Diccionario Panhispanico de Dudas by Real Academia Espanola StaffThe Panhispanic Dictionary of Doubts guides users throughout the proper use of the Spanish language. It provides recommendations presented with examples that have been extracted from real texts originating from the databases of the Real Academia Espa#65533;ola. It is a work conceived from all the Hispanic countries, which maintains a fundamental balance between the vMariety of a languages spoken in so many different regions, and the linguistic unity that must be preserved. In short, it gives clear answers to the doubts of those who worry about speaking and writing Spanish correctly. It is the most comprehensive and updated usage dictionary.
Call Number: PC4460 .D5155 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Nuevo Diccionario Esencial Santillana by G. Salvador ; Santillana U. S. A. Publishing Co, Inc. StaffA beautifully produced dictionary, excellent value for money, with a sturdy hardback cover, clear type-face and user-friendly layout. Entries for the 37,000 headwords are detailed and informative, including origin, grammatical category, definition, examples of usage, grammatical observations, composite nouns, locutions and generically related words. Additional features include tables conjugating irregular verbs, synonyms, antonyms and homonyms and feminine and masculine forms of adjectives. A 35-page appendix gives an outline of Spanish grammar plus sections on orthography and difficulties encountered by learners of Spanish. 1,100 detailed line drawings with constituent parts labelled illustrate vocabulary relating to specific topic areas, from sports and food to tools and transport. As well as standard Spanish, the dictionary covers colloquial language and slang, americanisms, accepted foreign words, neologisms, and the language of science and technology.
Call Number: PC4625 .N79 2000
Publication Date: 2010
The Firefly Spanish/English Visual Dictionary by J.C. Corbeil; A. Archambault28,000 terms illustrated with 4,800 colorful pictures. The Firefly Spanish/English Visual Dictionary is an unparalleled reference to the world around us and an indispensable tool for language education. Its 4,800 full-color illustrations show what other dictionaries can only describe in black-and-white text. From the parts of a honeybee to the parts of a bulldozer, the scope and depth are immense. There are 28,000 terms and phrases revealed in detailed lifelike illustrations that make identification quick and accurate. Spanish terms are identified by gender, and two indexes make it fast and easy to find a term in either language. The 600 subjects are organized into 17 color-coded sections: Astronomy House Earth Clothing Vegetable kingdom Arts and architecture Animal kingdom Communications and office automation Human being Food and kitchen Transport and machinery Do-it-yourself and gardening Energy Science Personal Adornment and articles Society Sports and games. This reference is perfect for school, work or travel. For anyone learning Spanish or English as a second language, The Firefly Spanish/English Visual Dictionary is fun, accurate, easy and fast.
Call Number: PC4640 .C65 2004
Publication Date: 2007
Five-Language Visual Dictionary by Kindersley Publishing Staff; J. MetcalfA photographic and comprehensive guide of how to express everyday occurrences in five different languages. With over 10,000 terms, 1,600 full-color photographs, and a comprehensive index, the Five-Language Visual Dictionary is a powerful tool for beginners learning the five major European languages: English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian. Ideal for students, teachers, business travelers, and tourists alike, this reference is also perfect for anyone studying English as a foreign language. Featuring a complete range of objects and scenes from everyday life, this is a great way to make learning quick, easy, and fun.
Salud by B. ContrerasA comprehensive guide to improving communication with Spanish-speaking patients and their families, and English-speaking medical personnel, Salud is an invaluable reference tool. It provides needed information to enable effective communication that will result in more thorough patient interviews, identification of existing conditions, and, ultimately, a more comfortable relationship between healthcare provider and patient. A quick, easy-to-use reference book, Salud is for medical students, nurses, doctors, hospital administrators, health care personnel, home health care workers, social workers, and translators in the health care profession. The medical dictionary and alphabetical phrase sections will make it easy to find and cross-reference the correct Spanish-English words and phrases. There are also focused care dialogues ranging from AIDS, anaesthesia, and breast exam, to unconscious patient, urinary retention, and visiting hours. The materials in this book were adapted from a variety of English- and Spanish-language sources for the sole purpose of language enrichment and should not be construed as medical advice or instruction.
Call Number: R121 .C66 2003
Publication Date: 2004
The Oxford Spanish Business Dictionary by S. Lopez; D. WattThis is an ideal dictionary for students taking Spanish in combination with a business qualification at college or university or for anyone doing business in the Spanish-speaking world. It provides an exhaustive range of business vocabulary across many core areas, giving the most extensivecoverage on the market of e-commerce and Internet-related terms. Detailed treatment of all vocabulary items is provided, along with thousands of example phrases illustrating important constructions. The extensive supplementary material offers sample business correspondence, including faxes, emails,and invoices; CVs; lists of countries, nationalities, languages, and currencies; and guidance on using the telephone.
Publication Date: 2002
Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary by N. Rollin; C. S. Carvajal; J. HorwoodAuthoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 130,000 translations of contemporary Spanish and English. Hundreds of new words from Spanish and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from Oxford's English and Spanish language Reading Programmes. Includes excellent coverage of both European and Latin American Spanish.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Spanishgrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the Spanish-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.