Find & Request Physical GFU Library Materials: 1 min. 22 sec.
Find Physical Items in GFU Libraries
Find Print Books and Other Physical Items in the GFU Libraries
To search for GFU print books, videos, and other physical items:
- Go to the Library home page
- Add your search terms and click the gold Search button to run the search
The initial Primo search returns physical items along with online materials.
To limit to physical items from GFU libraries, such as print books, DVDs and print journals, look at the left side of the search results under the Availability heading and click the link "Physical Items in GFU Libraries"
Next, narrow by Resource Type such as print books from the left sidebar by clicking the link to Print Books, DVD Videos, Journals, etc.
A Primo Advanced Search allows for more nuanced searching, and limiting by material type, language, and more. Circulation Period: GFU books circulate to students for a four-week period, with up to two renewals. Most DVDs check out for one week.
Ex. Print Books (Click Title for Details, Click "Get It" to Request
-
Contemporary Psychotherapies for a Diverse World by Publication Date: 2012-02-06"This is the first book of its kind to cover the standard counseling theories and integrate multiculturalism into every theory chapter. In addition, every theory chapter is authored by an expert with experience applying individual therapies to a diverse range of clients. Along with traditional theories, the text includes chapters on reality therapy, feminist therapy, and narrative therapy"-- Provided by publisher. -
Interviewing for Solutions by ISBN: 111172220XPublication Date: 2012-02-10Publisher Synopsis: A clear description and actual teaching of a model that truly supports strengths-based, collaborative practice. It is neither over-simplified nor ideological. This text is essential to teaching these methods to students/learners. -
A Primer of Adlerian Psychology by Publication Date: Brunner/Mazel, c1999"A Primer of Adlerian Psychology offers an accessible, yet very learned, introduction to this school of thought. Written by two scholars with extensive knowledge and experience in Adlerian Psychology, this book covers the basic tenets of Individual Psychology geared toward those students and clinicians who are as yet unfamiliar with Adler's work. It provides a source from which the reader can evaluate Adler's theories and where those theories stand today."--BOOK JACKET. -
Choice Theory by Publication Date: HarperPerennial, 1999"In this text, Dr Glasser shows that improving interpersonal relationships requires a complete overhaul of traditional psychology. He offers "Choice Theory", a psychology for bringing people together, based on the notion that the only behaviour we can control is our own." -
Common Factors in Couple and Family Therapy by Publication Date: 2009What is responsible for therapeutic change? : two paradigms -- A brief history of common factors -- Common factors unique to couple and family therapy -- The big-picture view of common factors -- A moderate view of common factors... -
Clinical Manual of Couples and Family Therapy by Publication Date: 2009Summay: Studies have proven that involving the family in psychiatric care is efficacious, and yet many clinicians lack the specific skills to do this. This title outlines evidence-based family therapy skills, and also reestablishes the role of the psychiatrist as the leader of the team of professionals providing mental health care to patients in need. -
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy by Publication Date: 2015-03-26
GFU Books & More For Research Topics
This box contains links to specific searches from our GFU Library catalog using the Primo search box. The results include print & e-books as well as DVDs and streaming videos.
(Note: the asterisk(*) after the letter L in Counsel brings back results with up to five additional letters. In this case, the terms counsel, counseling, counseled, counselor, will all be returned in search results.)
-
"Solution Focused" Counsel*Link to resources from the GFU library searching the terms Solution Focused And Counsel*
-
"Narrative Therapy" Counsel*Link to resources from the GFU library searching "Narrative therapy" And Counsel*
-
"Choice Theory" or "Reality Therapy" And Counsel*Link to resources from the GFU library searching "Choice Theory" or "Reality Therapy" And Counsel*
-
Adlerian Counsel*Link to resources from the GFU library searching the terms Adlerian And Counsel*
-
"Cognitive Behavioral" Counsel*Link to resources from the GFU library searching the terms "Cognitive Behavioral" And Counsel*
Find Ebooks at George Fox Library: 2 min. 8 sec.
Find & Access GFU Ebooks
E-books and other online materials in Primo are immediately available to GFU students and staff.
To find GFU e-books:
- Go to the Library home page
- Add your search terms and click the gold Search button to run the search
On the Primo search results page look to the left under the Resource Type heading
Choose the eBooks link to limit results to eBooks only (click "Show More" if eBooks are not showing)
Next:
- Click the Online access or title link for information about the book
- Click the link after "Full text available at:" to view the ebook
- Sign in if prompted
Another option is to search for GFU ebooks from the Primo Advanced Search page. Add your search terms, set Material Type: eBooks, Search Scope: GFU and click Search. - Visit our Library E-books page with info on major GFU Library e-book vendors.
E-books
-
Contemporary Psychotherapies for a Diverse World by Publication Date: Taylor & Francis, 2012"This unique text is the first to provide an introduction to the theory and practice of the major theories of psychotherapy and, at the same time, illustrate how these approaches are dealing with the ever-increasing diversity of today's clients. Frew and Spiegler have assembled the leading contemporary authorities on each theory to offer an insider's perspective that includes exposure to the style and language used by adherents of the approach, which is not available in any other text."
Electronic Books (E-Books) - Link to access info on types of GFU Library e-books.
-
Rebuilding Shattered Lives: Treating Complex PTSD and Dissociative Disorders by Publication Date: 2011Summary: Children, adolescents, and adults who experience "developmentally adverse interpersonal trauma are at risk not only for posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) but also for other anxiety, affective, addictive, conduct, eating, psychotic personality disorders, as well as for retraumatization. Now in an updated Second Edition , this book describes the theoretical constructs of how complex trauma-related clinical syndromes evolve and present in adult patients, integrating theories concerning posttraumatic stress disorder, dissociation and personality development. -
Counselling in Transcultural Settings by ISBN: 1446200671Publication Date: 2012-12-06The only authored, pedagogical textbook to address the range of transcultural issues in therapy; Patricia D'Ardenne draws on over 40 years of experience to explore ethnic, linguistic, religious, economic, political and environmental difference and give practical advice on how to work effectively in a world on the move. -
Cognitive and Neuroscientific Aspects of Human Love: A Guide for Marriage and Couples Counseling by Publication Date: 2010Contents: Foundations and basic concepts -- Theories of counseling and couples counseling -- Love, loving and romance -- Analytics: individual issues -- Analytics: individual issues -- Analytics: relationship analysis -- The past -- The individual and the couple -- The couple and the individual -- The couple in the world -- When the individual impacts the relationship -- When the relationship impacts the individual -- Relationship skills -- Relationship in the new millennium -- When your client seeks your help -- Ethics and professionalism. -
Systems of Psychotherapy: dialectical tensions and integration by Publication Date: 2011-01-01
GFU E-Books: Couples Therapy, Marital & Family therapy
Visit our Library E-books page with info on major GFU Library e-book vendors - In addition, use the links to guides below to learn how to use our two largest vendors of e-books for downloading, printing, note taking and more.
ProQuest Ebook Central Ebooks: http://libguides.georgefox.edu/EbookCentral
Ebsco Academic E-books http://libguides.georgefox.edu/EBSCOebooks
Sample E-books & E-books being used for coursework in GCEP 500:
-
Basic Family Therapy by Publication Date: 2013-09-10The challenge facing the authors of texts that address the multiplicity and complexity of problems that may afflict families can be intimidating. Philip Barker has addressed this challenge head-on in each of the editions of this book. This task has been greatly facilitated by the contributions of the new co-author, Jeff Chang, and in this edition provides a clear, easily read and readily understandable introduction to family therapy. -
Diversity in Couple and Family Therapy: Ethnicities, Sexualities, and Socioeconomics by Publication Date: 2017This unprecedented volume provides a primer on diverse couples and families--one of the most numerous and fastest-growing populations in the United States--illustrating the unique challenges they face to thrive in various cultural and social surroundings. * Offers an examination of a broader-than-typical array of diverse families and the challenges they face . -
Marriage and Family Therapy, 2nd Ed. by Publication Date: 2018-12-01This text provides students of family therapy with a unique opportunity to understand and compare the inner workings of 14 traditional and non-traditional family therapy models. -
Spiritual Resources in Family Therapy, Second Edition by Publication Date: 2008-12-04Exploring the role of spirituality in couple and family relationships, this successful text and practitioner guide illustrates ways to tap spiritual resources for coping, healing, and resilience.
-
Chapter 1 - Religion, Spirituality, and the Family Multi-faith PerspectivesWalsh, F. (2009). Religion, spirituality, and the family: Multifaith perspectives. In F. Walsh (Ed.), Spiritual resources in family therapy (p. 3–30).
-
Quick Theory Reference Guide: A Resource of Expert and Novice Mental Health Professionals by Publication Date: 2008-01-01Theories in counseling, psychotherapy, and family therapy -- Psychoanalytic theory and therapy -- Adlerian psychotherapy -- Jungian theory and therapy -- Existential psychotherapy: philosophy and practice -- Client centered therapy and the person-centered approach -- Gestalt therapy -- Behavior therapy: a foundational overview -- Rational emotive behavior therapy -- Acceptance and commitment therapy and the third generation of cognitive behavior therapy... -
Chapter 27 Family-School Intervention by Fine, M. J. found in Integrating Family Therapy by Publication Date: 1995-05-01Title link above is to the PDF full text of chapter 27 by Fine, M.J. -
Introduction to Family Therapy: systemic theory and practice by Publication Date: Open University Press, 2010. 3rd ed.Summary: "The third edition of An Introduction to Family Therapy provides an overview of the core concepts informing family therapy and systemic practice, covering the development of this innovative field from the 1950s to the present day. The book considers both British and International perspectives and includes the latest developments in current practice, regulation and innovation, looking at these developments within a wider political, cultural and geographical context." -
Strengthening Family Resilience, Third Edition by Publication Date: 2015-10-22In this widely used course text and practitioner resource, Froma Walsh provides a state-of-the-art framework for understanding resilience in families and how to foster it. Illuminating the complex interplay of biopsychosocial influences in risk and resilience, she identifies key transactional processes that enable struggling families to grow stronger and more resourceful. Case illustrations demonstrate Walsh's collaborative approach with diverse families facing a wide range of crisis situations and chronic multistress challenges. -
Couple and family therapy: An integrative map of the territory by Publication Date: 2014Summary: "When selecting treatment for their clients, couple and family therapists are faced with a bewildering array of competing models. On closer inspection, the most effective of these approaches share common elements. This book surveys the state of the science and practice of today's couple and family therapy, looking beyond single models of treatment to instead present an integrative view of the field and its methods of practice." -
Mindfulness and Acceptance in Couple and Family Therapy by Publication Date: New York : Springer, c2012.Summary: This book reviews the research and philosophical foundations for using mindfulness, acceptance and Buddhist psychology in couple and family therapy, and advises on applying them in practice in therapeutic relationships, treatment planning and intervention. -
The Couples Psychotherapy Treatment Planner by Publication Date: Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2011. 2nd EditionSummary: "Fully updated and revised, this book contains treatment plan components for forty behaviorally based presenting problems including jealousy, midlife crisis, parenting conflicts, and sexual dysfunction." -
The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling by Publication Date: 2015This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly and efficiently update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam. -
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy by Publication Date: 2015-03-26
