Video - EBSCOhost New UI - Advanced Search: 3: 27
Using the Result List on the New EBSCO User Interface 3:14
Video - MyEBSCO and the Dashboard in New EBSCO User Interfaces 4 min.46 sec.
View the video and visit the EBSCO Help page on How to Use the My EBSCOHost Folder.
Intro to the New EBSCOhost Interface at George Fox Library: 9 min.
Find Journal Articles at George Fox Library
GCEP 500 Course Article Readings
- Ecological Systems Theory: The Person in the Center of the CirclesDarling, N. (2007). Ecological systems theory: The person in the center of the circles. Research in human development, 4(3-4), 203-217.
- The Verdict Is In: The case for attachment theorySroufe, A., & Siegel, D. (2011). The verdict is in. Psychotherapy Networker, 35(2), 35-39.
- Using Existential Themes in CouplesCounseling: Addressing the ‘‘Why’’as Well as the ‘‘How’’Jacob, C. J., McMonigle, M. E., & Metzger, N. (2014). Using Existential Themes in Couples Counseling: Addressing the “Why” as Well as the “How”. The Family Journal, 22(2), 240-244.
Searching for Articles Using Primo Advanced Search
There are various ways to search for articles from the library. Using the Primo Advanced Search link below is one starting place. Take a look at the annotated image below and click the link to browse the results. Question? Don't hesitate to contact me, I'm very glad to help! rashford@georgefox.edu | Book a Research Appointment
Primo Advanced Search allows for more nuanced searching and limiting by material type, language, date range, peer-reviewed journals, and more.
Links to our EBSCO article databases for Counseling/Psychology, and video tutorials on using the EBSCO databases are also included below and on the left column.
Example of Primo Advanced Search for Counseling Topic
Browse the results of the search shown above from this link.
Top Counseling, Psychology, Mental Health Databases
Search our APA Psychology databases, APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles, below simultaneously. If your topic has an education focus, e.g., school shootings AND trauma, you may want to consider also adding Education Source and ERIC databases. - Note: Those seeking qualitative or quantitative research articles should use the two APA databases below which include a Methodology limiter.
- APA PsycInfoThis APA resource provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations (with library links to full text). Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present. More than 2,500 journals are currently indexed in APA PsycInfo.
- APA PsycArticlesAPA PsycArticles provides full-text for journals published by APA and affiliated publishers.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You did not find what you were looking for in APA PsycINFO. This tool offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.What's Included?
Hundreds of full-text psychology journals, about half of which are indexed in APA PsycInfo.
Google Scholar
- Google Scholar
Use the link above to search your topic and have Google Scholar recognize you as a George Fox user, and link to our full text subscriptions. Google Scholar indexes a broad array of scholarly literature and can be useful for citation counts (article importance/impact) and is helpful in learning terminology.
An excellent option for using Google Scholar to connect to library databases is described below.
Link your Google account to the George Fox Library, so the “Find it at George Fox U” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from our Google Scholar link above.
To configure your settings manually, use the following steps:
1. Go to https://scholar.google.com/
2. Click the three lines in the top left corner.
3. Click "Settings".
4. Click "Library Links".
5. Search for George Fox University. Check the “George Fox University - Find it at George Fox U” box.
6. Save your settings.
You can now continue to search and should see the Find it at George Fox U links next to articles we have access to. You may also try clicking the article title directly and if we have access may be taken to the full text article on the publisher's site.
Note: If you are unable to access the full text of an article directly from Google Scholar, copy and paste the title into Primo, the main search box on our library home page. This applies to book titles shown in Google Scholar as well. Often the titles will be found in Primo and if not, the title record will allow you to sign in and request the article via Interlibrary loan. You should not have to pay for access to an article while at George Fox.