American Cinematographer: Indexed in Art Full Text; GFU Library holdings, 2002 to present.
The official publication of the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC). Each issue contains articles on the art of film production.
Film Comment: Indexed in Academic Search Premier & MasterFile; GFU Library holdings, 1990 to present (holdings incomplete)
Articles discuss such topics as film history, major U.S. actors and directors, and new mainstream and independent productions.
Journal of Film and Video: Indexed in Art Full Text & Communication and Mass Media Complete; GFU Library holdings, 1990 to 2012 (holdings incomplete)
Features scholarship on the history, aesthetics, and criticism of film.
Cinema Journal Indexed in Academic Search Premier, and Art Full Text
Published under the auspices of the Society of Cinema Studies, each quarterly issue features scholarly articles on the history and aesthetics of film.
Convergence: The Journal of Research into New Media Technologies: Indexed in Sage Premier.
A peer-reviewed journal. The articles address the creative, social, political, and pedagogical issues raised by the advent of new media technologies. Topics in recent articles include: video games, mobile media/content, Internet studies, digital/new media art, virtual reality, new media products, cinema, and gender and technology.
Digital Creativity: Indexed in Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete, & Taylor & Francis Social Sciences and Humanities Collection
A peer-reviewed journal devoted to the creative arts and digital technologies. Articles may be of interest to those persons involved in the task of making or using software for creative purposes, and involves such subjects as fine arts, graphic design, illustration, photography, printmaking, sculpture, 3D design, product design, textile and fashion design, film making, animation, games design, music, dance, drama, creative writing, and more.
Film Criticism: Indexed in Academic Search Premier, Art Full Text, Communication and Mass Media Complete, & Music Periodicals Database
An academic journal dealing with the theoretical and aesthetic aspects of cinema.
Film Culture: Indexed in Communication and Mass Media Complete.
A journal devoted to avant-garde, independent, and experimental film. Ceased publication in 1996
Film History: Indexed in Academic Search Premier, Art Full Text, Communication & Mass Media Complete, and Music Periodicals Database
A journal devoted to cinematic history; articles written by European scholars.
Film Journal International: Indexed in Academic OneFile, Art Full Text, and MasterFile Premier
This publication is a great source for industry news, box office data, production updates, and technical information on new technologies.
Film Quarterly: Indexed in JSTOR Arts & Sciences III Archive Collection (1958 - 2007)
Provides lengthy film reviews and interviews with major figures in the film industry.
Journal of Popular Film and Television: Indexed in Academic Search Premier and Communication & Mass Media Complete
A scholarly journal which discusses U.S. popular movies from a variety of socio-cultural perspectives.
Literature Film Quarterly: Indexed in Academic OneFile, Academic Search Premier, and Communication & Mass Media Complete
The focus of this publication is on the problems of adapting and transforming fiction and drama into film. Artlcles have covered film genre, film theory, and film criticism, and has featured interviews with directors and screenwriters.
New Media and society: Indexed in Sage Premier
An international journal providing an interdisciplinary forum for the examination of the social dynamics of media and information change. Topics have included the digitial divide and digital storytelling.
New Review of Film and Television Studies (Online): Indexed in MLA International Bibliography
One of the leading media studies journals, New Review of Film and Television Studies publishes peer-reviewed research on the theory, history, aesthetics, and politics of expressive screen culture.
Screen International: Indexed in LexisNexis
A film magazine covering the international film business. It is published by Media Business Insight, a British B2B media company.
The magazine is primarily aimed at those involved in the global film business. The magazine in its current form was founded in 1975, and its website, Screendaily.com, was added in 2001.
Sight and Sound: Indexed in Art Full Text
A monthly publication of the British Film Institute (BFI), and features articles on new releases, and retrospectives of film directors, and film history.
Variety: Indexed in Academic OneFile, Business & Company Resource Center, and LexisNexisAcademic
Articles provide information on the entertainment business, especially film, television, and theatre. Reviews of film, television, and the theatre are included.
Visual Communication: Indexed in Sage Premium
An interdisciplinary, scholarly journal addressing topics in the areas of anthropology, communication studies, media and cultural studies, and more. Article topics include moving and still images and the role of the visual in relation to language, music, sound and action.
These titles are available on the open Web.