Skip to main content

Seminary Graduate Programs - Introduction to Research & Resources: Use Ebsco Articles

About Articles

A large portion of your research is locating and evaluating scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles have been reviewed by a group of scholarly reviewers in the subject area of the journal. The articles found in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals are vetted for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal prior to publication. In general, you will be spending a lot of time in various Ebsco Databases, which you can search simultaneously. Various features you will want to use are discussed below in the embedded tutorials from Ebsco.

Ebsco Databases for Seminary Research

Below is a list of the Ebsco databases you can search to find articles in various religious and theological research journals. You can choose to search them all simultaneously by following these steps (video demo below):

1. From the library home page, click the "Ebsco Articles" link

2. Where it says, "Searching: Academic Search Premier," click the "Choose Databases" link 

3. Click on the boxes for the databases that are relevant to your search (ATLA, etc.)

4. Click the yellow "Ok" button

5. Begin searching!

NOTE: If you search in a database individually, you will be able to take advantage of the tools specific to that database. For example, ATLA has a Scripture index tool and Thesaurus that will help you search strategically using terms used by the database rather than simple keywords.

Video - Choosing EBSCO Databases 1min.18sec.

Demo on choosing EBSCO article databases from the EBSCO Articles link on the library home page. Learn how to search one or many databases simultaneously. 

Video - EBSCOhost Advanced Search 2 min.38 sec.

Video by EBSCOhost demonstrating how to search our EBSCO databases. Demo takes place in the Academic Search Premiere database. 

Video - Using the EBSCOhost Result List 3 min.39 sec.

Video - Create Free EBSCO Acct & Personal EBSCO Folder 3 min.13 sec.

View the video and visit the EBSCO Help page on How to Use the My EBSCOHost Folder.

Video - Creating a Search Alert in EBSCO 1 min. 28 sec.