Books - *Education - Undergraduate - LibGuides at George Fox University

Finding Books at GFU Library

Find Print Books with Primo (Written Steps)

Find Print Books and Other Physical Items in the GFU Libraries

To search for GFU print books, videos, and other physical items:

Go to the Library home page

Add your search terms and click the gold Search button to run the search

The initial Primo search returns physical items along with online materials.

To limit to physical items from GFU libraries, such as print books, DVDs and print journals, look at the left side of the search results under the Availability heading and click the link "Physical Items in GFU Libraries"

Next, narrow by Resource Type such as print books from the left sidebar by clicking the link to Print Books, DVD Videos, Journals, etc.

A Primo Advanced Search allows for more nuanced searching, and limiting by material type, language, and more. Circulation Period: GFU books circulate to students for a six-week period, with up to two renewals. Most DVDs check out for one week.

Find eBooks with Primo (Written Steps)

E-books and other online materials in Primo are immediately available to GFU students and staff.

To find GFU e-books:

Go to the Library home page
Add your search terms and click the gold Search button to run the search

On the Primo search results page look to the left under the Resource Type heading

Choose the eBooks link to limit results to eBooks only (click "Show More" if eBooks are not showing)

Click the Online access or title link for information about the book
Click the link after "Full text available at:" to view the ebook
Sign in if prompted

Another option is to search for GFU ebooks from the Primo Advanced Search page. Add your search terms, set Material Type: eBooks, Search Scope: GFU and click Search. - Visit our Library E-books page with info on major GFU Library e-book vendors.

Children's Books at George Fox Library

The library's juvenile literature collection is located in the lower level of the Murdock Library in Newberg (turn right at the bottom of the staircase). It includes easy-read and picture books, fiction and non-fiction, primarily in English, though there are some foreign-language titles.

The juvenile literature collection is curated to offer on-campus options for young readers with an increasing emphasis on harder-to-find stories that feature diverse characters and creators as well as works that support STEM education. It is meant to be used in conjunction with our book delivery services (Summit & ILL) as well as the much larger collection at the Newberg Public Library.

Scroll down to see more details about searching and browsing the Juvenile Collections.

There are four locations in the Juvenile Collection:

Juvenile Fiction
Juvenile Non-Fiction

Juvenile Easy Fiction
Juvenile Easy Non-Fiction

The Juvenile Collection is arranged using the Dewey Decimal System. Below are the ten main Dewey classes that you'll see in non-fiction call numbers:

Fiction books technically have the same (or very similar) call numbers in the Dewey system, so like most public and school libraries, we have them separated from fiction and organized by a code that represents the author's last name. This means that they are mostly on the shelf in author order, but make sure to note the full call number before looking for a book, especially with the Juvenile Easy collections, as there are some discrepancies.

Below are examples from all juvenile collection areas:

All the Stars Denied,
by Guadalupe Garcia McCall