It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever 2009 by Jim Craddock (Editor)Reviews movies that are available on DVD or tape. Each entry includes title, alternate title, one-to four-bone rating, year released, MPAA rating, brief review, length, format, country of origin, cast, technical personnel, awards and made-for-television/cable/video designations.
The International Film Business by Angus FinneyThe International Film Businessexamines the independent film sector as a business, and addresses the specific skills and knowledge it demands. It describes both the present state of the industry, the significant digital and social media developments that are continuing to take place, and what changes these might effect. The International Film Business: describes and analyses the present structure of the film industry as a business, with a specific focus on the film value chain discusses and analyses current digital technology and how it potentially may change the structure and opportunities offered by the industry in the future provides information and advice on the different business and management skills and strategies includes case studies on a variety of films including The Guard(2011), The King's Speech(2010), The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel(2012), Cloverfield (2008), Pobby & Dingan (aka Opal Dream, 2005), Confessions of a Dangerous Mind (2002), The Reckoning(2002)and The Mother (2003), and company case studies on Pixar, Renaissance, Redbus and Zentropa. Further case studies on films that failed to go into production include Neil LaBute's Vaporand Terry Gilliam's Good Omens. Taking an entrepreneurial perspective on what future opportunities will be available to prepared and informed students and emerging practitioners, this text includes case studies that take students through the successes and failures of a variety of real film companies and projects and features exclusive interviews with leading practitioners in all sectors of the industry, from production to exhibition.
Publication Date: 2014-10-10
Physical Library Books through Primo
65 Years of the Oscar by Robert Osborne"Of all the thousands of achievement awards presented each year, none captures the world's imagination in the same compelling way as the Oscar. What other public ritual is more eagerly witnessed yearly by such vast numbers of devotees as Hollywood's Academy Awards ceremony? What other medium is so central a mythmaker for modern man, so prolific a source of powerful images and icons? Loved by audiences everywhere, the movies are exuberantly celebrated here by the glittering Oscar. Created in 1927 by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences as its award for artistic distinction in filmmaking, the Oscar promotes excellence by recognizing it publicly." "This new edition - expanded and updated - is the official history of the Academy Awards - right up to those given in 1992, their sixty-fifth year. And because of the Academy's exceptional historical and pictorial archives, this book is unrivaled in illustration, accuracy, and completeness." "This book opens with a history of the founding of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, details the organization's aims, and covers the background of the establishment of these highly coveted awards. The rest of the book is divided into decades, with lively introductions that present accomplishments, evaluate trends, track new developments, and capture the thrills of the film industry's most significant and popular event." "Beginning with the very first awards in 1928, Robert Osborne sets the scene for each subsequent year's award ceremony by presenting the range of movies in competition, highlighting the speculation on possible winners, and describing the staging and memorable moments of the evening's events. Each year is then brought to a close by a complete listing of all the Oscar nominations (and the winners!) in not only the familiar categories of best picture, actor, actress, supporting actor and actress, direction, film editing, music, costumes, special effects, short subjects - but in all of the many more specialized categories that have been added, or dropped, over the years." "Each year is handsomely illustrated with evocative stills from many of the best films and candid shots of the stellar participants in the grand ceremony. Altogether, the book is illustrated with some 600 rare photographs in black and white and color, and it even includes all of the original movie posters for every year's best picture. With illustrations that are themselves worth the price of the book, this is an unparalleled reference volume for the film buff and scholar and an invaluable resource that comes right from the source."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
The Film Encyclopedia by Ephraim Katz"Ephraim Katz's The Film Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia on film and is considered the undisputed Bible of the movie industry. With up-to-date additions, this fifth edition features more than 8,000 A-Z entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of moviemaking. Unrivaled in its scope, The Film Encyclopedia is the indispensable film book for moviegoers, students, critics, and everyone associated with the art and craft of motion pictures."--BOOK JACKET.
Call Number: PN1993.45 .K34 2005
Publication Date: 2005
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers by Tom Pendergast (Editor); Sara Pendergast (Editor)This comprehensive resource provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers through the spring of 2000. Entrants include legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies. This 4th edition includes more than 260 new entries and more than 200 updated entries. Includes more than 1,600 photographs.
Publication Date: 2000-12-12
The International Film Industry by Anthony SlideThis is an ambitious, historical What's What (rather than Who's Who) of world film, an admirable, similarly formatted companion to Slide's The American Film Industry. . . . The entries are succinct and sturdily written, many with bibliographies. Information is generally accurate, with a few omissio
Call Number: PN1993.45 .S57 1989
Publication Date: 1989-03-27
World Cinema by John Hill (Editor); Pamela Church Gibson (Editor); Richard Dyer (Editor); E. Ann Kaplan (Editor); Paul Willemen (Editor)'The contributors supply skilful overviews of the major critical approaches' Sight and Sound May 1998 international coverage ranges from pre-1930s Europe to contemporary 'Bollywood' musicals first class range of contributors from North America, Europe, Australia and Asia many chapters specially commissioned emphasis throughout on critical concepts, methods and debates learning aids include chapter summaries, critiques of individual films and further reading This text is an ideal course companion for undergraduate students studying film, media studies, cultural studies and literary theory. It is especially relevant to 2nd and 3rd year students taking options in World cinema, European cinema, and the impact of changing technologies.
Call Number: PN1994 .W6675 2000
Publication Date: 2000-02-17
Hollywood Is Everywhere by Melis BehlilHollywood has a long tradition of bringing in emigre directors from around the world, dating back to the silent era. And today, as the film industry is ever more global, the people who make blockbuster movies reflect that, hailing from many countries across the world. But that fact hides a fundamental difference, one that Melis Behlil examines in Hollywood is Everywhere: today's Hollywood studios are themselves transnational, with ownership structures and financial arrangements that stretch far beyond the borders of the United States. Seen in that context, today's international directors are less analogous to the emigre talent of the past than to ordinary transnational employees of other major global corporations.