It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exercising Our Worldview: Brief Essays on Issues from Technology to Art, One Christian's Perspective is a collection of 139 brief essays originated as five-minute radio commentaries. In Dr. Adams' words, these essays "make no claim to doctrinal purity, absolute truth, inerrancy, infallibility, or orthodoxy. They represent rather a humble attempt to wrestle with some of the problems faced by Christians as they try to live in faithfulness to the Word of God."
In this collection of essays, scholars from Australia, Canada, the UK, and USA reexamine ideas of a Christian university and offer a radical alternative vision for the future of academy. Theologians engage with the historic roots from which the idea of Christian universities emerges and with contemporary challenges and opportunities faced by higher education today.
Addresses the unique role faculty and others play in students spiritual formation, including historical and contemporary approaches; sets out a framework for understanding spiritual formation practiced in the Christian university; and provides practical models for roles the university plays in spiritual formation of students.
Summarizes the faith/learning discussion and offers a working conception of faith/integration for Christian college faculty, outlines what deans, provosts, and tenure-promotion committees expect faculty in Christian colleges to know and do. Closes by calling both the Christian college and the individual professor to the vocation of teaching, shaping, and sending.
Combining a survey of history and purposes of Christian higher education, critical approaches to faith-learning-living, and practical lessons for teaching, scholarship and service, The Soul of a Christian University assists faculty and administrators in educating hearts and minds.
Demonstrates despite much evidence to the contrary, there are Christian colleges and universities of high academic quality that kept their religious heritages publicly relevant. Constructive case studies examine the vision, ethos, and personnel policies of each school, showing how and why religious foundation remains strong.
Engaging collection of essays boldly challenges Christians to rethink liberal assumptions about higher education. Presenting a church-centered definition of academic freedom, essays take up questions of social and political witness in liberal society, urging faculty and students into the body of Christ.
Renewing Minds serves as a clear introduction to higher Christian education, focusing on the distinctive, important role of Christian-influenced learning. David S. Dockery writes for administrators, trustees, church leaders, faculty, and staff who are beginning their service or association with Christ-centered institutions, and to students and parents considering a Christian college or university.
Going against the mainstream of Christian higher education, Eaton envisions a place that considers engagement and interaction with culture a positive priority. Eaton envisions a place where the grand narrative of Christian gospel is affirmed a life-giving response to critical issues of our day.
Underlying the educational philosophy of bible college is that the teachings of scriptures are foundational and permeating truths that impact life. Toward a Harmony of Faith and Learning: Essays on Biblical College Curriculum is a comprehensive presentation of the unique educational philosophy of bible college.
The Integration of Faith and Learning: A Worldview Approach provides students with the philosophical context and practical tools necessary for making the connections between Christian knowledge and the knowledge they will acquire during their undergraduate and graduate years in higher education. This book focuses on helping students understand how worldviews influence the interpretation of data and even what is judged to be knowledge itself.
This book supplies both theoretical and practical strategies for integrating faith and learning at the Christian college and university level. Aimed primarily at faculty, it is useful for students also.
Professing in the Postmodern Academy examines the landscape of religiously affiliated higher education in America from the perspective of faculty members critically committed to the future of church-related institutions.
Seeking to answer these questions, Arthur Holmes here explores the Christian tradition of learning, focusing on seven formative episodes in history that pertain to building and maintaining a strong Christian academy today.
Designed to help those interested in Christian higher education exploring unique features, opportunities, and contemporary challenges of distinct type of educational institutions -- the Christian college.The themes are large, but meant to refocus conceptual challenges to Christian education in ways that strengthen both the academic environment and their impact on culture at large.
Seventeen senior leaders from Christian colleges and universities across the United States share fresh insights into the theory and practice of Christian higher education leadership. Authors speak honestly about the successes, failures, and demands that have shaped their current leadership decisions and their visions for the future.
Mannoia enumerates the intrinsic and instrumental values of Christian liberal arts, and how both should forcefully shape an institution's goals. Suggests that Christian colleges should strive to help their students go beyond the extremes of dogmatism and skepticism to achieve critical commitment.
Rather then succumbing to doomsayers, leaders in Christian higher education bonded together around commanding truth that all things come together in Jesus Christ. Driving their stake for the future in integration of faith and learning as the reason for the existence of Christ-centered higher education.
A brief, readable introduction to the unique purpose and value of Christian college education. Draws on the insights of a range of Christian philosophers, historians, scientists, and theologians; communicates key concepts in straightforward language and analogies that connect with today's college students.
This textbook for introductory spiritual formation courses presents the fundamentals and practices of the discipline. This collection includes presentations by several well-known evangelical scholars including Gordon Johnston, Darrell Bock, Richard Averbeck, Klaus Issler, and others.
Engaging God's World clearly links this scriptural mandate with the pursuit of academic life, extolling the crucial role of Christian higher education in the intellectual and spiritual formation of believers. "Learning," Cornelius Plantinga writes, "is a spiritual calling; properly done, it attaches us to God." Approaching the topic of education from a variety of angles, Plantinga shows that Christ-centered learning teaches people to correctly see the world as God's creation, to see providence in history, to handle secular knowledge critically, to develop good judgment and, ultimately, to use faith-filled learning in the service of God's kingdom.
Every day, in colleges and universities all around the world, professors from philosophy to geology offer their students a perspective on the world around them. The author tells that Christian professors must not be afraid to teach their chosen subjects in a way that integrates and upholds a faith perspective.
In this book, Todd C. Ream and Perry L. Glanzer account for changes in how people view the Church and themselves as human agents, and propose a vision for the Christian college in light of the fact that so many Christian colleges now look and act more like research universities. Including topics such as the co-curricular, common worship, and diversity, Ream and Glanzer craft a vision that strives to see into the future by drawing on the riches of the past. First-year students as well as new faculty members and administrators will benefit from the insights in this book in ways previous generations benefitted from Arthur Holmes's efforts.
When it first appeared in 1984 The Christian College was the first modern comprehensive history of Protestant higher education in America. Now this second edition updates the history, featuring a new chapter on the developments of the past two decades, a major introduction by Mark Noll, a new preface and epilogue, and a series of instructive appendixes.
After focusing briefly on nonevangelical institutions, Schuman next looks at three Roman Catholic institutions--the College of New Rochelle, Villanova University, and Thomas Aquinas College. He then profiles evangelical colleges and universities in detail, discovering the factors contributing to their success. These institutions range from nationally recognized to little known, from rich to poor, with both highly selective and open admission requirements.
Christian religious education provides the content, processes, and settings to empower the church's mission in the world--a mission that includes health care, peace with justice, and disciple-making ministries. Research studies on Christian faith practices show how participating in Christian community undergirds and complements thoughtful living through one's life.
Integrated throughout by the biblical idea of shalom, these nineteen essays present a robust framework for thinking about education that combines a Reformed confessional perspective with a radical social conscience and an increasingly progressivist pedagogy. Wolterstorff develops his ideas in relation to an astonishing variety of thinkers ranging from Calvin, Kuyper, and Jellema to Augustine, Aquinas, and Kant to Weber, Habermas, and MacIntyre.
This revised edition of a classic text provides a concise case for the role of the Christian college and its distinctive mission and contribution. Holmes has extensively revised several chapters and included two new chapters: Liberal Arts as Career Preparation and The Marks of an Educated Person.
This timely look at the state of Christian higher education in America contains descriptive, historical narratives that explore how fourteen Christian colleges and universities are successfully integrating faith and learning on their campuses despite the challenges posed by the increasingly pluralistic nature of modern culture.