Key Databases
- Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window The Encyclopedia of Social Work is an online, trusted reference work for social workers published by the NASW and OUP. Articles cover all aspects of social work practice.
- ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Covers politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window SocINDEX is the authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. Indexing covers leading social work journals.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window This APA resource is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present.
Additional Databases
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Features include: Search all scholarly literature from one convenient place; Explore related works, citations, authors, and publications; Locate the complete document through your library or on the web; Keep up with recent developments in any area of research; Check who's citing your publications, create a public author profile.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window From the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes MEDLINE and related databases. Over 18 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed may link to content we don't have online access to; please contact a librarian if you need assistance.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window Covers a variety of topics ranging from early childhood to higher education, including specialities such as multilingual education and testing. Provides access to research journal articles, trade and professional publications, monographs, conference papers, and more. Popular database.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL with Full Text is an authoritative index of nursing and allied health literature. Subject headings follow the structure of MeSH and provide additional specificity, making it a great choice for searching nursing and physical therapy literature.
- Statista This link opens in a new window Research tool providing access to quantitative data, statistics and related information. Tons of great graphs, charts and infographics. Popular database.
Overview
Welcome to your SWKG 685 Children's Issues course guide!
The tabs above will guide and direct in providing resources for your course and general research needs. I am happy to assist with your research needs, whether it's determining appropriate sources to consult, help with focusing your topic, database searches, tracking down those "hard to find" references and resources, and/or overall research strategy.
You may find additional resources not listed in the course guide by going to the Social Work Subject Guide.
The Social Work Student's Guide to Research Handbook (2nd ed.) may also be a useful resource.
Video - An Intro to the George Fox Library Website (2:37)
Child Abuse Cases in U.S by Race/Ethnicity in 2013
Reference Citation: US Department of Health and Human Services, & Administration for Children & Families. (n.d.). Child abuse rate in the U.S. in 2013, by race/ethnicity of the victim. In Statista - The Statistics Portal. Retrieved January 25, 2016, from http://www.statista.com/statistics/254857/child-abuse-rate-in-the-us-by-race-ethnicity/.
Poverty Rate in the United States, 1990 to 2014
Reference Citation: US Census Bureau. (n.d.). Poverty rate in the United States from 1990 to 2014. In Statista - The Statistics Portal. Retrieved January 25, 2016, from http://www.statista.com/statistics/200463/us-poverty-rate-since-1990/.
