Video - EBSCOhost New UI - Advanced Search: 3: 27
Video - How to Search by Journal Title 1 min.14 sec.
Individual Business Journals
Journal Examples from GFU Library Subscription Databases
Harvard Business Review Full text: 10/01/1922 to present - Publication Type: Periodical
Written for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
Journal of Organizational Behavior Full Text: 1980 to present (with a 12 Month delay) *Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Research, theory and review in industrial/organizational psychology and organizational behavior fields including motivation, work performance, job design, occupational stress, personnel selection, organizational structure and managerial behavior.
The Leadership Quarterly Full Text: 01/01/1995 to present - Publication Type: Academic Journal
Stresses theory and empirical research on effective leadership in all walks of life. Publishes scholarly research and developmental applications from fields of inquiry about leadership.
Wall Street Journal
Indexing and full text of the WSJ from 1985 to the present.
Popular EBSCO Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking for scholarly or trade literature in any business discipline. This is one of two primary databases for research in business, and particularly recommended for students at the graduate level.What's Included?
Thousands of journals in all business disciplines (including economics), plus industry reports, company profiles, country reports, case studies, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Searchable by subject, industry, and company names. Includes Harvard Business Review. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This resource searches collections included in other EBSCO databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider ProQuest Central or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from over 13,000 journals and supplementary resources like monographs, reports, and conference proceedings across, science, social science, and the humanities.
- Google Scholar (Find it @ George Fox) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to run an efficient, interdisciplinary search of academic literature across the web. Scholar integrates with other academic resources and citation tools.What's Included?
Freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across a wide array of publishing formats and disciplines. This link includes the setting to connect search results to George Fox holdings (Find it @ George Fox links).
Learn more in our Google Scholar guide. (https://libguides.georgefox.edu/GoogleScholar).
Examples of database searches
- Diversity AND group AND decision makingArticle results published from 2010-present from the keyword search above.
- Manag* AND high performance AND teamArticle results from 2010-present on keyword search above (note the asterisk after the letter g in manag* for managing, management, etc.
- Subject: Employee Motivation AND Keyword: Improv*Article results published since 2010 to present on the Subject of Employee Motivation and the Keyword improv* (the asterisk at the root finds the terms improve, improved, improving, improvement).
- Subject: Job Satisfaction And Keywords: improv* And employeeArticles published since 2010 on the Subject of Job satisfaction And Keywords: improv* and employee.
- Subject: Employees AND Subject: Job stressScholarly peer-reviewed articles from three EBSCO databases (Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection) published since 2010 on the Subject of Employees AND Subject: Job stress