Key Databases
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking for literature in sociology or social work. This is the authoritative platform for sociology and includes leading social work journals.What's Included?
Articles from over 3000 journals, most of which are peer-reviewed. - Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You need to find literature in anthropology, criminology, economics, international relations, political science, public policy, social work, or sociology. Especially useful if your topic falls under more than one of those topics.What's Included?
Abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the fields of politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education - Google Scholar (Find it @ George Fox) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to run an efficient, interdisciplinary search of academic literature across the web. Scholar integrates with other academic resources and citation tools.What's Included?
Freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across a wide array of publishing formats and disciplines. This link includes the setting to connect search results to George Fox holdings (Find it @ George Fox links).
Learn more in our Google Scholar guide. (https://libguides.georgefox.edu/GoogleScholar).
NASW Journals
- Children & Schools
Articles on innovations in practice, interdisciplinary efforts, research, program evaluation, policy, and planning. Topics include student-authority relationships, multiculturalism, early intervention, needs assessment, violence, and ADHD. - Health & Social Work
Covers aging, clinical work, long-term care, oncology, substance abuse, depression, maternal health, etc. - Social Work
Explores established practices, new techniques and research, current social problems and problems in the profession. Emphasis is placed on social policy and the solutions to serious human problems. - Social Work Research
Includes analytic reviews of research, theoretical articles pertaining to social work research, evaluation studies, and diverse research studies that contribute to knowledge about social work issues and problems.
Research Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This resource searches collections included in other EBSCO databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider ProQuest Central or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from over 13,000 journals and supplementary resources like monographs, reports, and conference proceedings across, science, social science, and the humanities. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Users can limit a search by psychology-related categories, including age group, methodology, classification codes and population groups.What's Included?
Indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present.
- CINAHL with Full TextIndexing for almost 3,000 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health, with full text for more than 600.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This is the broadest database we offer to search explicitly on education topics across grades and educator roles. Particularly useful for the additional indexing and description of its contents.What's Included?
Provides access to research journal articles, trade and professional publications, monographs, conference papers, and more. Includes most, but not all of the journals indexed in ERIC.