WRIT 465: Creative Writing: Longform Narrative Nonfiction : Archives

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.

Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.

The Archives Division of the Office of the Secretary of State of Oregon, or the Oregon State Archives, is an agency of the Oregon Secretary of State charged with preserving and providing access to government records. It also publishes the Oregon Blue Book and Oregon Administrative Rules.

The George Fox University Archives and Museum are housed in the Murdock Library at George Fox University in Newberg, Oregon. The archives and museum are home to the historical materials of George Fox University (previously known as George Fox College and Pacific University), the Northwest Yearly Meeting of Friends (commonly known as Quakers), artifacts and manuscript collections related to those institutions. Our extensive records are comprised of manuscripts, documents, photographs, digital records, videos, music, and memorabilia that tell the history of George Fox University, the Northwest Yearly Meeting, and Newberg, Oregon.

ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.