British WritersCritical and biographical analysis of writers of British, Irish, and Commonwealth literature from the 14th-century-present.
Something About the AuthorProvides comprehensive online access to all volumes of Gale's award-wining reference set, Something About the Author (the main series), and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series.
Book Review Digest PlusMore than 1.3 million reviews on more than 550,000 books. Updated daily with retrospective coverage back to 1983.
Essay/Research Paper Resources
Academic Search PremierThe world's largest scholarly, multidiscipline, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Contains indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. Over 500 journals are related to literature.
CQ ResearcherOffers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Can be read in its entirety or by section, which includes a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Google ScholarCovers a broad array of scholarly literature with a clean interface.
Nexis UniComprehensive news, business, and legal information, entirely full-text.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterA full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more.
Cambridge Journals OnlineCambridge is a full text database which includes prominent journals about language, linguistics, and Victorian as well as other areas of literature.
Communication and Mass Media CompleteCMMC contains full text journals in the subject areas of journalism, rhetoric, linguistics, and literature. In addition, the database contains over 3,000 author profiles of scholars whose articles are included within the database.
JSTORA full-text archival database providing access to 88 journals in the fields of the language, literature, and folklore.
Literary Criticism OnlineIncludes the Gale print sets of Nineteenth-Century, Twentieth-Century, and Contemporary Criticism from 1971-2011 as well as the print set of Something about the Author from 1970-current. This is an extensive collection of scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.