Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA): Evidence-Based Research

Why Search Here?
You want to search the medical science literature with a built-in focus on nursing and allied health articles. You can use MeSH subject terms in your search.

What's Included?
Articles from thousands of the top nursing and allied health journals including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.

Why Search Here?
You are conducting research in the medical sciences, biology, engineering, or other STEM fields. Powerful searching available with the MeSH index of subject headings, which is available in its most browsable form via PubMed. 

What's Included?
Abstracting and indexing database for articles relating to health science, the allied health fields, and the biological and physical sciences. PubMed is a version of the database MEDLINE that has been made freely available by the National Library of Medicine, and which includes some additional content. Full text links provide access to George Fox-owned content and/or help you to place an Interlibrary Loan request.

Why Search Here?
You are looking for current evidence-based information on medical topics, along with expert opinion to support your clinical decision making. UpToDate is our primary point-of-care resource at George Fox (along with Micromedex).

Note: When accessing for the first time, all users must register an individual account. See LibGuide for detailed instructions.

What's Included?
Entries on over 12,400 topics, continuously updated and reviewed, covering internal medicine, pediatrics, patient education, drug information, etc. Graphics are included for most topics. Links to abstracts of supporting evidence are given, and evidence is ranked on a quality scale. Tools for calculating drug dosage and interactions are available.

Why Search Here?
You want to search Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Database of Systematic Reviews at once.

What's Included?
Cochrane Library Contains the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews at once, along with Cochrane Clinical Answers, a point-of-care decision making tool (not as robust as UpToDate), and Cochrane Methodology Register (ceased updates in 2012).

Why Search Here?
MEDLINE via EBSCO searches the same body of literature as PubMed, but without ahead-of-print or in-process citations. Indexed with the MeSH subject headings. Unlikely you will need to search both MEDLINE and PubMed. Use if you prefer the EBSCO search interface.

What's Included?
Fully indexed and peer reviewed journal articles relating to health science, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences

Why Search Here?
You want to run an efficient, interdisciplinary search of academic literature across the web. Scholar integrates with other academic resources and citation tools.

What's Included?
Freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across a wide array of publishing formats and disciplines. This link includes the setting to connect search results to George Fox holdings (Find it @ George Fox links).
Learn more in our Google Scholar guide. (https://libguides.georgefox.edu/GoogleScholar).

Why Search Here?
Recommended database for all those researching topics related to kinesiology, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and biomedical engineering.

What's Included?
Contains abstracted and indexed articles from over 600 journals, over 400 of them peer reviewed. Full text available via links to George Fox library holdings or by ILL request.

Why Search Here?
This is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Users can limit a search by psychology-related categories, including age group, methodology, classification codes and population groups.

What's Included?
Indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present.