This authoritative reference book by one of the most distinguished leaders in the profession features 4,000 commonly used terms and abbreviations in counseling. Since publication of the previous edition, Dr. Samuel Gladding has added 342 new, clear, and concise definitions and has fully updated existing terminology. This exceptional resource also highlights the professional contributions of prominent counselors, both historical and contemporary, and includes a current chronology of the evolution of counseling. In addition, it provides comprehensive contact information for self-help groups and nationally prominent helping organizations.
With more than three times as many defined entries, biographies, illustrations, and appendices than any other dictionary of psychology ever printed in the English language, Raymond Corsini's Dictionary of Psychology is indeed a landmark resource. The most comprehensive, up-to-date reference of its kind, the Dictionary also maintains a user-friendliness throughout. This combination ensures that it will serve as the definitive work for years to come. With a clear and functional design, and highly readable style, the Dictionary offers over 30,000 entries (including interdisciplinary terms and contemporary slang), more than 125 illustrations, as well as extensive cross-referencing of entries. Ten supportive appendices, such as the Greek Alphabet, Medical Prescription Terms, and biographies of more than 1,000 deceased contributors to psychology, further augment the Dictionary's usefulness. Over 100 psychologists as well as numerous physicians participated as consulting editors, and a dozen specialist consulting editors reviewed the material. Dr. Alan Auerbach, the American Psychological Association's de facto dictionary expert, served as the senior consulting editor.
A Dictionary of Psychology by A. M. ColmanWith over 11,000 entries, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language,mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions. Over 80 illustrations complement the text.In addition to the alphabetical entries, the dictionary also includes appendices covering over 800 commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as a list of phobias and phobic stimuli, with definitions.
Call Number: BF31 .C65 2006
Publication Date: 2006
APA Dictionary of Psychology by G. R. VandenbosWith over 25,000 terms and definitions, the APA Dictionary of Psychology encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major subdisciplines of psychology. Academicians, researchers, clinicians, undergraduates and graduate students, and professionals in allied mental health, education, medicine, and law, as well as academic and public libraries, will find the Dictionary essential.
Call Number: BF31 .A65 2007
Publication Date: 2006
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by D. MatsumotoThe Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus. Thus entries related to culture, as well as those from all domains of psychology, are written with the broadest possible audience in mind.
Call Number: BF31 .C28 2009
Publication Date: 2009
International Dictionary of Psychoanalysis by A. de MijollaMore than a field of science of medicine, psychoanalysis - the interpretation and treatment of disorders and behaviors of the mind - is field that has touched nearly all other arts and humanities: literature, painting, film, music and more. The International Dictionary of Psychoanalysis defines the evolution of the different theoretical and clinical psychoanalytical concepts as well as the major individuals, works, events and institutions which have made an impact on the history of the psychoanalytic movement worldwide. It also reveals the history of psychoanalysis in 50 countries and shows the relationship between psychoanalysis and other disciplines, with entries discussing writers, philosophers, literary movements, and historical events. Its interdisciplinary approach covering medical, historical, and intellectual aspects, makes it of interest to readers beyond the fields of psychoanalysis, psychology, and medicine.