The Bible in Music by Siobhan Long; John F. A. SawyerThere have been numerous publications in the last decades on the Bible in literature, film, and art. But until now, no reference work has yet appeared on the Bible as it appears in Western music. In The Bible in Music: A Dictionary of Songs, Works, and More, scholars Siobh n Dowling Long and John F. A. Sawyer correct this gap in Biblical reference literature, providing for the first time a convenient guide to musical interpretations of the Bible. Alongside examples of classical music from the Middle Ages through modern times, Dowling Long and Sawyer also bring attention to the Bible's impact on popular culture with numerous entries on hymns, spirituals, musicals, film music, and contemporary popular music. Each entry contains essential information about the original context of the work (date, composer, etc.) and, where relevant, its afterlife in literature, film, politics, and liturgy. It includes an index of biblical references and an index of biblical names, as well as a detailed timeline that brings to the fore key events, works, and publications, placing them in their historical context. There is also a bibliography, a glossary of technical terms, and an index of artists, authors, and composers. The Bible in Music will fascinate anyone familiar with the Bible, but it is also designed to encourage choirs, musicians, musicologists, lecturers, teachers, and students of music and religious education to discover and perform some less well-known pieces, as well as helping them to listen to familiar music with a fresh awareness of what it is about.
Call Number: ML102.C5 L66 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
A Concise Dictionary of New Testament Greek by Warren C. TrenchardThis Dictionary provides students, pastors, and other readers of the Bible with a convenient and useful source of word meanings and English glosses for the entire vocabulary of the Greek New Testament. In addition to reflecting the full range of semantic uses and nuances with appropriate examples, according to the most recent lexical research, the Concise Dictionary includes the following features: identifying the part of speech, listing cognate key words, noting principal parts for each verb as used in the New Testament (giving the frequency of use in the New Testament), and citing the New Testament reference for each word used only once. The Dictionary also identifies enclitics, postpositives, and non-Greek words, and contains numerous cross references for irregular forms. It should prove to be an essential accompaniment to any course of NT Greek or serious study of the Bible in its original form.
Call Number: PA881 .T74 2003
Publication Date: 2003-06-26
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by Joel B. Green; Jeannine K. Brown (Associate Editor); Nicholas Perrin (Associate Editor)Regrettably, while the general populace on both sides of the Atlantic have been exposed to the sensationalism of such projects as the Jesus Seminar and Jesus: The Evidence, no major undertaking has made available to the larger church the representative scholarship of students of Jesus and the Gospels which is both critically responsible and theologically evangelical. The Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels has been prepared to meet such needs as these. For students it provides introductory discussions and comprehensive surveys. For pastors and teachers it provides reliable and readable information. For theologians and biblical scholars it provides up-to-date reviews.
Call Number: BS2555.52 .D53 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-11
Dictionary of Mission Theology by John Corrie (Editor); Samuel Escobar (Consultant Editor); Wilbert R. Shenk (Consultant Editor); Simon Chan (Associate Editor); Juan F. Martinez (Associate Editor)A spectre is haunting Europe-the spectre of Communism. All the Powers of old Europe have entered into a holy alliance to exorcise this spectre: Pope and Czar, Metternich and Guizot, French Radicals and German police-spies.Where is the party in opposition that has not been decried as Communistic by its opponents in power? Where is the Opposition that has not hurled back the branding reproach of Communism, against the more advanced opposition parties, as well as against its reactionary adversaries?Two things result from this fact.I. Communism is already acknowledged by all European Powers to be itself a Power.II. It is high time that Communists should openly, in the face of the whole world, publish their views, their aims, their tendencies, and meet this nursery tale of the Spectre of Communism with a Manifesto of the party itself.
Call Number: BV2040 .C67 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-23
Evangelical Dictionary of Christian Education by Michael J. Anthony (Editor)The comprehensive dictionary presents 850 articles representing the salient issues Christian educators face today. Each topic integrates scriptural principles with discoveries made in the fields of education, psychology, anthropology, sociology and philosophy. The articles explore the history, philosophy and theology of Christian education as well as provide insight into educational methodology, learning theory and practice, and relevant biblical issues.
Call Number: BV1461 .E93 2001
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by Walter A. Elwell (Editor)Fifteen years after its original publication comes a thoroughly revised edition of the Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. Every article from the original edition has been revisited. With some articles being removed, others revised, and many new articles added, the result is a completely new dictionary covering systematic, historical, and philosophical theology as well as theological ethics.
Global Dictionary of Theology by William A. Dyrness; Veli-Matti Kärkkäinen (Editor); Simon Chan (Associate Editor); Juan F. Martinez (Associate Editor)Theological dictionaries are foundational to any theological library. But until now there has been no Global Dictionary of Theology, a theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology.The Global Dictionary of Theology is inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South. But it also reflects the increase in two-way traffic between these two sectors as well as the global awareness that has permeated popular culture to an unprecedented degree.The editorial perspective of the Global Dictionary of Theology is an ecumenical evangelicalism that is receptive to discovering new facets of truth through listening and conversation on a global scale. Thus a distinctive feature of the Global Dictionary of Theology is its conversational approach. Contributors have been called on to write in the spirit of engaging in a larger theological conversation in which alternative views are expected and invited.William A. Dyrness, Veli-Matti K#65533;rkk#65533;inen, Juan F. Martinez and Simon Chan edit approximately 250 articles written by over 100 contributors representing the global spectrum of theological perspectives.Pastors, theological teachers, theological students and lay Christian leaders will all find the Global Dictionary of Theology to be a resource that unfolds new dimensions and reveals new panoramas of theological perspective and inquiry. Here is a new launching point for doing theology in today's global context.
Call Number: BR95 .G56 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-10
The New Westminster Dictionary of Church History by Robert Benedetto (Editor)Jerald Bauer's Westminster Dictionary of Church History was originally published in 1969 and has ably served an entire generation of pastors, students, and scholars over the last decades of the twentieth century. In recognition of both the dictionary's age and the latest developments in patristics and other fields of study, Westminster John Knox Press commissioned this volume to continue in the previous work's tradition by providing up-to-date and immediate, authoritative, and introductory definitions and explanations of the major personalities, events, facts, and movements in the history of Christianity. Volume One covers the early, medieval, and Reformation periods and contains nearly fourteen hundred articles written by more than two hundred contributors. Volume Two will cover the modern period, from 1700 on.
Call Number: BR95 .W496 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-07
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by E. A. Livingstone (Editor)Based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, this is an indispensable guide for both students and the general reader. Over 6,000 entries provide authoritative coverage of theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations across the world, canon law, andthe church calendar, as well as entries on theologians, philosophers, artists, musicians, and mystics.The third edition has been updated to reflect recent changes in the Church. Over 100 new entries cover topics such as the Antonian Movement, dispensationalism, Heilsgeschichte, Alvin Plantinga, Garima Gospels, and Intelligent Design. It also includes a new appendix listing the Archbishops ofCanterbury and a web links appendix providing online resources that are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website.This handy, concise volume is essential reading for anyone with an interest in Christianity.