It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View the 1 minute "Choosing EBSCO Databases" video on the left to learn how to search our databases below simultaneously (after deselecting boxes, select the Education Source and ERIC databases). If your topic has a psychology focus, e.g., school shootings AND trauma, you may want to consider also adding APAPsycInfo and APAPsycArticles databases.
Reminder: Click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box before starting your search. Find the box in the EBSCO interface under Search Options > Limit your results.
Covers a variety of topics ranging from early childhood to higher education, including specialities such as multilingual education and testing. Provides access to research journal articles, trade and professional publications, monographs, conference papers, and more. Popular database.
A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, from 1966 to the present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, theses, curricula, etc. Now contains full-text ERIC documents.
This link enables the simultaneous searching of all EBSCO databases. This can be helpful when a topic is not related to just one discipline. An example could be a topic on classroom behavior in which some articles may be published in Education databases and others in Psychology databases.
Use this link to have Google Scholar recognize you as a George Fox user, and link you to our full text subscriptions. Google Scholar indexes a broad array of scholarly literature and can be useful for citation counts (article importance/impact) and is helpful in learning what terminology is being used in the published literature.
Another option for using Google Scholar to connect to library databases is listed below.
Link your Google account to the George Fox Library, so the “Find it at George Fox U” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from our link.
To configure your settings manually, try the following steps:
1. Go to https://scholar.google.com/
2. Click the three lines in the top left corner.
3. Click "Settings".
4. Click "Library Links".
5. Search for George Fox University. Check the “George Fox University - Find it at George Fox U” box.
6. Save your settings.
You can now continue to search and should see the Find it at George Fox U links next to articles we have access to. You may also try clicking the article title directly and if we have access may be taken to the full text article on the publisher's site.
Video - How to Search by Journal Title 1 min.14 sec.
Examples: Research Methods Articles - Qualitative, Quantitative & Mixed
The TASH Inclusive Education National Committee responded to Horner and Dunlap’s call to ensure that future research integrates inclusive values with strong science by developing an inclusive education national research advocacy agenda. Qualitative methods were implemented to answer three questions: (a) What is the state of inclusive education research? (b) What research still must be done? and (c) What are recommendations for a national inclusive education research advocacy agenda? The findings include 15 areas organized within three domains advocating for continued research across systems-level capacity building, building and classroom capacity, and student learning and development. Implications for research and policy reform are discussed.
Purpose: Improving urban schools of color and the communities where they are located requires leadership that spans school and community boundaries. The purpose of this study is to understand how principal and community leader actions support urban school reform along with community development at two community schools in the urban Midwest and Southeast. Research Method: Using a cross-case study design, this research draws on interviews, school-community observations, and document analysis. (Click the "check for full text" link on the left sidebar to be taken to the full text article.)
This study surveys graduates of a west-coast university regarding their perception of how well their graduate degree programs prepared them to meet the challenge of leading for learning in the digital age, particularly in the areas of visionary leadership, student learning, organizational management, working with diverse families, ethics, and the social and legal aspects of using technology and learning networks. A two-phase mixed-methods research plan including phase-one surveys to collect data from alumni of the principal preparation masters and doctoral programs and phase-two face-to-face interviews of sitting principals was initiated. (Scroll to see the full text available from ERIC link and click to be taken to the PDF on the ERIC site.)
Quantitative research studies examining the effects of literacy instruction set in social studies classrooms (grades 6-12) on students' academic content learning and reading comprehension are synthesized using meta-analytic techniques. An extensive search of the scholarly literature between 1983 and 2013 yielded a total of twelve intervention studies that provided literacy instruction to secondary students within social studies classes and quantitatively measured content learning outcomes, reading comprehension, or both. Findings revealed that content learning outcomes were consistently improved with instruction that included text-processing activities such as summarizing and generating questions...
Starting with the premise that better assessment leads to more informed decisions about student learning, we investigated the factors that lead to assessment improvement. We used 'meta-assessment' (i.e., evaluating the assessment process) to identify academic programs in which the assessment process had improved over a two-year period. The use of both quantitative and qualitative methods allowed us to understand the factors leading to assessment improvement better. Through these efforts, we discovered that a program's assessment environment and use of resources were the predominant factors leading to improvement. One resource in particular, assessment consultation, was the most cited reason for improved assessment.