Basic Article Searching Tips & Tricks
Top Education Databases
-
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This is the broadest database we offer to search explicitly on education topics across grades and educator roles. Particularly useful for the additional indexing and description of its contents.What's Included?
Provides access to research journal articles, trade and professional publications, monographs, conference papers, and more. Includes most, but not all of the journals indexed in ERIC. -
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, and is an authoritative standard in the field of education. With its powerful indexing, it is particularly useful for focused searching on a given topic. In addition to the standard EBSCO filters, ERIC allows you to filter by Intended Audience, Education Level, and ERIC Number (EJ).What's Included?
Journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Consider Education Source for more broad searching. -
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This resource searches collections included in other EBSCO databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider ProQuest Central or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from over 13,000 journals and supplementary resources like monographs, reports, and conference proceedings across, science, social science, and the humanities.
-
ProQuest Education JournalsCovers 550 periodical titles, with almost 400 full text.
-
Sage Publications: Premium Collection36 full-text education journals from 1917 to present.
Additional Resources
-
Libraries of OregonCollection of Gale databases which can be searched together, or separately. These resources are available to all people in Oregon.
-
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are researching authors and specific works of literature and are looking for scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. An excellent companion to the more scholarly MLA International Bibliography with Full Text database.What's Included?
The series that comprise Gale Literature Criticism represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. -
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
Your best bet to find scholarly sources in all aspects of modern languages and literature.What's Included?
In addition to full-text scholarly articles, check out top tabs for the MLA Thesaurus, Browse Works, and Browse Authors. -
Gale Literature: Something About the Author This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking to learn about children's book authors.What's Included?
Illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and artists from 1970-current. -
WorldCat (Find it @ George Fox) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking for materials not indexed in Library Search/Primo to facilitate an ILL request. Also useful if you are looking for local libraries that may have a particular title.What's Included?
The catalogs of thousands of libraries around the world, including records for books, eBooks, articles, dissertations, audiovisual matierials and more. This link connects to George Fox Library holdings and Interlibrary Loan Services. -
Gale Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to decide what books to read next, especially for popular and juvenile literature.What's Included?
Readers advisory help: read-alikes, reviews, award winners, and themed book lists.