Clinical Handbook of Couple Therapy by A. S. Gurman; J. L. Lebow; D. K. SnyderRegarded as the authoritative reference and text, this handbook presents the most effective, widely studied approaches to couple therapy. The distinguished coeditors bring together other leading experts, most of whom developed the approaches they describe. Adhering closely to a uniform structure to facilitate study and comparison, chapters cover the history, theoretical and empirical underpinnings, and techniques of each model. The volume also describes cutting-edge applications for particular relationship contexts (such as blended families, LGBT couples, and separated couples) and clinical problems (such as partner aggression, psychological disorders, and medical issues). New to This Edition *Chapters on interpersonal neurobiology and intercultural relationships. *Chapters on couple therapy for PTSD, functional analytic couple therapy, and the integrative problem-centered metaframeworks approach. *Many new authors. *Extensively revised with the latest theory and research. See also Clinical Casebook of Couple Therapy, edited by Alan S. Gurman, which presents in-depth illustrations of treatment.
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Clinical Issues in Couple Therapy by J. L. WetchlerNow updated in its second edition, Handbook of Clinical Issues in Couple Therapyprovides a comprehensive overview of emerging issues that impact couple therapy. Unlike other guides that concentrate more on theoretical approaches, this invaluable resource contains the latest research and perspectives that every clinician needs when dealing with the challenging issues often found in practice. Carefully referenced, it explores a range of issues that include intimate partner violence, posttraumatic stress disorder and its effect on couple relationships, divorce therapy, remarriage and cohabitation issues, cultural issues, and couple therapist training. This insightful edited volume is suitable for a wide spectrum of readers, including couple and family therapists, counselors, psychologists, social workers, pastoral counselors, educators, and graduate students.
Publication Date: 2011
The International Handbook of Suicide Prevention by R. C. O'Connor; J. PirkisThe International Handbook of Suicide Prevention, 2nd Edition, presents a series of readings that consider the individual and societal factors that lead to suicide, it addresses ways these factors may be mitigated, and presents the most up-to-date evidence for effective suicide prevention approaches. An updated reference that shows why effective suicide prevention can only be achieved by understanding the many reasons why people choose to end their lives Gathers together contributions from more than 100 of the world's leading authorities on suicidal behavior--many of them new to this edition Considers suicide from epidemiological, psychological, clinical, sociological, and neurobiological perspectives, providing a holistic understanding of the subject Describes the most up-to-date, evidence-based research and practice from across the globe, and explores its implications across countries, cultures, and the lifespan
Publication Date: 2016
Online Counseling a handbook for mental health professionals by R. Kraus; G.Stricker; C. SpeyerOnline Counseling gives practical insight into how professionals can translate and extend their practice to the electronic online medium. The volume provides an overview of current research on the use and effectiveness of counseling online and data on the idiosyncrasies of online behavior and communication. The practical aspects of and skill sets required for counseling online are discussed at length, as are technological, ethical, legal and multicultural issues, treatment strategies, and testing and assessment. Foreword by Morgan Sammons and Patrick DeLeon, past president of the American Psychological Association The first comprehensive textbook designed to give clinicians and mental health students everything they need to understand and start providing mental health services via the Internet Each chapter includes study questions and key terms, making it ideal for use in graduate or continuing education settings Includes clear and comprehensive chapters on research and technology related to online counseling Contributors include past, present, and elected presidents of the International Society for Mental Health Online (ISMHO), the Inernet's leading resource for professionals interested in online counseling and other methods of delivering mental health services via the Internet
Publication Date: 2010
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Family Psychology by M. Stanton; J. H. BrayThe Handbook of Family Psychology provides a comprehensive overview of the theoretical underpinnings and established practices relating to family psychology. Provides a thorough orientation to the field of family psychology for clinicians Includes summaries of the most recent research literature and clinical interventions for specific areas of interest to family psychology clinicians Features essays by recognized experts in a variety of specialized fields Suitable as a required text for courses in family psychology, family therapy, theories of psychotherapy, couples therapy, systems theory, and systems therapy
Publication Date: 2009
Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy by J. W. WordenNamed a 2013 Doody's Core Title In the fields of death education, research and counseling/psychology, surely Bill Worden is a giant....ALL of us, personally and professionally, are indebted to J. William Worden. From his work we may be just a bit wiser, a bit healthier, a bit more competent, and a lot more in touch with meaning (our own and those of others) for the sake of all who mourn." --Illness, Crisis, & Loss Every helping professional will profit from Worden's treatment of uncomplicated and complicated mourning. Especially hopefully is his material on the many types of loss...I highly recommend Worden's book."--Ministry Recipient of The International Work Group on Death, Dying and Bereavement Herman Feifel Award. Dr. Worden presents the highly anticipated fourth edition to Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, the gold standard of grief therapy handbooks. The previous editions, translated into 12 languages, received worldwide acclaim for their sensitive, insightful, and practical approach to grief counseling. In this updated and revised fourth edition, Dr. Worden presents his most recent thinking on bereavement drawn from extensive research, clinical work, and the best of the new literature. Key Features: The task model has been modified to account for new thinking and research findings in the field, including meaning making, resilience, and continuing bonds A new chapter on the Mediators of Mourning helps clinicians to understand what accounts for individual differences in adapting to the death of a loved one Looks at recent controversies in the field including the best way to understand complicated bereavement and the efficacy of grief counseling and therapy Presents the vital distinction between grief and trauma, and highlights different intervention approaches for each Comprehensive and highly organized, this text is useful to therapists just beginning to work in the field as well as seasoned practitioners.
Publication Date: 2008
Foundations of Play Therapy by C. E. SchaeferThe landmark guide to play therapy--completely updated and revised Edited by Charles E. Schaefer--the "father of play therapy"--Foundations of Play Therapy, Second Edition is a complete, state-of-the-art guide to the many diverse approaches to, and methods used in, play therapy practice with children and adolescents. Featuring an expert panel of contributors, this comprehensive reference provides up-to-date and insightful coverage of all of the major theoretical models of play therapy and offers practical examples for the application of each model, including: Narrative play therapy Solution-focused play therapy Experiential play therapy Release play therapy Integrative play therapy Psychoanalytic approaches to play therapy Child-centered play therapy Gestalt play therapy Family play therapy Cognitive behavioral play therapy Prescriptive play therapy Written for therapists looking for guidance on how to incorporate play therapy into their practice, as well as students or those in need of a refresher on the latest methods and techniques, Foundations of Play Therapy, Second Edition is a standard-setting resource presenting pragmatic and useful information for therapists at all levels of training.
Publication Date: 2011
Foundations of Play Therapy by C. E. SchaeferComprehensive coverage of the major theoretical models of play therapy Foundations of Play Therapy is a complete guide to the many diverse approaches to play therapy methods used in clinical practice with children, adolescents, and adults. Edited by Charles Schaefer, a leader in the field, and featuring an expert panel of contributors, this comprehensive reference provides detailed descriptions of all of the major theoretical models of play therapy and offers the reader practical examples of how to apply each model in practice. Top experts in the field present up-to-date and insightful coverage of the fourteen major theories of play therapy: Psychoanalytic Cognitive Behavioral Jungian Family Adlerian Group Child-centered Ecosystemic Filial Phenomenological Gestalt Object Relations Attachment-oriented Prescriptive Foundations of Play Therapy is a valuable resource for psychologists, counselors, social workers, school counselors, and an essential text for training students and professionals interested in the field of play therapy.
Call Number: RJ505.P6 F68 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy by J. W. WordenPraise for earlier editions: Worden ... has again provided mental health professionals with a superb guide describing specific principles and procedures that may be helpful in working with bereaved clients undergoing normal or abnormal grief reactions .... an extremely practical book and an invaluable resource. --Contemporary Psychology This book is the 'Bible' for those involved in the field of bereavement work...It is a straightforward, tightly focused, practical, soundly reasoned, compact working text." --William M. Lamers, Jr., MD., The Lamers Medical Group If you had one book dealing with grief counseling available to you, this is the one you should select." --Caregiver Quarterly Worden has brought a critical and discerning mind to bear. ... His delineation of 'the tasks of mourning' is a masterly and original summation, and the ways by which we can help others to grow through grieving are clearly described." --From the Foreword by Colin Murray Parkes, UK edition In this updated and revised third edition of his classic text, Dr. Worden presents his most recent thinking on bereavement drawn from extensive research, clinical work, and the best of the new literature. Readers will find new information on special types of losses--including children's violent deaths, grief and the elderly, and anticipatory grief--as well as refinements to his basic model for mourning. It now not only includes the four "tasks of mourning" but also seven "mediators of mourning." In addition, a series of vignettes, the best of the first and second editions, plus several new to this edition, bring bereavement issues to life.
Call Number: RC455.4.L67 W67 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Clinical Handbook of Couple Therapy, Third Edition by A. S. Gurman; N. S. JacobsonNow in a revised and expanded third edition, this acclaimed handbook and clinical text provides comprehensive coverage of the full range of couple therapy interventions. Noted contributors, many of whom developed the approaches they describe, combine clear conceptual and historical exposition with hands-on presentations of therapeutic strategies and techniques. Chapters in the new edition adhere even more closely to a uniform structure, facilitating easy comparison of different therapeutic models, and have been extensively rewritten to reflect the latest conceptual, clinical, and empirical advances. Entirely new chapters cover structural#65533;strategic, transgenerational, narrative, solution-focused, brief integrative, and affective#65533;reconstructive approaches; prevention and psychoeducation; interventions with families during and after divorce; multicultural couple therapy; and treatment of clients with bipolar disorder as well as other psychiatric and medical problems.