It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Add your search terms and click the gold Search button to run the search
On the Primo search results page look to the left under the Resource Type heading
Choose the eBooks link to limit results to eBooks only (click "Show More" if eBooks are not showing)
Click the Online access or title link for information about the book
Click the link after "Full text available at:" to view the ebook
Sign in if prompted
Another option is to search for GFU ebooks from the Primo Advanced Search page. Add your search terms, set Material Type: eBooks, Search Scope: GFU and click Search. - Visit ourLibrary E-books page with info on major GFU Library e-book vendors.
Biomechanics Books & Ebooks
Find hundreds of print and electronics books on Biomechanics in GFU Primo.
Large cross-disciplinary reference work which covers the many interlinked facets of the science and technology of human motion and its measurement. Individual chapters cover fundamental principles and technological developments, the state-of-the-art and consider applications across four broad and interconnected fields; medicine, sport, forensics and animation.
Introduction to Tissue Engineering: applications and challenges by Ravi BirlaComprehensive reference and teaching aid on tissue engineering, covering everything from the basics of regenerative medicine to more advanced and forward thinking topics such as the artificial liver, bladder, and trachea Section-coverage includes an overall introduction of tissue engineering; enabling and supporting technologies; clinical applications; and case studies and future challenges.
Publication Date: 2014
Mechanobiology: exploitation for medical benefit by Simon RawlinsonAn emerging field at the interface of biology and engineering, mechanobiology explores the mechanisms by which cells sense and respond to mechanical signals--and holds great promise in one day unravelling the mysteries of cellular and extracellular matrix mechanics to cure a broad range of diseases. Mechanobiology: Exploitation for Medical Benefit presents a comprehensive overview of principles of mechanobiology, highlighting the extent to which biological tissues are exposed to the mechanical environment, demonstrating the importance of the mechanical environment in living systems, and critically reviewing the latest experimental procedures in this emerging field. Featuring contributions from several top experts in the field, chapters begin with an introduction to fundamental mechanobiological principles; and then proceed to explore the relationship of this extensive force in nature to tissues of musculoskeletal systems, heart and lung vasculature, the kidney glomerulus, and cutaneous tissues. Examples of some current experimental models are presented conveying relevant aspects of mechanobiology, highlighting emerging trends and promising avenues of research in the development of innovative therapies. Timely and important, Mechanobiology: Exploitation for Medical Benefit offers illuminating insights into an emerging field that has the potential to revolutionise our comprehension of appropriate cell biology and the future of biomedical research.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2017
Routledge Handbook of Ergonomics in Sport and Exercise by Youlian Hong (Editor)Ergonomics is concerned with the fit between people and their work. With an increasing number of people becoming conscious about their health and participating in sport or physical activity, ergonomics has become an increasingly prominent concern within the sport and exercise sciences. From the design of footwear and artificial playing surfaces, to studies of proprioception by obese children , the way in which people interact with their environment - designed and natural ¿ has important implications for performance sport and for the design of safe and beneficial forms of physical activity. The Routledge Handbook of Ergonomics in Sport and Exercise is the first book to offer a comprehensive and in-depth survey of cutting-edge scientific research into ergonomics in sport and exercise. Written by world-leading international scientists and researchers, the book explores key topics such as: musculoskeletal adaptation to sports and exercise environmental factors of injury and fatigue load weight and performance ergonomics in adapted sports and exercise measurement in sports and exercise modelling and simulation in ergonomics design influence of playing surface, footwear and equipment design. Bridging the gap between fundamental scientific research in sport and exercise and applications in sport and exercise contexts, this is an important reference for all advanced students, researchers and professionals working in sport and exercise science, kinesiology, sports technology, sports engineering, ergonomics, and product design.
Biomechanical Basis of Human Movement by T. Derrick; J. Hamill; K. KnutzenFocusing on the quantitative nature of biomechanics, Biomechanical Basis of Movement, Fourth Edition integrates current literature, meaningful numerical examples, relevant applications, hands-on exercises, and functional anatomy, physics, calculus, and physiology to help students%regardless of their mathematical background% understand the full continuum of human movement potential. Unique in the market for its combination of rigor, readability, and evidence-based information, the book focuses on the movement of muscle groups rather than individual muscles to provide students with a holistic understanding of human movement. This Fourth Edition features a new problem generator for instructors, which randomly generates an unlimited number of numerical problems for student practice, and free MaxTRAQ motion analysis software that shows biomechanics in action and allows students to track data and analyze motion in a in a dynamic, video-enriched online environment.
Call Number: QP303 .H354 2015 (Newberg)
Publication Date: 2015
The Rules of Work: a practical engineering guide to ergonomics by Dan MacLeodThe experience of the past decade since the publication of the first edition of The Rules of Work: A Practical Engineering Guide to Ergonomics proves just how central ergonomics is for effective production. Revised and updated to reflect new insights from workplace developments, the second edition continues the tradition of providing essential tools for implementing good ergonomics in a way that simultaneously improves both productivity and safety. What#65533;s New in the Second Edition: Updated examples and additional rules of thumb "How to" pages cover actions such as how to design a workstation Coverage of RULA, Strain Index, and TAPDA In short, the plan of the book is that Part I provides help on how to think and Part II help on how to measure. The non-quantitative materials come first, since creativity in the application of the principles and rules provides greater value. Based on 35 years of practical problem-solving in over 1,500 workplaces, the book provides a down-to-earth and practical guide for solving ergonomics problems. It provides a framework for evaluating tasks using low-tech, non-quantitative methods, along with an overview of the standard measuring systems for those occasions when numbers are needed.
Call Number: TA166 .M28 2013 (Newberg)
Publication Date: 2013
Human Walking by James G. Gamble (Editor); Jessica RoseThe definitive text on human gait is now in its Third Edition--thoroughly revised to reflect recent advances in the study of human locomotion and the clinical use of gait analysis. The book features contributions from leading experts in all the disciplines involved in the study, assessment, and treatment of gait disorders, including physical medicine and rehabilitation, orthopaedics, neurology, physical therapy, podiatry, kinesiology, and biomedical engineering. This edition's updated chapters have a greater focus on analysis of treatment outcomes. Five new chapters cover evolution of human walking; adaptation in pregnancy, aging, and alcoholism; walking for health; simulation of gait; and ten important take-home lessons about walking.