How to Find English Books
Our collections go beyond the main stacks upstairs at the Murdock Library. When searching Primo, remember that:
- We have access to a large amount of e-books
- You can request print books from other colleges and universities from around the Pacific Northwest via Summit.
- Unfortunately, electronic resources owned by other institutions are not accessible
For help using Primo, see:
Our print collection is organized using the Library of Congress Classification System. Books relating to Language and Literature can be found under Class P. Some helpful subsections include:
| PE | English Literature |
| PN | General Literature |
| PR | English Literature |
| PS | American Literature |
| PZ | Juvenile Literature |
For the full list of subcategories, check out:
Search Primo
- Advanced Primo Search (Library catalog)I recommend Primo Advanced Search for more control over your search for locations, print and eBooks, articles, and more related to your topic.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- OED (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new windowDefinitive record of the Engish language.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch over 100 Oxford reference books from various topics and subjects simultaneously.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowGood general reference database useful for gaining an overview of a topic.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
The most important poetry reference for more than four decades--now fully updated for the twenty-first century Through three editions over more than four decades, The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics has built an unrivaled reputation as the most comprehensive and authoritative reference for students, scholars, and poets on all aspects of its subject: history, movements, genres, prosody, rhetorical devices, critical terms, and more. Now this landmark work has been thoroughly revised and updated for the twenty-first century.
Call Number: e-book, 4th editionPublication Date: 2012-08-26
Guides
An updated sixth edition of James L. Harner's book An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies is now freely available online via GitHub (https://oncomouse.github.io/literary-research-guide/). The Murdock Library has a print copy of the third edition at PR83 H34 1998.