most important and challenging areas of modern theology. There are entries on all the major themes of Christian feminist theology, including models of God and of the Church, ethics and spirituality, sexuality and liberation. Many of the entries push their respective discussions beyond the rigid boundaries of previous theological discourse. Together they present the far-reaching concerns of feminist theology in an accessible and stimulating way. The compendium is both a resource and an inspiration for scholars and students of feminist theology and for all those who are interested in this field of reflection and activity.
Global Dictionary of Theology Theological dictionaries are foundational to any theological library. But until now there has been no Global Dictionary of Theology, a theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology.The Global Dictionary of Theology is inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South. But it also reflects the increase in two-way traffic between these two sectors as well as the global awareness that has permeated popular culture to an unprecedented degree.The editorial perspective of the Global Dictionary of Theology is an ecumenical evangelicalism that is receptive to discovering new facets of truth through listening and conversation on a global scale. Thus a distinctive feature of the Global Dictionary of Theology is its conversational approach. Contributors have been called on to write in the spirit of engaging in a larger theological conversation in which alternative views are expected and invited.William A. Dyrness, Veli-Matti K#65533;rkk#65533;inen, Juan F. Martinez and Simon Chan edit approximately 250 articles written by over 100 contributors representing the global spectrum of theological perspectives.Pastors, theological teachers, theological students and lay Christian leaders will all find the Global Dictionary of Theology to be a resource that unfolds new dimensions and reveals new panoramas of theological perspective and inquiry. Here is a new launching point for doing theology in today's global context.
New Dictionary of Theology This classic one-volume reference work has been appreciated for decades. It is now substantially expanded and revised to focus on a variety of theological themes, thinkers and movements. From African Christian Theology to Zionism, this volume of historical and systematic theology offers a wealth of information and insight for students, pastors and all thoughtful Christians.Over half of the more than eight hundred articles are new or rewritten with hundreds more thoroughly revised. Fully one-third larger than its predecessor, this volume focusing on systematic and historical theology has added entries and material on theological writers and themes in North America and around the world. Helpful bibliographies have also been updated throughout.Over three hundred contributors form an international team of renowned scholars including Marcella Altaus-Reid, Richard Bauckham, David Bebbington, Kwame Bediako, Todd Billings, Oliver Crisp, Samuel Escobar, John Goldingay, Tremper Longman III, John McGuckin, Jennifer McNutt, Michael J. Nasir-Ali, Bradley Nassif, Mark Noll, Anthony Thiselton, John Webster and N. T. Wright.This new edition combines excellence in scholarship with a high standard of clarity and profound insight into current theological issues. Yet it avoids being unduly technical. Now an even more indispensable reference, this volume is a valuable primer and introduction to the grand spectrum of theology.
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophical Theology Philosophical theology is aimed primarily at theoretical understanding of the nature and attributes of God and of God's relationship to the world and its inhabitants. During the twentieth century, much of the philosophical community (both in the Anglo-American analytic tradition and inContinental circles) had grave doubts about our ability to attain any such understanding. In recent years the analytic tradition in particular has moved beyond the biases that placed obstacles in the way of the pursuing questions located on the interface of philosophy and religion. The result hasbeen a rebirth of serious, widely-discussed work in philosophical theology.The Oxford Handbook of Philosophical Theology attempts both to familiarize readers with the directions in which this scholarship has gone and to pursue the discussion into hitherto under-examined areas. Written by some of the leading scholars in the field, the essays in the Handbook are grouped infive sections. In the first ("Theological Prolegomena"), articles focus on the authority of scripture and tradition, on the nature and mechanisms of divine revelation, on the relation between religion and science, and on theology and mystery. The next section ("Divine Attributes") focuses onphilosophical problems connected with the central divine attributes: aseity, omnipotence, omniscience, and the like. In Section Three ("God and Creation"), essays explore theories of divine action and divine providence, questions about petitionary prayer, problems about divine authority and God'srelationship to morality and moral standards, and various formulations of and responses to the problem of evil. The fourth section ("Topics in Christian Philosophy") examines philosophical problems that arise in connection with such central Christian doctrines as the trinity, the incarnation, theatonement, original sin, resurrection, and the Eucharist. Finally, Section Five ("Non-Christian Philosophical Theology") introduces readers to work that is being done in Jewish, Islamic, and Chinese philosophical theology.
Philosophical Foundations for a Christian Worldview Winner of a 2004 ECPA Gold Medallion Award Winner of an Award of Excellence in the 2003 Chicago Book Clinic What is real? What is truth? What can we know? What should we believe? What should we do and why? Is there a God? Can we know him? Do Christian doctrines make sense? Can we believe in God in the face of evil? These are fundamental questions that any thinking person wants answers to. These are questions that philosophy addresses. And the answers we give to these kinds of questions serve as the the foundation stones for consrtucting any kind of worldview.In Philosophical Foundations for a Christian Worldview J.P. Moreland and William Lane Craig offer a comprehensive introduction to philosophy from a Christian perspective. In their broad sweep they seek to introduce readers to the principal subdisciplines of philosophy, including epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of science, ethics and philosophy of religion. They do so with characteristic clarity and incisiveness. Arguments are clearly outlined, and rival theories are presented with fairness and accuracy.Philosophy, they contend, aids Christians in the tasks of apologetics, polemics and systematic theology. It reflects our having been made in the image of God, helps us to extend biblical teaching into areas not expressly addressed in Scripture, facilitates the spiritual discipline of study, enhances the boldness and self-image of the Christian community, and is requisite to the essential task of integrating faith and learning.Here is a lively and thorough introduction to philosophy for all who want to know reality.
The Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms, Second Edition This second edition of the Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms provides a comprehensive guide to nearly 7,000 theological terms, 1,000 more terms than the first edition. McKim's succinct definitions cover a broad range of theological studies and related disciplines: contemporary theologies, biblical studies, church history, ethics, feminist theology, global theologies, hermeneutics, liberation theology, liturgy, ministry, philosophy, philosophy of religion, postcolonial theology, social sciences, spiritually, worship, and Protestant, Reformed, and Roman Catholic theologies. This new edition also includes cross-references that link readers to other related terms, commonly used scholarly abbreviations and abbreviations for canonical and deuterocanonical texts, an annotated bibliography, and a new introductory section that groups together terms and concepts, showing where they fit within particular theological categories. No other single volume provides the busy student, and the theologically experienced reader, with such easy access to so many theological definitions.
New Dictionary of Theology Since its first publication in 1988, the New Dictionary of Theology has been widely appreciated by students and readers as a trustworthy and informative guide. After almost thirty years, however, there are many new writers, issues and themes on the agenda, for theology does not stand still. Hence, this completely revised second edition includes over 400 new articles in the full set of over 800. Many of the original articles have been expanded and updated, and almost all have additional bibliographical references. Since material on biblical theology is now covered at length in IVP's New Dictionary of Biblical Theology, this volume is therefore more specifically a dictionary of historical and systematic theology. The New Dictionary of Theology: Historical and Systematic has an international team of contributors, and many are acknowledged experts in their fields. The Dictionary combines excellence in scholarship with a high standard of clarity and insight into current theological issues, yet it avoids being unduly technical. Students, teachers and ministers, as well as scholars and everyone seeking a better understanding of theology, will value it as an indispensable reference work. The volume is enhanced by a spacious and clear design, an extensive and easy-to-use cross-reference system and bibliographies which feature the best and most readily available works in English.
ISBN: 1783593962
The Thiselton Companion to Christian Theology Covering everything from ?Abba? to ?Zwingli,? The Thiselton Companion to Christian Theology offers a comprehensive account of a wide sweep of topics and thinkers in Christian theology. Written entirely by eminent scholar Anthony Thiselton, the book features a coherence lacking in most multiauthored volumes. Drawing on his encyclopedic knowledge, gained from fifty-plus years of study and teaching, Thiselton provides some six hundred articles on various aspects of theology throughout the centuries. The entries comprise both short descriptive surveys and longer essays of original assessment on central theological topics -- such as atonement, Christology, God, and Holy Spirit -- and on such theologians as Aquinas, Augustine, Barth, Calvin, K�ng, Luther, Moltmann, and Pannenberg. The book also includes a helpful time chart dating all of the theologians discussed and highlighting key events in Christian history; select reading suggestions conclude each of the longer entries. Equally valuable for research and teaching, The Thiselton Companion to Christian Theology will be a go-to reference for pastors, students, teachers, and theologians everywhere.
ISBN: 0802872328

Print Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Christianity There are numerous reference volumes dealing with Christianity. Remarkably, however, until now there has been no one-volume encyclopedia dedicated Christianity on a global scale.This exhaustive work presupposes no prior knowledge of Christianity, and can usefully be consulted by Jews and Muslims, people of other faiths or no faith at all. It covers all forms of Christianity throughout history and the world. Over 300 major articles by distinguished internationalcontributors are linked through a novel series of pointers that provide different angles on topics and show the connections between them. The contributors include the leading experts on the topics under consideration, which range from regional surveys to portraits of denominations and sects,explorations of theological and moral questions, relationships with other faiths, and a "Who's Who" of Christianity. In addition to the main articles, helpful "fact boxes" present basic factual material, often in the form of lists, bringing together information that is often surprisingly difficultto find: creeds, councils, popes, miracles and parables of Jesus, religious orders, and much more. This remarkable resource, more than ten years in the making, fills a major gap in the literature on world Christianity.
Call Number: Main Stacks BR95 .E47 2005
The Encyclopedia of Christianity The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedi
Call Number: Main Stacks BR95 .E8913 1999
Global Dictionary of Theology Theological dictionaries are foundational to any theological library. But until now there has been no Global Dictionary of Theology, a theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology.The Global Dictionary of Theology is inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South. But it also reflects the increase in two-way traffic between these two sectors as well as the global awareness that has permeated popular culture to an unprecedented degree.The editorial perspective of the Global Dictionary of Theology is an ecumenical evangelicalism that is receptive to discovering new facets of truth through listening and conversation on a global scale. Thus a distinctive feature of the Global Dictionary of Theology is its conversational approach. Contributors have been called on to write in the spirit of engaging in a larger theological conversation in which alternative views are expected and invited.William A. Dyrness, Veli-Matti K#65533;rkk#65533;inen, Juan F. Martinez and Simon Chan edit approximately 250 articles written by over 100 contributors representing the global spectrum of theological perspectives.Pastors, theological teachers, theological students and lay Christian leaders will all find the Global Dictionary of Theology to be a resource that unfolds new dimensions and reveals new panoramas of theological perspective and inquiry. Here is a new launching point for doing theology in today's global context.
Call Number: Main Stacks BR95 .G56 2008
The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought Embracing the viewpoints of Catholic, Protestant, or Orthodox thinkers, of conservatives, liberals, radicals, and agnostics, Christianity today is anything but monolithic or univocal. In The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought, general editor Adrian Hastings has tried to capture a sense of the great diversity of opinion that swirls about under the heading of Christian thought. Indeed, the 260 contributors, who hail from twenty countries, represent as wide a range of perspectives as possible. Here is a comprehensive and authoritative (though not dogmatic) overview of the full spectrum of Christian thinking. Within its 600 alphabetically arranged entries, readers will find lengthy survey articles on the history of Christian thought, on national and regional traditions, and on various denominations, from Anglican to Unitarian. There is ample coverage of Eastern thought as well, examining the Christian tradition in China, Japan, India, and Africa. The contributors examine major theological topics such as resurrection, the Eucharist, and grace as well as controversial issues such as homosexuality and abortion. In addition, short entries illuminate symbols such as water and wine, and there are many profiles of leading theologians, of non-Christians who have deeply influenced Christian thinking, including Aristotle and Plato, and of literary figures such as Dante, Milton, and Tolstoy. Most articles end with a list of suggested readings and the book features a large number of cross-references. The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought is an indispensable guide to one of the central strands of Western culture. An essential volume for all Christians, it is a thoughtful gift for the holidays.
Call Number: Main Stacks BR95 .O7 2000
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, since its first appearance in 1957, has established itself as the indispensable one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. This third edition, the first for over twenty years, builds on the unrivalled reputation of theprevious editions. Revised and updated, it reflects changes in academic opinion and Church organisation. There is increased coverage of the Eastern Churches, certain issues in moral theology, and developments stemming from the Second Vatican Council. Numerous new entries have been added and theextensive bibliographies have been brought up to date. Readers are provided with over 6,000 authoritative cross-referenced A-Z entries covering all aspects of the subject, including:* Theology - the development of doctrines in different Churches; heretical movements and spirituality and their exponents; history of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation; discoveries of Nag Hammadi and their significance for Gnosticism.* Patristic scholarship - Fathers of the Church on whose work later theology is founded are covered in detail, for example, Psuedo-Chrysostom is differentiated from his namesake and the problems of Macarius of Egypt and Macarius/Simeon are elucidated; the recently discovered Sermons of St Augustineare listed.* Churches and denominations - the beliefs and structures of both the mainstream and the lesser known denominations, such as Lutherans, Shakers, Amish, Muggletonians, and Wee Frees; lengthy articles on the history of Christianity throughout the world, in countries such as Ireland, Spain, Poland,Canada, New Zealand, Angola, Zaire, the Philippines.* The Church calendar and organisation - feast and saints' days; Sacraments; church services, offices, rites, and practices; canon law including Catholic revision; councils and synods; religious orders.* Biographical entries - these are wide-ranging and include saints, popes, patriarchs, and archbishops; mystics, heretics, and reformers; theologians and philosophers with a summary of their opinions; artists, poets, and musicians whose work has been influenced by Christianity.* New entries - Arator; Liberation Theology; Ludwig Wittgenstein; ordination of women; Christian attitudes to Jews; Christianity in Vietnam; The Quest of the Historical Jesus; the ethics of contraception, procreation, and abortion.
Call Number: Main Stacks BR95 .O8 1983
Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms This unique volume briefly identifies nearly six thousand theological terms. Its concise definitions capture a broad range of theological disciplines: biblical studies; church history; ethics; feminist theology; liberation theology; ministry; philosophy; Protestant, Reformed, and Roman Catholic theologies; and more. No other single volume provides such easy access to so many theological definitions. Both the novice and the theologically experienced reader will find the Westminster Dictionary of Theological Termsto be of immense value.
Call Number: Main Stacks BR95 .M378 1996
The Dictionary of Christian Biography "This book is a reference to those men and women of all denominations who have, over the last two millenia, contributed to the life, history and study of Christianity in all its facets, or in whose lives Christianity has been a significant factor. Entries are concise and accessible, although for key figures longer essays have been written. Its coverage ranges from major figures of the immediate post-New Testament era to those recently deceased, and has a global perspective, offering in-depth coverage of Africa, India, and China as well as Orthodoxy - Greek and Russian." "This reference work will prove essential in many contexts: for general readers interested in Church history and the study of the Christian faith, in libraries, and as a study aid for students, researchers and scholars."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: Main Stacks BR1700.3 .D53 2001
The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Theology
Call Number: Main Stacks BR95 .W494 1983
The Westminster Dictionary of Theologians Written by almost sixty Latino scholars and edited by the renowned historian of doctrine Justo González, The Westminster Dictionary of Theologians is global in scope, including theologians from around the world spanning the period from the early church to today. This monumental dictionary features entries on nearly thirteen hundred theologians, organized alphabetically, ranging in length from a paragraph to a full page, and including a list of each theologian's major works.
Call Number: Main Stacks BR95 .D4513 2006
Philosophical Foundations for a Christian Worldview Winner of a 2004 ECPA Gold Medallion Award!Winner of an Award of Excellence in the 2003 Chicago Book Clinic!What is real?What is truth?What can we know?What should we believe?What should we do and why?Is there a God?Can we know him?Do Christian doctrines make sense?Can we believe in God in the face of evil?These are fundamental questions that any thinking person wants answers to. These are questions that philosophy addresses. And the answers we give to these kinds of questions serve as the the foundation stones for constructing any kind of worldview.In Philosophical Foundations for a Christian Worldview J.P. Moreland and William Lane Craig offer a comprehensive introduction to philosophy from a Christian perspective. In their broad sweep they seek to introduce readers to the principal subdisciplines of philosophy, including epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of science, ethics and philosophy of religion. They do so with characteristic clarity and incisiveness. Arguments are clearly outlined, and rival theories are presented with fairness and accuracy.Philosophy, they contend, aids Christians in the tasks of apologetics, polemics and systematic theology. It reflects our having been made in the image of God, helps us to extend biblical teaching into areas not expressly addressed in Scripture, facilitates the spiritual discipline of study, enhances the boldness and self-image of the Christian community, and is requisite to the essential task of integrating faith and learning.Here is a lively and thorough introduction to philosophy for all who want to know reality.
Call Number: Main Stacks BR100 .M68 2003
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity 2014 Midwest Publishing Association Award of Excellence (Scholarly/Reference)2014 Readers' Choice Awards Honorable MentionThe Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian church and comprises 3,220 entries by a team of 266 scholars from 26 countries representing a variety of Christian traditions. It draws upon such fields as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, cultural studies, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.This three-volume encyclopedia offers unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the people, places and ideas of ancient Christianity, including:cultural currentsevents and movementsphilosophyiconography and architecturearchaeologytexts and translationstheological termsdoctrinesliturgyspiritualitymonasticismChristian sectsheresiescontroversiescouncilsThe encyclopedia's A-to-Z coverage extends from "Aaron (iconography)" to "Zosimus, pope" and chronologically from Christianity's origins to Bede (d. 735) in the West and John of Damascus (d. ca. 749) in the Greek East, with detailed emphasis on the first four centuries of Christian history. Its geographical range reaches across:North AfricaMauretaniaNumidiaAfrica Proconsularis ByzacenaLibyaEgyptNubiaEthiopiaAsiaAdiabeneArmeniaBithynia & PontusGeorgiaCappadociaLycia and PamphyliaPhrygiaSyriaMesopotamiaArabiaPalestinePersiaChinaEuropeGaulSpain & PortugalItalyGermanyBritain and IrelandScotlandPannoniaDalmatiaMacedoniaMoesiaThraceCyprusCreteThis edition updates and expands on previous Italian and English-language editions with the addition of more than 500 new articles (added to the current Italian or English edition), including the following 30 articles exclusive to IVP's edition:apostolic seeCapuaCarmen de synodo TicinensiChinacosmopolitanismdeathdiakonia/diaconateDialogi de sancta Trinitate IV-Vdoorkeeper (porter)dynamis/energeiaeternityforgivenessfreedom/free willgoodHierotheusincubatioinfinity/infinitudelibelli miraculorumloveMara bar Serapion (letter of)oikeiosisold agepresanctifiedSerapeion (Serapeum)subdeaconTheosebiaTriumphus Christi heroicusTychonunityVirgo ParensExtensive cross-referencing provides ease in exploring related articles, and helpful bibliographies, including primary sources (texts, critical editions, translations) and key secondary sources (books and journal articles), give access to the very latest in-depth scholarship in countless disciplines of study.IVP's new Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity (2014) is translated from Nuovo dizionario patristico e di antichita cristiane (2006-2008), produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, the world's foremost center for partristic studies, under the direction of Professor Angelo Di Berardino, and it greatly updates and expands the 1992 Encyclopedia of the Early Church (Oxford University Press/James Clarke).
Call Number: Main Stacks BR66.5 .D5813 2014
Encyclopedia of Christian Theology The Encyclopedia of Christian Theology, translated from the French Dictionnaire Critique de Théologie 2nd Edition, features over 530 entries, contributed by 250 scholars from fifthteen different countries. Alphabetically arranged entries provide the reader a critical overview of the main theological questions and related topics, including concepts, events, councils, theologians, philosophers, movements, and more. Hailed as a "masterpiece of scholarship," this reference work will be of great interest and use for scholars, students of religion and theology as well as general readers.
Call Number: Main Stacks BR95 .D5313 2005
Credo by Jaroslav Pelikan Eminent theologian Jaroslav Pelikan has been translating, editing, and studying the Christian creeds and confessions of faith for sixty years. This book is the historical and theological distillation of that work. In Credo, Pelikan addresses essential questions about the Christian tradition: the origins of creeds; their function; their political role; how they relate to Christian institutions, worship, and service; and how they help to explain the major divisions of the Christian church and of Christian history. Credo stands as an independent reference work devoted to the subject of what creeds and confessions are and what their role in history has been. It is also the first of the four volumes of Creeds and Confessions of Faith in the Christian Tradition, edited by Pelikan and Valerie Hotchkiss (see below).
Call Number: Main Stacks BT990 .C63 2003
Creeds and Confessions of Faith in the Christian Tradition This remarkable four-volume set assembles the principal creeds and confessions of the Christian Church, from biblical times to the present and from all over the globe, and places them in their historical and theological context. An introductory volume, Credo, by eminent church historian Jaroslav Pelikan, surveys the history of these creeds, delves into the meaning and purpose of creeds, and probes the issues and controversies that spawn new creeds, as well as the origins of new religious movements within Christianity. The set includes over 225 texts, with translations from many languages. Pelikan and Hotchkiss provide a brief introduction to each creed and confession, as well as commentary and notes identifying its biblical and other sources. A massive and unique comparative index serves as a comprehensive guide, doctrine by doctrine, to all the creeds and confessions. And a CD-ROM, which contains all the translated texts in their original languages, is also included.
Call Number: Main Stacks BT990 .C64 2003

THEO 202 & 302: Theology I & II: Find Overviews and Summaries

Recommended Online Reference

Online Reference Sources

Print Reference Sources