Print Encyclopedias
Blacks in American Film and Television by
Encyclopedia of blacks in the motion picture and television industry over the past 90 years with over 200 rare photographs.
Call Number: PN1995.9.N4 B58 1988Publication Date: 1989
Encyclopedia of Early Cinema by
Explores the first 25 years of cinema's development, from the early 1890s to the mid-1910s. These early years of the history of cinema have lately been the subject of resurgent interest and a growing body of scholarship, and have come to be recognized as an extraordinarily diverse period, when moving pictures were quite unlike the kind of cinema that later emerged as the dominant norm. Covers all aspects of scholarship on early cinema, both traditional and revisionist. It contains articles on the technological and industrial developments, the techniques of film production, the actors and filmmakers of the time, and on the changing modes of representation and narration, as well as the social and cultural contexts within which early films circulated, including topics such as distribution, exhibition and audience. Alphabetically organized, the entries range in length from short factual articles to full essays that offer clear and stimulating discussions of the key issues, people, practices, and phenomena of early cinema. A thematic list of entries is a useful guide through the book, and all entries contain detailed cross-references. The longer articles have considered suggestions for further reading, which are complemented by a general bibliography of specialized works on early cinema.
Call Number: PN1993.45 .E53 2010Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Film Themes, Settings and Series by
This work includes over 670 entires on a variety of film themes, settings, and series. Each entry contains a mini-essay that defines the topic, followed by a chronological list of representative films. Example entries are alcoholism, the RBI, oil wells and twins.
Call Number: PN1997.8 .A76 2001Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Indian Cinema by
Covering the full range of Indian cinema, from Hindi musicals to the impressive diversity of regional Indian Art Cinemas, this edition of the reference text includes expanded coverage of mainstream productions from the 1970s to the 1990s.
Call Number: PN1993.5.I8 R277 1999Publication Date: 1999
The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film by
For as long as there have been movies, filmmakers have labored to translate novelists' words into flickering images. From silent epics such as Birth of a Nation to contemporary blockbusters like Jurassic Park, directors have looked to literature for their inspiration. More than 300 entries and 100 black-and-white movie stills and illustrations survey film adaptations of novels from Alice in Wonderland to Zorba the Greek with insightful commentary and in meticulous detail.
Call Number: PN1997.85 .T54 1998Publication Date: 1998
Religion and American Cultures by
The only multicultural survey of established and "new" American religions, this exhaustive three-volume encyclopedia explores the fascinating interactions between religion and ethnicity, gender, regionalism, and popular culture. * More than 120 essays covering virtually every religion in America * An expert panel of editorial board members and contributors on every major religion in the United States * Richly illustrated images depicting a wide range of religious figures and activities, as well as significant religious sites in the United States * An entire volume of primary source documents illustrating the religious diversity in American culture, including Cecil B. DeMille's essay "The Screen as Religious Teacher" as well as more conventional materials on Christian Science, the New Age, and Buddhism
Call Number: BL2525 .R448 2003Publication Date: 2003
The Film Encyclopedia by
A completely revised and udpated edition of the classic film reference which has sold nearly 150,000 copies in its previous editions. Ephraim Katz's The Film Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia on film and is considered the undisputed Bible of the movie industry. With up-to-date additions, this fifth edition features more than 7,000 A-Z entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of moviemaking, including: - Directors, producers, stars, screenwriters, and cinematographers - Styles, genres, and schools of filmmaking - Motion picture studios and film centers - Film-related organizations and events - Industry jargon and technical terms - Inventions, inventors, and equipment - Plus, an index of Academy Award winning films and artists, top grossing films, and much more.
Call Number: PN1993.45 .K34 2005Publication Date: 2005- The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film by
For as long as there have been movies, filmmakers have labored to translate novelists' words into flickering images. From silent epics such as Birth of a Nation to contemporary blockbusters like Jurassic Park, directors have looked to literature for their inspiration. Now, The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film provides the first comprehensive look between the pages and behind the scenes of this long-standing cinematic tradition. More than 300 entries and 100 black-and-white movie stills and illustrations survey film adaptations of novels from Alice in Wonderland to Zorba the Greek with insightful commentary and in meticulous detail. Each entry provides a profile of the source novel, summarizing the plot, major characters, important themes, and the literary significance of the work. A second profile encapsulates the various filmed adaptations, examining how the movie preserved or changed the elements of the book, why the changes occurred, how the director's or studio's vision differed from the author's, and how successful the movie was on its own merits. A special appendix, The Novelist in Hollywood, offers a compelling exploration of the role of the writer in the movie industry as seen through the experiences of literary giants such as William Faulkner and F. Scott Fitzgerald.
Call Number: PN1997.85 .T54 1998Publication Date: 1998
Magill's Cinema Annual by
An in-depth retrospective of significant domestic and foreign films released in the U.S.
Call Number: PN1993.3 .M34Publication Date: 2014
Electronic Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Early Cinema by
This encyclopedia presents a wealth of information on early cinema history, with coverage of the techniques and equipment of film production, profiles of the pioneering directors and producers, analysis of individual films and the rapid growth of distinct film genres, and the emergence of something the world had never seen before - the movie star. The work also focuses on how the nature of film exhibition changed as the industry grew, and how the public's reception to films also changed. The pre-cinema period is closely examined to show those mass-cultural forms and practices - such as music hall and vaudeville - from within which cinema was to emerge. A perfect companion for any student of early cinema and film studies.
Publication Date: 2013
Religion and American Cultures by
A multicultural survey of established and new American religions, this exhaustive three-volume encyclopedia explores the fascinating interaction between religion and ethnicity, regionalism and popular culture.
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media by
This one-volume encyclopedia features around 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries. Thematic essays address selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples′ media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens′ media, and community media. The Encyclopedia engages with all communication media: broadcasting, print, cinema, the Internet, popular song, street theatre, graffiti and dance. The entries are designed to be relatively brief with clear, accessible and current information. Students, researchers, media activists and others interested in this field will find this to be a valuable resource. Recommend this title to your library today! Key Themes Cinema, Television and Video Concept and Topic Overviews Cultural Contestations Feminist Media Gay and Lesbian Media Human Rights Media Independence Movement Media Indigenous Peoples′ Media Information Policy Activism Internet Labor Media News Performance Art Media Popular Song Press Radio Social Movement Media Regions
Publication Date: 2010
Magill's Surveys of Cinema:
Magill's Survey of Cinema, English Language Films, First Series by
A survey of over 500 movies--from The Jazz singer to Kramer vs. Kramer--giving an account of the story line along with an examination of the directing, acting, cinematography, editing, etc. in each.
Call Number: PN1993.45 .M3Publication Date: 1980
Magill's Survey of Cinema, English Language Films, Second Series by
A survey of over 750 movies (additional to 515 in 1st series) - from 1927 to 1981 - giving an account of the story line along with an examination of the directing, acting, cinematography, editing, etc. in each.
Call Number: PN1993.45 .32Publication Date: 1981-