Find & Request Physical GFU Library Materials: 1 min. 22 sec.
Find Physical Items in GFU Libraries
Find Print Books and Other Physical Items in the GFU Libraries
To search for GFU print books, videos, and other physical items:
- Go to the Library home page
- Add your search terms and click the gold Search button to run the search
The initial Primo search returns physical items along with online materials.
To limit to physical items from GFU libraries, such as print books, DVDs and print journals, look at the left side of the search results under the Availability heading and click the link "Physical Items in GFU Libraries"
Next, narrow by Resource Type such as print books from the left sidebar by clicking the link to Print Books, DVD Videos, Journals, etc.
A Primo Advanced Search allows for more nuanced searching, and limiting by material type, language, and more. Circulation Period: GFU books circulate to students for a 12-week period, with up to two renewals. Most DVDs check out for one week.
Find & Access GFU Ebooks
E-books and other online materials in Primo are immediately available to GFU students and staff.
To find GFU e-books:
- Go to the Library home page
- Add your search terms and click the gold Search button to run the search
On the Primo search results page look to the left under the Resource Type heading
Choose the eBooks link to limit results to eBooks only (click "Show More" if eBooks are not showing)
Next:
- Click the Online access or title link for information about the book
- Click the link after "Full text available at:" to view the ebook
- Sign in if prompted
Another option is to search for GFU ebooks from the Primo Advanced Search page. Add your search terms, set Material Type: eBooks, Search Scope: GFU and click Search.
Dissertations
Dissertations are great sources of original research, in addition to the research-based journal literature. Some dissertations are available full text, while others are available only in print format and must be requested through interlibrary loan. The search link below will help you locate dissertations on your general topic of interest. Contact a librarian for more information on how to obtain dissertations for review.
Search for Dissertations in Primo. Some dissertations will be available as full text downloads, others may need to be requested through interlibrary loan. Ask a librarian for assistance!
Search for Dissertations in EBSCO Articles. Use the "Choose Databases" link to select a subject-specific database (i.e, PsycINFO). Limit search results to "dissertations" using the filter box on the left. Dissertations may be located by doing a title search in Google, or by requesting the item through interlibrary loan. Ask a librarian for assistance!
Search for Dissertations in Digital Commons. You can search either GFU only, or the whole network of Digital Commons. Ask a librarian for assistance!
Search for Dissertations in WorldCat. You will need to request these files through interlibrary loan, or search Google to see if they may be in a digital repository. Ask a librarian for assistance!
E-book Examples
Below are e-books from different GFU library vendors to help familiarize you with various e-book types.
Visit the GFU Library E-Books page to learn more.
Practicing Social Justice by
Examine new research and innovative programs targeted to serve vulnerable populations This collection highlights innovative programs and interventions targeted toward underserved, vulnerable, and marginalized populations, including the homeless, immigrants, refugees, female ex-offenders, people with developmental disabilities who are entering the criminal justice system, homicidal youth, and children whose parents are involved in high-conflict custody disputes. In addition, Practicing Social Justice raises critical questions on how society should justly provide for the economic well-being of our most valuable human asset--our children--with an incisive look at the Temporary Aid for Needy Families legislation and its long-term impact on disadvantaged children. This book also evaluates the Bridges Across Racial Polarization Programs(R) and explores a wide selection of important social justice issues that the social workers of today and tomorrow need to understand. Specifically, this well-referenced book: details the mission and guiding principles of the Emmet and Mary Doerr Center for Social Justice at the Saint Louis University School of Social Service, with a focus on the Center's innovative partnered approach examines nine models/theories of justice with varying philosophical, sectarian, and nonsectarian orientations illustrates innovative approaches to community economic development for previously neglected poor communities, including an inclusive community plan structured to bring about home ownership, macro-enterprises, and the accumulation of capital through savings documents the rise of homelessness in the state of Missouri--in spite of an unprecedented period of economic growth and general prosperity explores social justice concerns for immigrants and refugees entering the United States, with a focus on providing positive community commitment and response describes an empowering, strengths-based program that can help female ex-offenders to find and develop support from the community champions the social rights of people with developmental disabilities who are entering the criminal justice system proposes systemic reform for homicidal youth in terms of prevention, intervention, and remediation describes a program designed to provide a safe environment for the supervised visitation of children in high-conflict custody disputes, providing security for both parents and children advocates for innovative inpatient-staff participatory decision-making in mental health hospitals, offering an approach designed to increase patient control over decisions directly affecting their well-being and more
Publication Date: 2013
Welfare Theory and Development by
This collection provides a focal point for the study and analysis of welfare in developed societies. It comprises the key contributions that have been made to the understanding of welfare by leading theorists and researchers of social policy from the last century to the present day. It draws in particular on seminal articles and papers published in academic journals and major edited collections which have been important in underpinning both later academic study and policy development. A wide historical reach gives readers across the world access to a range of material that focuses on international and comparative analysis. Part One: Welfare Theory Part Two: The Development of Welfare Part Three: The Social Context of Welfare
Publication Date: 2011
Building Effective Social Work Teams by
How has social work changed over the years? What are some of the best social work teams doing differently to meet the complex practical and emotional needs of service users? What practical tools and approaches can social work managers implement with their teams? Dr. Judy Foster examines good social work practice and the supporting factors that are essential to underpin social work teams #65533; coherent policies; well-qualified and motivated staff; good management support structures; delegated autonomy and discretion for social workers; and mental space to allow reflective and creative problem solving. She illustrates the dilemmas and rewards of social work relationships through personal stories from her own career as a social worker, manager and teacher - and interviews with social workers and managers. These examples show the relationship between #65533;doing#65533; something for someone and #65533;being#65533; emotionally present to empower a service user to manage better. The book is intended to help social work managers improve the support environment for their teams #65533; and hence their effectiveness #65533; and to inform students and others in related professions interested in learning more about social work. It will also have a wide appeal to an international social work readership.
Publication Date: 2016
Social Work and Health Care in an Aging Society by
This book places significant issues related to the health, mental health, and well-being of older adults and their caregivers within the context of social work service delivery. By presenting the research of social work scholars, all experts in specific research areas, the editors clarify the value that social work brings to the larger realm of health care for older adults and their families. Special consideration is given to such issues as case management, urban, African-American elders, grandmothers raising grandchildren, aging persons with developmental disabilities, home health care, and more. For Further Information on Dr. Berkman, Please Click Here
Publication Date: 2003
On Being at Work by
Inspired by the work of the philosopher Judith Butler, influenced by Marx's theory of alienation and intrigued by theories of death, this book develops an anti-methodological approach to studying working lives. Distinctions are drawn between labour (the tasks we do in our jobs) and work (self-making activities that are carried out at the workplace): between the less than human, zombie-like laborer and the working human self. Nancy Harding argues that the experience of being at work is one in which the insistence on practising one's humanity always provides a counter-point to organisational demands.
Publication Date: 2013
Understanding Children's Personal Lives and Relationships by Publication Date: 2015
Youth Justice and Social Work by Publication Date: 2006
Print Books
Below is a sample of print titles available at the library. Some items are in the reference collection; others are available for check out.
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare by Call Number: Ref. HV40 .C635 2008Publication Date: 2008
Practicing Rights by
Social work Codes of Ethics of professional organizations around the world appeal to the concept of people having 'rights' that social workers need to respect and advocate for. However, it isn't always clear how social workers can actually incorporate human rights-based approaches in their practice, whether domestic or international. This book fills this gap by advancing rights-based approaches to social work. The first part gives an overview of the relationship between human rights and social work, and outlines a model for how rights-based approaches can be integrated into social work practice. The second part introduces the rights-based framework across five mainstream areas of practice - poverty, child welfare, older adults, health, and mental health. Each of these substantive chapters: introduces the area of practice and traditional social welfare interventions associated with it outlines relevant human rights frameworks explores case studies showcasing rights-based approaches presents practical implications for implementing rights-based social work practice. The book ends with a discussion of the limitations and criticisms of rights-based approaches and lays out some future directions for practice. This accessible text is designed for all those interested in learning how to introduce human rights-based interventions into their practice. It will be of particular use to social work students taking direct practice, macro practice, social policy, international social work and human rights courses as part of their program.
Call Number: RJ507 .F35 L54 2005Publication Date: 2015
The Practice of Social Work in North America by
Kip Coggins offers a fresh perspective on social work as he discusses practices in Canada and the United States. This is the first book to discuss the skills and insights necessary for practicing social work in either country. The Practice of Social Work in North America provides readers witha thorough and sensitive look at the historical, cultural, and environmental contexts of social work practice with individuals, groups, and in larger settings. The book includes in-depth presentations of the theories upon which social work practice is based, but encourages readers to continuouslyevaluate the application of these approaches in light of evolving practice issues. Alternative views and voices-including those of minority populations, Indigenous Peoples, and socially diverse groups-further social work knowledge and skill development to reflect contemporary social change. This is a book that students will use throughout their education and careers-from introduction, to field practicum, to their first years as a professional.
Call Number: HQ784 .V55 K37 2014Publication Date: 2016
Policy and Social Work Practice by
Social policy is central to social work practice. This textbook is designed to help students, practitioners and academics think critically about the relationship between policy and practice; particularly in how policy both structures and informs practice. Reflective questions help critical thinking and links to websites of substantive information across the UK and internationally help keep you up-to-date with policy developments. The authors' experience and skills in working with different service user groups combine to provide a constructive and critical approach to working with social policy in an era of welfare retrenchment. Key topics include: discretion and practice; social work training and education; safeguarding children; responses to the needs of looked after children; personalization in adult care; 'race' and welfare policy; domestic violence; mental health and capacity; and comparing social work and social care internationally.
Call Number: R726.8 .S54 1992Publication Date: 2015
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care by
This new dictionary provides over 1,500 A-Z definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field. Covering social work theories, methods, policies, organisations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinarytopics such as health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available. It also provides extended entries on specialisms such as children and families, domestic violence, and residential care.Useful appendices include a glossary of acronyms and a Table of Legislation, Regulations, and Codes of Practice. Entry-level bibliographies and web links provide further resources and the web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website.A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care is a must-have for students of social care and related subjects, as well as for qualified social workers undertaking continuing professional development programmes.
Call Number: RA418 .P8323 2015Publication Date: 2013
Child Welfare Systems and Migrant Children by
The book examines where, why and to what extent immigrant children are represented in the child welfare system in different countries. These countries include Australia/New Zealand, Belgium/the Netherlands, England, Estonia, Canada, Finland, Italy, Germany, Spain, Norway, and the United States- all of them having different child welfare philosophies and systems as well as histories and practices in immigration. By comparing policies and practices in child welfare systems (and welfare states), especially in terms of how they conceptualize and deal with immigrant children and theirfamilies, we address an immensely important and pressing issue in modern societies. Immigrants in the child welfare system are a critical issue and they seem to face serious challenges that are evident across countries. These are challenges related to lack of language proficiency, lack of knowledge about cultural and social aspects and about the public systems of the destinationcountry. Perhaps most relevantly, the challenges may include collisions of ideas and beliefs about how to raise children, about children's place in the family and society, and about children's rights.
Call Number: HV9471 .R37 2013Publication Date: 2014
Social Work and Domestic Violence by
Domestic violence affects all areas of social work. This book shows how social workers can intervene in everyday practice with victims, their families and perpetrators of domestic abuse. It provides students with knowledge of theory, research and policy to put directly in practice across a variety of legal and service-user contexts. Topics covered include: Child protection Interprofessional collaboration The policy and legal context Working with women Working with men Each chapter begins with a case study and concludes with reflective questions to highlight practice dilemmas and challenge students to reflect critically. Further reading from a rich range of sources guides readers to expand their knowledge. This book will be valuable reading for students studying domestic violence, child protection, and family social work, as well as practitioners of Social Work.
Call Number: HV741 .W686 2013Publication Date: 2013
