Dictionary of International Trade by E. G. HinkelmanEvery business has its own language, lexicon and lingo, and international trade is no exception. International trade is a business where "I think I know" isn't good enough. What you don't know can really hurt you. New features include: - Illustrated Guide to Ocean Freight Containers- Illustrated Guide to Air Freight Containers- Illustrated Guide to Incoterms 2000- Illustrated Guide to Letters of Credit- IATA Codes Worldwide by Code and by Location- Security Section covering C-TPAT, FAST, PAPS, PARS, 24-Hour Rule and more.
Call Number: HF1373 .H55 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by S. N. Durlauf; L. E. BlumeThe award-winning The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition is now available as a dynamic online resource. Consisting of over 1,900 articles written by leading figures in the field including Nobel prize winners, this is the definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists. Regularly updated! This product is a subscription based product.
Call Number: HB61 .N49 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law by P. NewmanA great deal of economics is about law - the functioning of markets, property rights and their enforcement, financial obligations, and so forth - yet these legal aspects are almost never addressed in the academic study of economics. Conversely, the study and practice of law entails a significant understanding of economics, yet the drafting and administration of laws often ignore economic principle.The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law is uniquely placed by the quality, breadth and depth of its coverage to address this need for building bridges. Drawn from the ranks of academics, professional lawyers, and economists in eight countries, the 340 contributors include world experts in their fields. Among them are Nobel laureates in economics and eminent legal scholars.
Dictionary of United States Economic History by J. S. OlsonFinancial news today is front-page news. Americans are showered daily with stories about the stock market, the savings and loan scandal, banking catastrophes, trade imbalances, government deficits, inflation, international financial crises, unemployment, poverty, urban plight, junk bonds, and taxes. This book provides a handy reference for those who want to locate information about issues and events in American economic history. Numerous entries provide biographies of prominent businessmen and businesswomen, union leaders, intellectuals, politicians, and government officials. Others cover historical events, legislation, economic terms, labor unions, corporations, interest groups, elections, and economic institutions. The work also includes a chronology of major events in U.S. economic history and a selective bibliography. Cross-references and a subject index are also provided.
Call Number: HC102 .O57 1992
Publication Date: 1992
Dictionary of International Trade by E. G. Hinkelman; K. C. ShippeyThis reference defines the idiosyncratic terms commonly used in the international trade industry. The second half of the book lists country codes, currencies, the specifications of ocean and air freight containers, the letter of credit process, example trade documents, and other key details.
Publication Date: 2002
Banking Crises by G. JonesWhy do banks collapse? Are financial systems more fragile in recent decades? Can policies to fix the banking system do more harm than good? What's the history of banking crises? With dozens of brief, non-technical articles by economists and other researchers, Banking Crises offers answers from diverse scholarly viewpoints.
Publication Date: 2015
Palgrave Dictionary of Emerging Markets and Transition Economics by J. Hölscher; H. TomannThe period of transition from socialism to capitalism in parts of Europe and Asia over the past 25 years has attracted considerable interest in academia and beyond. This dictionary addresses the needs of students, lecturers and the interested general public to quickly find definitions and explanations of topics, institutions, personalities and processes in this historical phase of changing societies, which as such is not concluded. Today newly emerging market economies try to learn from the experiences of transition economies.Those who love The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics will enjoy the format of this Dictionary, which uses an encyclopaedia-based approach, where articles not only define the terms but provide an overview of the evolution of the term or theory and also touch on the current debates.
Publication Date: 2015
A Dictionary of Economics by J. Black; N. Hashimzade; G. MylesAn authoritative and comprehensive dictionary containing clear, concise definitions of over 3,400 key economic terms, this A to Z covers all aspects of economics including economic theory, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance,monetary economics, and environmental economics. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions from around the world. Fully revised to keep up-to-date with this fast-moving field, this new edition expands the coverage to include terms relevant to the financial crisis, such as black swan, credit crunch, Northern Rock, and Iceland, making this dictionary the most up-to-date available.Entries are supplemented by entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, giving the reader the opportunity to explore further the areas covered in the dictionary. Useful appendices include a list of institutional acronyms and their affiliated websites, a list of Nobel prize-winners in economics, the Greek alphabet, and a list of relevant websites.