Style Guides
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2019Two copies available at Murdock Library, one at Course Reserves and the other is requestable.
-
APA Style BlogUseful for those with additional questions or non-traditional resources.
-
APA Style Guide (Purdue OWL)These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style.
-
OWL at Purdue APA Sample Student PaperDemonstrates some practical examples of how APA style functions on an actual paper.
-
APA Style Blog: How To Cite ChatGPTThis example of how to cite ChatGPT in APA could serve as a template of how to cite all LLMs (Large Language Models). However, make sure to consult your professor's course guidelines on the acceptable use of AI.
-
MLA Handbook
by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603295611Publication Date: 2021-05-17
-
MLA Style Guide (Purdue OWL)These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style.
-
Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You need help writing a paper, especially in the disciplines of theology, journalism, history, or the arts. This is the place to learn more about Chicago or Turabian style citations.What's Included?
The full text of the Chicago Manual of Style, with brief notes about Turabian.
-
The Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: LB2369 .U55 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05Two copies available at Murdock Library, one at Course Reserves and the other is requestable. -
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
by
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018ISBN: 9780226430577Publication Date: 2018-04-16Two copies available at Murdock Library, one at Course Reserves and the other is requestable.
-
Chicago Manual of Style Guide (Purdue OWL)These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) citation and format style.
Video Playlist - APA 7th in Minutes: In-Text Citations (4 videos)
Academic Resource Center (ARC)
Want tips for better learning? Help with a paper? Or just general support in college? Visit the Academic Resource Center!
Housed on the main floor of Murdock Library the Academic Resource Center (ARC) provides free writing help and academic coaching with a peer consultant. This service is available to all students. However, if you are unable to come in person the ARC also provides virtual assistance through the Virtual Learning Center (VLC).
The ARC and VLC are available to assist with writing, studying, and organizational skills. Check out their website for writing resources, or make an appointment with a trained ARC Consultant today!
Student Support
-
George Fox Disability Services OfficeThe mission of Learning Support Services is to provide educational resources and support to students of all levels so they can become more effective learners and scholars
-
George Fox Career & Academic Planning CenterAt the CAP Center, they work with students to equip them for success academically and in the job market.
-
Intercultural Resource CenterThe Intercultural Resource Center (IRC) exists to serve students by creating and sustaining an active and engaging intercultural campus life. Through programs, events and resources, we are empowering students to achieve exceptional life outcomes and to make a positive impact in our local and global communities.