Randomized Control Trials
Limit your search to "Randomized Control Trials" in the following databases:
MeSH Headings
Use "Medical Subject Headings" (MeSH) to focus your searching.
CINAHL: Basic Searching (3:13)
Advanced Searching in CINAHL (3:45)
Overview of advanced searching in EBSCO's CINAHL database.
Sample Searches
The following searches were completed through the library's Primo system, PubMed, or other subject-specific databases (such as EBSCO's CINAHL with Full Text, Cochrane Systematic Reviews, SportDiscus with Full Text).
- Evidence Based Rehabiliation of Hamstring InjuriesAdvanced Search in GFU Primo
- Treatment for muscle cramps in soccer and football athletesAdvanced search in GFU Primo system. Scope = Articles
- Rehabilitation for athletes with muscle crampsEBSCO Articles. Used the "Choose Databases" option to select specific databases: Academic Search Premier, CINAHL with full text, Medline, and SportDiscus with Full Text.
- Management of pain in sports-related injuriesEBSCO Articles, used the "Choose Databases" option to select specific databases: Academic Search Premier, CINAHL with full text, Medline, and SportDiscus with full text. Limited results by peer-reviewed publications, and by date (2005-2015).
Top Allied Health Databases
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexing for almost 3,000 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health, with full text for more than 600.
- Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new windowCovers the effects of healthcare, conduct of controlled trials, cost and the effects of drugs, treatments and procedures.
- MedlineCovers the literature of biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences. 1949 to the present.
- Proquest Nursing and Allied Health SourceHealthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Search hundreds of journals and thousands of dissertations.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFrom the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes MEDLINE and related databases. Over 18 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed may link to content to which the GFU library does not provide access. Please contact a librarian if you need assistance.
- SportDiscus with Full TextCovers biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology,coaching & education, and sports medicine.
How to Format a PICO Question/Statement Tutorial
This tutorial provides an animated overview on the process for formatting a PICO question/statement. Also, watch the video below on using PubMed (through the George Fox University library) to format PICO-based search strategies.
Searching a PICO in CINAHL
Watch this 6 minute, 25 second video tutorial on how to format your PICO into an effective search in the CINAHL database. Close captioning is available.